Cueva La Rocio
Cueva La Rocio
3.5
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM, 7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Monday
7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Tuesday
7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Wednesday
7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Thursday
7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Sunday
12:00 PM - 4:00 PM
7:00 PM - 11:30 PM
About
La Cueva de la Rocio is a “Zambra Flamenca” located in the Sacromonte and managed by the Maya family, well known in Granada for its great tradition and for producing some of the greatest Flamenco artists in Spain. Get immersed in the most authentic and traditional Sacromonte… Come to visit us!
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Cueva La Rocio and nearby attractions

The area
Address
Neighbourhood: Albaicín
Reach out directly
See what travellers are saying
  • Sue L
    Chelmsford, United Kingdom24 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    A great first Flamenco experience
    This was our first Flamenco experience in a cave in Sacromonte and we thoroughly enjoyed the show. We were well looked after by the host and were given excellent seats near the entrance to the cave by the dancers. The Flamenco dancers, singer and especially the guitarist were all very good. I would recommend getting there early and having a drink first. You get a free drink with the show too. We got a taxi up the hill to the cave and had a lovely stroll back down to the Plaza Nueva afterwards
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 13 September 2023
  • Vanessa H
    Toronto, Canada36 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Tourist trap
    We saw this flamenco show, upon recommendation of our hotel concierge. We were very disappointed at the quality - felt very much like a show just for tourists and was the worst quality out of the 3 flamenco shows we saw in Spain. The dancers tried hard, but the skill level was not comparable to the other shows we saw. We also felt rushed and “herded” in and out of the show. There are better shows out there!!
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 11 November 2023
  • Jack
    Old Bethpage, New York3,099 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing Flamenco!
    We came to Cueva La Rocio to see a flamenco show. The show was excellent. First, we enter the outdoor patio and we enter one of two caves which are for flamenco, the other cave was for eating because it is also a restaurant. We entered the cave which was nothing I’ve ever seen before. There is seating on three sides, and a stage in the center where there is an intimate flamenco show. You are served drinks as well. Overall, I highly recommend!
    Visited August 2023
    Travelled with family
    Written 5 January 2024
  • Sara
    London, United Kingdom15 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Amazing show
    I’m Spanish myself and I found the flamenco show absolutely amazing. I knew I wanted to go after watching their Spanish TV sow “The Gipsy Kings”. Definitely worth seeing these guys who simply give it all when performing. Thanks very much for such a lovely time.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled with friends
    Written 3 March 2024
  • Babybel6798
    Northampton, United Kingdom100 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Show is good. Do not eat here.
    Show is good. We had a good night. But, Food is crap. Organisation is a bit haphazard. There is only one female toilet for like 59 women. Drinks are slow to arrive and you are very, uncomfortably squashed in. I would go just for the show. Forget everything else and use the toilet before u go.
    Visited March 2024
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 28 March 2024
  • Tony L
    Seattle, Washington94 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Terrific! And a bit chilly
    The flamenco was cool to watch they got really close to my foot and knee and it got a little cold but I really enjoyed it my family was happy and I was happy too! You can pay for drinks outside or get a free drink inside. We got dessert (chocolate cake) and it was really good.
    Visited June 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 26 June 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles486 reviews
Excellent
184
Very good
114
Average
53
Poor
47
Terrible
88

Ga_Briel_InVP
Valencia, Venezuela56 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Friends
They treat you like cows that go to the slaughterhouse, or like a flamenco churreria.
They take you out with brooms (literally, for the cleaner woman) without even let you to see the pictures.
The flamenco show is quite poor if you know something about flamenco or have seen good flamenco.
The waiters treat with very bad manners to English tourists if they don't know what to ask for.
The bus service works well.
The guided tour is a scam, the only thing they do is guide you to the viewpoint (you can do it yourself for free)
__________
La visita es completamente innecesaria. Te tratan como vacas que van al matadero, o como una churreria de flamenco.
Te sacan a escobazos (literalmente, la limpiadora) sin dejarte siquiera ver las fotos.
El espectáculo de flamenco es bastante pobre si sabes algo de flamenco o has visto buen flamenco.

Los camareros se burlan de los turistas ingleses si no saben lo que pedir.
La recogida funciona bien.
El tour con visita guiada es una estafa, lo unico que hacen es subirte al mirador (lo puedes hacer tu mismo).
Written 5 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comment about your experiencia. This is the only way we can improve our services. We are very sad to hear that you didn´t like our show or our cave or anything that we could offer you. We are sad because you didn´t tell us anything when you were here, we take our clients opinion very seriously. We take into account your opinion and we will try to improve it. Sluados La Cueva
Written 22 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Becca
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2020 • Friends
I downloaded this app and made an account to write this review. I am not a flamenco expert by any means, but compared to the flamenco show I went to a few nights prior in Seville, I can confidently say that this is a scam.

I went with a friend, and we admittedly enjoy most typical tourist experiences, however we would not recommend this show. The dancing was bad, the drinks were bad, the sound quality was bad... it was just SO bad.

It saddens me to think that thousands of innocents tourists will only see this one flamenco show in their lifetime and will never see it performed at a level beyond a drunken family get-together.
Written 4 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion. In a Zambra we dance on the floor between the public. Thank you Best regards La Cueva
Written 5 January 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

ajztraveler
Escondido, CA9 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022
This place should be avoided at alll costs. First, the place is way dumpier than the pictures make it appear. WE booked the dinner and show. Cramped little high top tables in the patio when you arrive. The food was scanty and awful. When it came time for the show, we were escorted in to an almost full show "room" which consisted of a small dance floor with very tiny chair around the perimiter. My wife was seat next to a very overweight man whose girth occupied part of her chair. Despite everyone being crammed in like sardines, no one but us were wearing masks. Unbelieveable! You can't get in a cab in Spain without a mask, yet sitting smack up to another person without is apparently okay. We were appalled and complained. We left immediately and asked for a refund for the show part. After a few follow up emails, there has been absolutely no response.

You have a lot of choices for your entertainment dollars or euros. There are better venues for flamenco elsewhere. DO NOT choose this one. Trust me.
Written 27 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

SharonfromPotomac
Potomac, MD205 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Feb 2022
If you're going to go to Spain and if you'd like to see and really feel the passion of Flamecno dancing, I would highly recommend you experience it in the Rocio cave. I can't say whether the dances were good or great, but I saw great skill and great passion for the culture and for the long history of generations of flamenco dancers. The night we were there, it was clear that a new young dancer was having her debut and her parents were there to watch her. The hand movements, the facial expressions, the body language....not to mention the endurance.... it was a great experience. We walked there from the center of town, and felt totally safe.
Written 18 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

JoeV314159
Chicago, IL156 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2023
This is the place to go to see what Flamenco in a cuevas or cave must have been like years ago. It is not the refined or theatrical version of Flemenco you might experience in a tableau or theatre, which I also highly recommend. But, it is very much a true representation of what it must have been like when Flamenco was emerging and was found in the cuevas among the gitanos in “antiguo” or old Cordoba. At least one visit to a Sacromonte Cueva is well worth the effort to help round out your Flamenco experience. At the Cueva La Rocio the performers (dancers, guitar players and singers) could be anywhere on their career path including uniquely talented newcomers, seasoned veterans, and some not so seasoned veterans. This particular venue is well organized and very welcoming. We always get to a Flemenco show about ½ hour early to get good seats. All authentic cuevas venues are a little crowded and very intimate. But that is part of the experience.
Written 12 March 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

V J
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jan 2022
The dancers were good but not professional in the sense that they kept going in and out the room while the performance was going on. The door to leave the room was behind the guitars and singer which they were interrupting (the rooms are small so you could hear everything). As soon as we got in to the restaurant they offered us drinks which was great service but the waiter, Diego, rushed me to finish my sangria in order to sit us down inside. I did not finish my drink and rushed inside, he sat us down all the way in the back when there was only two people sitting waiting for the show to start. I insisted he moved us to the front since there was only two people seated and everything else was empty and he gave me a hard time on top of a nasty attitude. I am not sure this performance is worth the price since it has poor customer service.
Written 24 January 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Patrick Akrivos
Athens, Greece84 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2021 • Couples
Δώσανε πόνο!!! An exquisite performance. We were kinda worried of a tourist mass consumption, but it was nothing like that. We went early and had a lovely dinner of well cooked homey food. And then we changed cave for the dance. The singer and guitarist were fantastic and so were the three ladies, who gave off the feeling and vibe of the Flamenco dance. Thank you for a lovely afternoon.
Written 7 August 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

GuitarBri
26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2022 • Couples
This is a great flamenco show. The dancers are right in front of you and all of the performers seem to be enjoying what they are doing. It is a show full of energy and passion from people that are passionate about their craft. One tip: They seat the back first so the later you enter the cave, the closer to you will be to the door and the show. We had a great time! Please note that I cannot speak for the food because I did not eat there.
Written 2 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Tony L
Seattle, WA94 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2024 • Family
The flamenco was cool to watch they got really close to my foot and knee and it got a little cold but I really enjoyed it my family was happy and I was happy too!
You can pay for drinks outside or get a free drink inside. We got dessert (chocolate cake) and it was really good.
Written 27 June 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Sue L
Chelmsford, UK24 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2023 • Friends
This was our first Flamenco experience in a cave in Sacromonte and we thoroughly enjoyed the show. We were well looked after by the host and were given excellent seats near the entrance to the cave by the dancers. The Flamenco dancers, singer and especially the guitarist were all very good. I would recommend getting there early and having a drink first. You get a free drink with the show too. We got a taxi up the hill to the cave and had a lovely stroll back down to the Plaza Nueva afterwards
Written 13 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 146
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Cueva La Rocio - All You MUST Know Before You Go (2024)

All Granada HotelsGranada Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Granada
All things to do in Granada
Day Trips in Granada
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire