Ile Saint-Honorat
Ile Saint-Honorat
4.5
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.

Top ways to experience Ile Saint-Honorat and nearby attractions

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

4.5
4.5 of 5 bubbles329 reviews
Excellent
229
Very good
79
Average
15
Poor
2
Terrible
4

Carol C
37 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2023 • Couples
Beautiful little island that it is possible to walk round quite easily in about an hour. The coastline is pretty rocky but it is possible to access the sea (wear beach shoes). The buildings are interesting and vary from old chapels to a WW2 bunker. We did go into the abbey church which was quite austere. There is an expensive restaurant near the boat landing and a take away cafe just behind it and there are wooden seats under trees nearby for picnicking. The island has a wonderful feel to it and as a lot of the circular walk is in the shade of trees it is a good place to go on a very hot day. There are no rubbish bins on the island and you are asked to take all rubbish home. I have to say that despite the number of people arriving on the island I did not see any litter which was heartwarming (though I did spot a workman looking for rubbish).

I booked the ferry online but you do still have to print out tickets which is slightly annoying.
Please be aware that the public toilets near the boat stop are the old-fashioned stand and squat type!
Written 31 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Jo&Rick
Rotherham, UK139 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2022
Lovely day trip here with friends. Pleasant to walk around, visited a mass service also (although I couldn’t understand a word of it) . Took a picnic which was worth doing and sat near the tiny chapel trinity. Boat trip across was very pleasant too
Written 7 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dom
San Francisco, CA68 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Aug 2020 • Friends
This is a wonderful island that we visited boating - Magic ambiance gorgeous nature and the Monastery is magnificent
Written 31 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your recommendation. Summer time is a good one to appreciate nature on the island indeed. Best regards.
Written 8 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Carmen N
Las Vegas, NV66 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2019 • Couples
We took the 15 min ferry ride (16€) to Ile St Honorat (Saint Honorat Island). This is the smaller island and is
only inhabited by Cistercian monks. Monks have inhabited the island more or less continuously since AD410.
There are the ruins of an 11th-century monastery on the sea’s edge. This is open to the public for free but
A donation is voluntary. They have guided tours of the ruins. Not far from the ruins is the current residence
Of the monks. They divide their time between prayer and producing red and white wine and liqueurs.
There is a shop selling wines and soaps but the prices are very expensive. We were told that the monks have
To have all machinery come in from the main land to help harvest the grapes for wine.
There is not much else to see on the island. You can have a relaxing walk around the island with beautiful
Scenic views. If you look closely you can see the remnants of old WWII bunkers. We also saw a hot shot
furnace which were used prior to the use of modern armed warships. Cannon balls were heated via a furnace
At one end and the balls shot at ships in hopes of the enemy ship catching fire. I just happened to be with
My cousin who is a history buff and he told us what they were.
The only down side to this trip were the toilets. There is no running water so you sort of stand on a hole and
Do your buisness. There is nothing to wash your hands with. The other disappointment to me was the greenery
Near the gift shop. Nothing was trimmed or taken care of. This could have been a beautiful garden.
Written 10 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for this very detailed description. Concerning the greenery near the shop, there has been a garden but with experience, sturdy plants are more appropriate. And concerning the running water, as the operation 0 waste attests, we aim for the most natural environment possible.
Written 23 September 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Spuran0
United Kingdom26 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019
We had a great day on St Honorat. Took the ferry from the harbour at Cannes – parking available at the ferry terminal (but be prepared to pay around 15 euros on your return if you are there for the day). The boat takes about 15/20 minutes giving fantastic views of Cannes and the surrounding countryside. There is basically a circular walking route around the whole island passing beautiful secluded coves and chapels. Plenty of trees which helps provide shade on hot days. Other things to see on the island are the monastery, restaurant, and the highlight for us – the old fort as we called it, on the coastline beside the monastery. It looks like a simple old derelict castle keep with four walls, but once you get inside there are lots of steps and alcoves to discover, and you can keep going up and up until you get to the top – amazing views. Our kids loved exploring all the different levels and staircases. You can definitely spend most of the day on the island if you want to. One thing to note…. .you buy a return ferry ticket at the harbour in Cannes but you can return on any ferry you want (one per hour I think). This leads to a queue forming (when we were there) and some people nearly didn’t get back on the boat that they wanted to be on. So if you plan to come back say on the 4.30pm boat, I’d advise being at the departure pontoon on the island maybe 30 minutes before to make sure you get a seat.
Written 12 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nothing to add ! Thank you so much for these few detailed lines. During summer, the affluence increases indeed but there is always a place for everyone ! Best regards
Written 27 August 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

MeredithAussie
Melbourne, Australia1,860 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Solo
A lovely day outing, combining a pleasant boat trip, Mass in the chapel with the monks (who sang beautifully), and a leisurely walk around the island enjoying the sea views, the historical sites and the shaded paths. Visiting in late Spring, I was amazed at all the gorgeous wildflowers. I was unable to enter the fortified monastery – perhaps another day? I’d also go back for one of the wine sessions that are held regularly. You can picnic and swim at a couple of the secluded beaches, but make sure your dress is modest and you keep the noise down. There is a restaurant as well as a little snack bar, but it’s probably best to take your own supplies as it’s a bit pricey. The return ferry trip provides some good views of Cannes and the yacht harbour.
Written 11 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you so much for your recommendation. It's a pleasure for us to read that you take advantage of all the points of interest of the island (leisure walk, boat trip, historical sites, enjoying nature and views, ...) except the fortified monastery that is benefiting from rehabilitation. To pleasure,
Written 24 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nancy H
Farragut, TN32 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jul 2019
We paid about 105 euro for two adults and two children to eat lunch with water to drink. The food was good, and the view is great since the restaurant is open on the sides. They should install fans for the hot days though. We were sweating. Service was decent. I asked if they could cook my dish with no oil though (since I don’t have a gall bladder and have issues when eating too much oil), and my plate came with extra oil pored all around the sides. My husband’s plate (he ordered a different fish dish) did not have the extra oil so I wonder if maybe they just don’t like special requests. Then our server disappeared after bringing us dessert, and we didn’t know how to get our check. After waiting a while, we went to the cashier who actually had it waiting. Wish we had known that.

Tip: BYO drinks. Drinks in the Cannes ferry terminal machine were less than 2 euro. Drinks on the ferry are 2 euro. Drinks at the island restaurant are 5 euro each.
Written 4 July 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry you didn't enjoy your meal on the restaurant. Please note that picnics are allowed on the island, if you bring back your waste with you, because we participate in an operation "0 waste" all summer long. Best regards,
Written 11 July 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Roi Eshel
Bat Yam, Israel1,024 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Apr 2019 • Couples
When I heard there is a boat ride to an island with a monastery where the monks prepare wine and sell it I pictured a tour where I will get to see monks praying, preparing the wine and I would be able to taste the wine.
Unfortunately our experience was different. We docked with the boat and started touring the small island. We found the monastery but didn't get to see any monks. We found the store that sold the wine but there was no option to taste the wine at all.
The best part of the tour was a wall with FAQ for monks and their answers. That was very interesting.

All in all I think we could have utilized our time better touring Cannes.
Written 31 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
We are sorry you didn't find what you were expecting. Every information are available on the website of the Abbey. Our visitors can attend masses announced and once a month, tasting of our wines is organized by monks. Don't hesitate to have a look to the website next time.
Written 17 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul B
Staffordshire, UK75 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
May 2019 • Couples
A lovely place to visit, we do often, and just spend time walking around, visiting the monastery, and yesterday, Ascension day was special. A lot on, services, processions and much more. The fort on the southern side is very picturesque, and the restaraunt La Tonelle offers good stuff.
Written 31 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Thank you for these few lines. We are pleased to read the recommendation of a regular visitor and we also find that the island is very picturesque indeed. Best regards,
Written 17 June 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Jereme M
5 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Oct 2018 • Business
Taking the 20€ ferry out to Ile Saint-Honorat is a great way to spend the afternoon, or morning. Definitely not an all-day excursion because the Island simply isn't that big.

The Fortress is by far my favorite part, as it looks like it's taken right out of an episode of Game of Thrones. It's open to visitors with no supervision, so you can really explore if you want.

Don't forget about the gift shop at the Monastery where they sell the wine that the Monks make on the island. It's pricey, about 30€ a bottle.

Then, you can stroll the many paths around the island and get your steps in. It's very scenic and I could see some travelers having a great picnic there if they planned ahead.

Also, something that I found very interesting...there were ovens strategically placed around the island that actually cooked cannon-balls. So, invaders boats would be shot with a red-hot cannon-ball that would burn their boat!

It's definitely an interesting trip and well worth the euros and the time you'll spend there, plus it gets you away from the madness that Cannes can be!

Enjoy!
Written 8 May 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 92
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Ile Saint-Honorat - All You Need to Know BEFORE You Go (2024) - Tripadvisor

All French Riviera - Cote d'Azur HotelsFrench Riviera - Cote d'Azur Hotel Deals
All things to do in French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Amusement Parks in French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire