Le Cesarine
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Monday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Tuesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Wednesday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Thursday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Friday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Saturday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Sunday
12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
About
Cesarine offers thousands of authentic food experiences with local home cooks all over Italy. These range from cooking classes, dining experiences to market and food tours to allow people to truly live the heart of Italian cooking. Our mission is to preserve the authentic local recipes, handed down from generation to generation and connect the travelers with talented home cooks.
Duration: 2-3 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
Top ways to experience Le Cesarine
The area
Reach out directly

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles160 reviews
Excellent
151
Very good
3
Average
1
Poor
0
Terrible
6

Calliope S
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2023 • Family
My mom and I decided to take a cooking class with Paola while we were in Bologna for the night, and it was absolutely incredible. Paola was a wonderful, engaging, and kind teacher, and she opened up her beautiful house to us without a second thought. The food we made (three different types of pasta in three different sauces) was just delectable, and getting to eat it outside in Paola's beautiful back garden/porch was the cherry on top. Throughout the cooking portion of the class, Paola also shared with us some delicious homemade goodies like dried tomatoes and crackers with mortadella. Thank you so much, Paola, for this wonderful experience! My mom and I really appreciate the time you spent with us and the hospitality you showed. To anyone looking for a fun, educational, and delicious way to spend a few hours, please seriously consider this opportunity – you won't regret it!
Written 17 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Patrick D
Modesto, California, United States49 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019 • Friends
I and members of my group had previously attended a number of cooking/culinary classes in Italy (including one earlier in the week in Tuscany), and were hesitant to book this program due to its extremely high cost (Euro 180+ per person). The very positive reviews we read online, however, caused us to overcome our skepticism, and we booked an event for 30 people. Well, from this point forward, BUYERS BEWARE. Over the course of 6.5 hours (from start to finish) we went on a worthless "tour" through the mercato (which was supposed to be an ingredient shopping excursion, but all of the dinner ingredients had already been purchased and were waiting for us at the villa), and then made and ate, per person, a plate of tortellini, 8-10 small meatballs, a small bowl of tiramisu, water, and a couple of glasses of white and red Lambrusco. No apperitivi upon arrival. No antipasti. No contorni. No insalata. No digestivi. All for Euro 180+ PER PERSON. Absolutely the worst value for the Euro in Italian cuisine I have ever experienced.
Written 27 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Patrick, Thank you very much for taking the time to review your experience with Le Cesarine. This is the very first time we received such poor feedback from our customers and I do sincerely apologize if we do not fully meet your expectations. We are the first and only network of certified home cooks in Italy founded in 2004 as a cultural association. We count more than 700 hand-selected Cesarine (name of our hosts) in our extensive network and we cover 120+ destinations all over the country. Our mission is to deliver a memorable and truly authentic Italian experience, connect curious traveller worldwide with our local hosts and share the warmth of the Italian hospitality. I am very sad to read only the criticism in this review while during our correspondence before your TripAdvisor review you said that the villa was wonderful, the cooking class was very professionally done, the food was delicious and the 3 Cesarine were lovely people and highly knowledgeable home cooks. I am a little bit surprised by your comments about the price and the menu composition as we discussed and agreed all the details at the time of booking. Next time I will make sure to specify not only the inclusions but also the exclusions in order to avoid similar misunderstandings. That said, let me recap what was included in the price you paid: - pick up at your hotel in Bologna where you meet 2 of the 3 Cesarine. - market tour with food shopping in the "Mercato del quadrilatero" (you did not buy all the ingredients for a class of 30 but only basic ingredients like spicy (parsley, chives etc) and some eggs. As you plan the experience at 1.30pm buying perishable ingredients with 86° F was not recommended. - the exclusive use of Eva's private Villa on the Bolognese hills (as all our experiences take place in our host's home) - cooking class of 3 recipes from scratch (1 pasta, 1 main course, 1 dessert) - tasting of what you have prepared during the class for dinner + the additional quantity that our Cesarine prepared before (to be specific a total of 14lb of tortellini, 12lb of meatballs, 6,6lb of Tiramisù); - beverages included (28 bottles of wines, endless water and coffee). - the official shopping bag and aprons Le Cesarine. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again for a better experience. Thanks and regards, Sara Di Lena Business Development Director
Written 8 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

RayMeredith
Edmonton, Canada188 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were met by Rosa, our guide and teacher. Excellent trip through the market picking out ingredients for our meals that we chose.
After purchasing the ingredients, we went back to her home and started making our meals, tortelloni with ricotta and spinach, tagliatelle and pork Bolognese with tomato sauce.
It was an awesome experience and worth every penny! Rosa was an exceptional host, warm, knowledgeable and extremely gracious and kind. We are very thankful we did this and so will you!!!
This is a must do in Bologna with Cesarina!!!!!!
Written 22 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Abdullah S. PAKSOY
Paris, France121 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our group of 6 were hosted by 2 ladies from Bologna. We made our own lasagna dough. Each of us made fresh tortelloni and enjoyed the aperitivo. The food, wine, and company were all marvelous. It was like owning your restaurant and enjoying it. Fantastic and epic experience. A defining dinner in our lives.
Written 15 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Susan L
Brentwood, United States20 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2021
We have taken walking food tours like this in Venice so we had high expectations. In this one, the guide walked us (my son and I were only ones on the tour) around the city for an hour showing us the obvious sites but telling us nothing about them and saying "I am not a guide but I am a cook" and "my English isn't good" even though it was pretty good. Then, after an hour of having her point out sites but not give us any information about them, she took us to a store to buy local bread and meats to eat and then to a nearby tavern for a drink where we could eat them. She told us nothing about the two meats (history, why they eat them or with what, etc.). She told us nothing unless I asked her questions. There was a tour guide with another company at the table next to us with ten people on the tour. That guide was explaining about the various meats they eat, how to use balsamic vinegar and the different types, and more. After that, our guide took us to lunch at a local Italian fast food place called Bottegia Portici (a chain that franchises, look it up, not a local place where you hear about the making of the food or learn anything and they served my tortellini in a paper takeaway cup). She told us nothing about the local food. When we did the Venice Food Bites one two years ago, they took us to five local establishments where at each one, we had a different local food and learned about it. They had relationships with the owners of these places and shared about the history of different dishes, ways of eating, local traditions and more. The guide for Le Cesarine told us she is more used to being a cook for cooking classes and I bet she is an excellent one but she was a terrible guide. I even asked if this is where the tours typically went to find out if going to a fast food place was usual and she said yes. I doubt that but if it is, it is even more appalling. For about 90 euros each, it was an incredible waste of money. We learned nothing and she spent about 15 euros on each of us buying us the food at the places we went to. The meat from the deli was good but the lunch was awful. Don't ever do this tour.
Written 21 July 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Pilar P.
Seattle, WA5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019
Gianni and his wife were incredibly warm and welcomed us into their beautiful home for a 3 hour cooking class. Gianni had all of the ingredients ready to go. On the menu was simple grilled eggplant, various stuffed pastas with swiss chard and ricotta filling, and tiramisu for dessert. He even showed us a very simple way to make eggplant parmesan. Our hosts were incredibly gracious and friendly - it felt like we had been friends for years. Gianni is an excellent instructor, and the whole morning ended in a meal of home-cooked food, Gianni's self-made wine (delicious), and some great conversation that allowed us to connect with locals in a way that we never would have elsewhere.
Written 22 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tcc
London, UK9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019 • Couples
This is one of the best experiences we have had

Paula our host was magnificent

She welcomed us into her home and prepared the most delightful 4 course meal, which was amazing...we didn't want to leave

Highly recommend the experience provided by Le Cesarine
Written 18 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

lazyllama
Radlett, United Kingdom38 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2019
Booking with Le Cesarine was super easy and they communicated well over chat and email to ensure we had all the necessary details. On the day, Oriana was a great host and made us feel very welcome in her home. She went to great lengths to create an exciting and varied menu. Highly recommended!
Written 11 June 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

robert boyd-boland
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I cancelled experience and was promised refund in 4 days.
No refund received in over 10 days. Funds required urgently.
Please remit payment urgently as promised.
Thanks
Written 6 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, thanks for taking the time to bring this to our attention. Please note that it may take up to 10 working days to receive the refund. We recommend contacting Viator's customer service, they will be able to assist. Best regards,
Written 7 March 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Andy F
Swindon, UK9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this on the Weds for a Friday morning event. Money straight out if account. Weds afternoon they tell me they can't honour the booking. So had to cancel. Lost £ on the transaction have complained but no response. Go careful with this lot
Written 16 November 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 138
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Le Cesarine (2024) All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (with Photos)

All Bologna HotelsBologna Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Bologna
All things to do in Bologna
Day Trips in Bologna
Things to do near Le Cesarine
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire