We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Escuela Montalbán

43 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.

Escuela Montalbán

43 Reviews
Sorry, there are no tours or activities available to book online for the date(s) you selected. Please choose a different date.
Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Granada
from US$ 20.12
More Info
from US$ 146.13
More Info
from US$ 56.57
More Info
from US$ 107.48
More Info
Full view
Location
Contact
Calle del Conde Cifuentes n0 11, 18005 Granada Spain
Get to know the area
Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour
Historical & Heritage Tours

Skip the Line: Alhambra and Generalife Gardens Half-Day Tour

1,646 reviews
Save valuable vacation time with skip-the-line entry to the Alhambra and Generalife Gardens in Granada. One of Spain’s must-see attractions, this popular site often has very large crowds. Breeze past the entry lines and tour the sprawling complex in just half a day, and hear commentary about the history of this grand fortress and royal palace.
US$ 45.70 per adult
43Reviews1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 35
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Edwina wrote a review Jan 2021
1 contribution
I have just spent the last three weeks studying at Escuela Montalbán. I was studying with full time students. From the first day I felt so welcome and comfortable. Marísa and María were great teachers - the classes were really good fun and very interesting - they are very dedicated teachers and very caring. I did the cookery classes with Anabel - a truly wonderful hostess - her classes gave a very good insight to true authentic Ándalus cooking. Overall, a great experience and I look forward to returning very soon - for longer!
Read more
Date of experience: January 2021
Helpful
Share
tsirene2018 wrote a review Jul 2018
Granada, Spain1 contribution
Located in the centre of Granada the school offers a variety of activities to do during the break between the Spanish lessons or after your classes have finished. The classes are very small which provide an excellent working atmosphere as well as an ambience of familiarity. I was really happy when I got the confirmation for my two-months internship from the Spanish school Escuela Montalbán. My work consists of translation and web design of the school’s web site. Furthermore, I could calculate costs and complete data bases. The school offers a perfect opportunity for people who want to do an internship in the administration area. It never get’s boring. In addition to my internship I got offered language courses in order to improve my Spanish. When you are in the classroom it does not feel like lessons. The hours of class are filled with humour and exiting topics to talk about. You will not notice how one and a half hour will pass by. Of course, the educational part is not missing, and you will see progress like I did after one week only. Complex topics are explained very clear and the teachers do their best to make a complex topic transparent. Let me tell you about accommodation now. I shared a flat with students from all over the world and different ages. It is an unforgettable experience which I totally recommend to everyone. Meeting new people -for some people- might cost some overcoming but people who travel in order to learn a language are nice. Another advantage is that you get quicker in touch with new people and create a friendship which lasts beyond your stay here. Apart from the fact that Granada is a fantastic city for university students because it offers historical heritage as well as a good night life, Granada has a lot of parks where you can you can just hang out or have a good time with your friends. Some parks are really easy to reach but for some you have to make a little effort, but it is totally worth it. When you are in Granada you definitely should not miss the park Carmen de los Martires. From there you can see the town from the birds-eye-view and the park has a lot of beautiful flowers and fountains. It is right next to the garden of the Alhambra. The garden of the Alhambra is called Generalife. It is composed of the Lower Gardens, the Generalife Palace and the High Gardens. Nowadays the denomination of the Generalife is commonly accepted as the Garden or Gardens of the Alarife, meaning the garden of the constructor or architect. First you will see the New Gardens of the Generalife, which connect the Generalife with the Alhambra, integrating them with nature.
Read more
Date of experience: June 2018
Helpful
Share
ronnydojahn wrote a review Jul 2018
Granada, Spain1 contribution
The language school Escuela Montalbán in the center of Granada is a cosy and matey place. It is situated in a small building on two levels with three small class rooms each. You get to know all the staff very quickly as there are about 15 people working here and some of them are – good for them – on holiday as it is high summer time at the moment. The first and third week I took part in regular courses with only three students plus, of course, the teacher. We had two classes per day starting with a grammar class followed by a conversation class. The school’s administation goes to great length in organizing the courses concerning the students‘ language levels. They really strive to form courses consisting of people with a similar level of Spanish in order to make the classes effective and useful. I also took private lessons during one week which I can recommend because it is super-intensive and very effective when the teacher concentrates fully on you. As far as I am concerned, I do not only study at this school but I also do an internship under supervision of Margret Fortman who is the school’s marketing and public relations manager. Therefore I review or write texts for the school’s website. I have to admit that these texts are in English or German (I am from Berlin) as my Spanish is by far not yet good enough for professional purposes. When I arrived I was classified level A2 in Spanish, certainly an accurate classification in theory but in daily life I felt like level zero basically. That has significantly changed in only three weeks thanks to the lessons I took and thanks to the teachers that gave them. All teachers are professional, highly motivated, kind and funny at times, too. As I enjoy biking a lot, I bought a bike second hand and so I am exploring the city and the countryside in my spare time. The landscape has flat terrain when you go along the river Genil that flows through the city into the plains and there are of course hills and the Sierra Nevada. A mountain range that goes up to about 3000 m (9000 ft). And for all of you who like biking, too or who are into a little challenge: To the second highest peak leads a path suitable for bikes with an average gradiant of only 5 percent. The learning gradiant is for sure higher at Escuela Montalbán.
Read more
Date of experience: July 2018
Helpful
Share
cea60 wrote a review Jun 2018
surrey17 contributions6 helpful votes
One week course at montalban language school, the tutor was great, there were only three of us in the class, went to the cooking school, the chef was javier, an excellent cook, and I ate the food which we made, The school was within walking distance of my hotel about 10 mins.
Read more
Date of experience: April 2018
Helpful
Share
AuroraLane wrote a review Jun 2018
14 contributions6 helpful votes
If you are only there for classes and have not booked anything else through them, its good. The teachers are nice and the classes are helpful. But a fair warning; do NOT go there and stay with a host family or basically any acommodation. I was treated like crap by my host family, repeatedly told the headmistress and she didn't listen or take me seriously, i felt insanely alone. I ended up having a panic attack because i did not feel safe and i had to leave - i paid for 2 months and they refuse to talk to me or give me any of the money back at all. I have given up trying. They are dishonest and horrible people.
Read more
Date of experience: March 2018
Helpful
Share
Response from Margret F, Owner at Escuela Montalbán
Responded 11 Jun 2018
Hello Elisa, thank you for taking the time to review our school. To be honest, the school management and the teacher team were initially taken aback by your review, as you have stayed with us during the last 3 months. However, we understand that you are completely free to express your opinion. We always do our best to improve, but we also would like to address a few things: When you told us, that you had a problem with the limited schedule of the central heating at your first host family accommodation, we tried to find a solution as soon as possible. In high season it is not easy to sort out things in 24 hours in order to offer an alternative, especially when we are dealing with a long term stay. We also offered you a full refund in case we couldn’t resolve the accommodation problem. You declined this. After a couple of days and after moving future students into other accommodations, we changed you to a room in one of our school flats. Here you lived during your whole stay. At this point we thought that this initial problem was fixed. We are sorry that you had this bad experience with the accommodation during your first days in Granada. In the future we will try to resolve this type of problems quicker. And we truly thank you for rating in a positive way our teachers and their way of teaching Spanish.
Read more
Previous