We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share
Review Highlights
Nice and varied golf course.

A nice course that I have played a few times over the years. Is always a nice experience and the... read more

Reviewed 2 October 2018
Göran F
,
Stockholm County, Sweden
Friendly service

Very friendly service from arrival to lunch and afterwards. Old course unfortunately had just had... read more

Reviewed 28 June 2018
GerardVentom
,
Central London
Read all 142 reviews
44
All photos (44)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good44%
  • Average15%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“wide fairways”(2 reviews)
“golfers”(15 reviews)
About
Set against the stunning backdrop of the Sierra Blanca mountains, its two magnificent 18-hole courses - the Atalaya Old Course and the Atalaya New Course - are lined with mature eucalyptus trees, cactus and palms and pink and white azaleas that fill...more
Contact
Carretera de Benahavis Km 0,7, 29680, Estepona, Spain
Website
+34 952 88 28 12
Call
Most Helpful Positive Review
Reviewed 26 August 2012

don't get fobbed off with the new course-it has to be the old course or nothing-it is not very cheap but then golf on the costa del sol is not and never has been but this course is worth a visit good test of golf...More

2  Thank earwig1000
Most Helpful Critical Review
Reviewed 27 May 2017

We played on teh 26th of MAy with 20 people on the Atalaya old course. Eve though the course itself is ok/average the suroundings, staff and facilities are poor. - The driving range is about 5-10 min drive from the clubhouse by buggy - The...More

5  Thank Andries d
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
14
35
12
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
14
35
12
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fairways and greens wide fairways golfers tee hole condition rounds occasions marbella
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

A nice course that I have played a few times over the years. Is always a nice experience and the holes are varied. Perfect for a relaxed round with friends. The restaurant is also ok.

Thank Göran F
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your comment! Hope to see back soon!!

Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

An ok golfcourse, narrow holes but we knew that before booking. The bookings where made on the internet, one round on the old, and one round on the new course. The old course was closed so we played the new course twice We told the...More

Thank Giab193
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Dear Mr. Giab, Sorry for the misunderstanding. However as you informed us in your message, you made the booking online for playing our course. When you click into our online booking system, you get this message as first: IMPORTANT: ALL DISCOUNT CARDS (GOLFHÄFTET, TWO4ONE, GOLFTHECOSTA,...More

Reviewed 28 June 2018

Very friendly service from arrival to lunch and afterwards. Old course unfortunately had just had extensive hollow tining (so lots of sand on fairways and greens, it was that time of year) but the New course was in great condition and was really fun to...More

Thank GerardVentom
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2018

Many thanks for your comment and hope to see you back soon!!

Reviewed 20 June 2018

While they have a parking problem (large car park is just being completed) we were cordially received by a parking attendant. Caddy master personnel were very professional and friendly (as much as you can expect in Spain) and we enjoyed an exciting and challenging golf...More

1  Thank Paul W
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2018

Dear Paul, Many thanks for sharing with us your experience in our club. Hope to see you back again. Best regards,

Reviewed 30 April 2018

The courses have received plenty of reviews but I'm going to review the driving range. It has such potential and could be a thriving addition to the golf club but unfortunately it falls well below standard. Positives are: Nice aspect. Feeling of space. Good distance....More

1  Thank redparaman
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Dear redparaman, We apologize for any inconvenience caused during your experience in our club. The company which manage the driving range facilities is called Enjoy Golf Academy. Currently, they are painting all their facilities as the entrance wall, ball hut and fitting. Next week they...More

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The old course is very pleasant, well maintained with all the amenities. I describe it as ‘gentle’ - wide fairways, bunkers yes, but hardly any other hazards. The course is easy to walk and offered a lovely day of golf without any excitement/fun.

Thank Dale B
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Dale B, We are really happy to read your comment. Many thanks for sharing with us your experience in our Old Course and hope to see you back soon. Best regards,

Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

This is a nice course to play and a friendly starter, but the person in the reception is both unfriendly and not very service minded. This is why I give this golf course a “one star”! Needs for improvement.

1  Thank Per_Ivar2014
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

Old Course. Played Well (handicap 5 & 8) but found that the course needed some TLC. The tees, fairways were in poor conditions! The pace of play was sooo slow! We were 3 to 4 groups to each holes! It is not acceptable and makes...More

1  Thank Fanny K
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Dear Fanny, We are sorry to hear you had a bad experience at our course. It is not a secret that Bermuda grass, a warm weather type of grass, does not grow during the cold months and tends to become brown during winter, which might...More

Reviewed 18 December 2017

We played at the new course at Atalaya. From check in to check out we did not have much of a good experience here. We also got pick-pocketed at the course when we were playing.More

1  Thank Vastis
Golfenred, Director General at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2017

Dear Mr. Vastis, We apologise for your experience in our golf course, we are working to get pick-pocketers out of the course with the collaboration with the local police however it´s a difficult situation all over Europe. Therefore we have in our caddy-masters the possibility...More

Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

Came with member for visiting round on old course. Generous playing field, low risk of lost balls. Nice green areas. Intermediate finish. Nice facilities including great restaurant with views.

Thank Tobias N
Golfenred, Marketing Department at Atalaya Golf & Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Dear Tobias N, We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day in our Old Course. Hope to see you back soon. Best regards,

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 33 nearby hotels
Barcelo Marbella
1,986 reviews
1.01 km away
Diana Park
329 reviews
1.06 km away
El Campanario del Paraiso
18 reviews
1.11 km away
Hotel TRH Paraiso
640 reviews
1.43 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 551 nearby restaurants
La Rosa
465 reviews
.90 km away
Mini India Diana
466 reviews
1.00 km away
Tehuelche Grill Argentino
493 reviews
.81 km away
Koh Thai Restaurant
84 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 153 nearby attractions
Nabua Thai Massage
25 reviews
.73 km away
Torre del Velerin
18 reviews
1.61 km away
Torre de Banos o Casasola
5 reviews
.00 km away
Galeria De Prado
6 reviews
.93 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Atalaya Golf & Country Club staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines