We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

RHS Garden Wisley

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Wisley Garden, Wisley GU23 6QB, England
Phone Number: 08452609000
Website
Today
10:00 - 18:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 18:00
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

Flagship garden of the RHS, Wisley captures the imagination with richly...

Flagship garden of the RHS, Wisley captures the imagination with richly planted borders, luscious rose gardens and a state-of-the-art Glasshouse.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 40.00*
and up
Northern Limit Line and Ganghwa History Day Trip from Seoul
Why book on Viator?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information ›

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 1,204 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 795
    Excellent
  • 304
    Very good
  • 59
    Average
  • 20
    Poor
  • 15
    Terrible
Christmas Glow

This is a must to visit. Open now until 2nd January. We went last night at 5pm to the magical tree lights all around Wisley. The path is lit by fairy lights for the whole... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed yesterday
350zzz
,
London, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,204 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,193: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

This is a must to visit. Open now until 2nd January. We went last night at 5pm to the magical tree lights all around Wisley. The path is lit by fairy lights for the whole walk. Children will love it. There is a large refreshment area half way round for hot drinks, snacks and loos. Wrap up warm (only 2C... More 

Helpful?
Thank 350zzz
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely sunny but cold day to view winter flowering plants and shrubs. Fantastic views over gardens and surrounding Surrey countryside. Many places to enjoy a drink and some food. Large gardens enabling some good exercise to be had. Large car park, and very large shop and plant centre selling a huge number of products. A great day out and place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil B
Great Bookham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Wisley is one of our favourite gardens, we live a few miles away and have visited regularly for over thirty years. Today's visit was very disappointing. I checked the website yesterday evening and failed to discover that the glasshouse was closed, this fact should have been displayed very prominently. Then the beautiful grasses on the way to the restaurant had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean F
RHS_Garden_Wisley, Marketing and PR Executive at RHS Garden Wisley, responded to this review

Dear Jean F, Thank you for your recent review following your last visit to RHS Garden Wisley. We were very sorry to read that you had a disappointing time and would like to reassure you on a number of points. We are also very sorry that the Glasshouse Closure was not clear on the website and will seek to rectify... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointed as members to arrive with grandchildren to find that the glasshouse area - which is the best place for kids - was closed for routine maintenance. Surprised they did not have a big notice at the entrance.also not on the front page of web site. Still had a nice time but it could have been so much better for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank swpratt
RHS_Garden_Wisley, Marketing and PR Executive at RHS Garden Wisley, responded to this review

Dear swpratt, Thank you for your comment regarding your recent trip to RHS Garden Wisley. We are very sorry you couldn’t see the Glasshouse because it was closed for cleaning. The glass needs to be cleaned annually to keep light levels high enough to ensure good plant health. Cleaning it in autumn ensures that going into winter the light levels... More 

Essex
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Wisley 14/11/2016 on a wet day.No queues at pay desk so paid and went in only to find Glasshouse closed as were numerous paths. Only visible signs were to KEEP OFF the GRASS no suggestion of alternative routes.Returned to pay desk to complain only to be told it was our fault as we should have read the notices at... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Essexxxx
RHS_Garden_Wisley, Marketing and PR Executive at RHS Garden Wisley, responded to this review

Dear Essexxxx, Thank you for your comment regarding your recent trip to RHS Garden Wisley. We are very sorry you couldn’t see the Glasshouse because it was closed for cleaning. The glass needs to be cleaned annually to keep light levels high enough to ensure good plant health. Cleaning it in autumn ensures that going into winter the light levels... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for the first time late October. Amazing gardens that will keep you busy all day. So much to see and take in. We stopped for lunch in the restaurant which was very busy but the food was good and with generous portion sizes. We were so taken with the place that we bought RHS membership on the way out,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard773
banstead
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are regular visits to RHS as members and always enjoy walking around the grounds and greenhouses. However this has been offset by poor experience in the cafe - food is generally excellent BUT after being served with a cooked breakfast you then have to queue to get a tea or coffee, then we queued for the one till manned.... More 

Helpful?
Thank casatigeo
RHS_Garden_Wisley, Taste of Wisley at RHS Garden Wisley, responded to this review

Dear Casatigeo, Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience in the Food Hall within RHS Garden Wisley. The current layout in The Food Hall was introduced in 2014 to deal with the increase in the numbers of visitors using the facility and to reduce the overall queuing time. Staffing levels set are set depending on estimated business demand. In... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here on a Friday afternoon. The car park was packed but once we were inside we didn't feel overcrowded at all. There are several different distinct ares to visit and the autumn colours were fantastic. There is currently (at the time of our visit anyway) some works in place to rejuvenate and re-plant certain areas but this didn't distract,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LauraJLane
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently visited the Royal Horticultural Society's Gardens at Wisley taking our two four year old grandchildren with us, It was half term week and we were certainly not alone in taking children there. Judging by the number of cars in their very large car parks there was a bumper attendance. However, the gardens are enormous so the large numbers... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Roger631
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been members of the RHS for years. My wife is a registered disabled person and on Saturday 5th November was about to make a 28 hour flight alone. On the way to the airport we thought to calm her nerves we would call at Wisley and look at some flowers and have a coffee. BIG MISTAKE. The harridan... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Alan H
RHS_Garden_Wisley, Marketing & PR Executive at RHS Garden Wisley, responded to this review

Dear Mr Alan H, Thank you for your recent review regarding your visit to RHS Garden Wisley. We were very sorry to read that your day out with your wife did not go as you had hoped for, and based on your comments we wanted to ensure that we responded to you following your encounter with our reception staff. We... More 

Travellers who viewed RHS Garden Wisley also viewed

 

Been to RHS Garden Wisley? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of RHS Garden Wisley and other visitors
14 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Dover, United Kingdom

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from RHS Garden Wisley staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?