We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Manchester Academy

Oxford Road, Manchester M13 9PR, England
+44 161 275 2930
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Good venue

Great gig venue with fair bouncers/security and a nice size crowd. Good place to enjoy your... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Emma P
via mobile
Great intimate venue

Saw Rita Ora here last week and what an amazing performance it was! It was great to get so close... read more

Reviewed 27 May 2018
BeeePP
,
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 231 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
A collection of four intimate music venues, each of varying capacity and hosting a total of up to 5000 guests.
  • Excellent40%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“security staff” (15 reviews)
“student union” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 11:59 AM - 10:30 PM
LOCATION
Oxford Road, Manchester M13 9PR, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 161 275 2930
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Manchester
from US$ 16.10
More Info
from US$ 22.80
More Info
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"security staff"
in 15 reviews
"favourite bands"
in 6 reviews
"student union"
in 5 reviews
"gig venue"
in 8 reviews
"sound quality"
in 11 reviews
"great music venue"
in 3 reviews
"drink prices"
in 4 reviews
"last night"
in 9 reviews
"oxford road"
in 4 reviews
"bar staff"
in 7 reviews
"fantastic night"
in 4 reviews
"staff were friendly"
in 3 reviews
"gigs"
in 32 reviews
"venues"
in 28 reviews
"toilets"
in 28 reviews
"stage"
in 19 reviews
"queue"
in 15 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Great gig venue with fair bouncers/security and a nice size crowd. Good place to enjoy your favourite bands

Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Saw Rita Ora here last week and what an amazing performance it was! It was great to get so close. As when we arrived the queue was pretty long and didn't think we would get close by we did. I do prefer smaller venues as...More

Thank BeeePP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi - thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback. We're really glad to hear you enjoyed Rita Ora as much as we did, it was a great gig! Thank you for telling us about the issues upon exit, this is...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Went to see Theory play there. Having never been to the venue I didn’t know what to expect. I loved it. I was able to go in to the bar and get drinks way before the doors opened. I was able to get close to...More

Thank Crackernun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi - thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience at our venue! Hopefully Theory will return soon! Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2018 via mobile

I prefer small venues like this to watch bands, they're a lot more intimate than huge arenas and stadiums and you generally get a much better view of the band. We came here last week to watch Rita Ora and it was a really good...More

Thank cazbatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi - thank you so much for leaving us a 4 star review. Really glad to hear you enjoyed the Rita Ora gig, she was great wasn't she?! Thank you for letting us know about the toilets, we are currently looking in to this. Hope...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I went to see His LA Squires downstairs at the Academy. It was fantastic and the staff were very helpful. 10/10

Thank NatP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi Nat - thank you so much for leaving us a 5 star review, this is great to hear! We look forward to seeing you at another of our gigs soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

just when you thought the academy venue couldn't get any worse,we went to a concert in the down stairs at the academy,what an awfull venue,very small and sweaty and could only see half the group due to reinforcing support pillars,avoid at all cost,it was a...More

Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi Dave - I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your experience at our venue. Please can you email info.su@manchester & clarify some of your feedback so that we can work to improve this? Thank you, Holly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018 via mobile

Manchester Academy is a great venue, situated within the university campus. It is easy to get to by car or public transport from the city. Academy 2 is a smaller room with good sound, be aware that it gets incredibly hot in here when the...More

1  Thank RandRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hi - thank you so much for leaving us a 4 star review. Glad you had a great time at Converge! Hopefully see you at another of our gigs soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Went to see The Wombats on Sat 24th March. The gig was amazing, well parts we saw. The night was ruined due to staff, I assume letting thier friends into the sound mixing section and one of these friends coming in mid gig and standing...More

4  Thank Dan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Hi Dan - I'm sorry to hear you didn't have a positive experience at our venue. Please can you email info.su@manchester.ac.uk with your feedback so we can investigate this properly? Thank you. Holly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Took my daughter to see King No One on Saturday night, the gig was very good, all 3 bands were very good, especially King No One. Staff were very friendly, toilets needed checking more they were dirty.More

1  Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Events Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Jo - thanks very much for taking the time to leave your feedback. So glad you enjoyed the gig and that you found our staff to be friendly, those are our main goals! I will make sure your comments about the toilets get passed...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

I've seen many gigs at academy it has to be said it's one of my favourite large Manchester venues, while it doesn't compete with the intimacy of gorrila, the smaller academy venues or ruby lounge it's a great place to see larger Banda and not...More

Thank Phil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HollyWils, Events Intern at Manchester Academy, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Phil - thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback, we really appreciate it. I'm glad to hear you've enjoyed your experiences at Manchester Academy, and we hope to be welcoming you back to many more of our gigs in...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 121 hotels in Manchester
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
883 reviews
.53 km away
The Pendulum Hotel
1,868 reviews
1.14 km away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
1,505 reviews
1.18 km away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
1,204 reviews
1.18 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Tai Pan
349 reviews
.41 km away
Christie's Bistro
51 reviews
.20 km away
Red Chilli Chinese Restaurant Oxford Road
182 reviews
.17 km away
Big Hands Bar
17 reviews
.14 km away
Nearby Attractions
Victoria Baths
186 reviews
1.10 km away
The Manchester Museum
2,002 reviews
.28 km away
Elizabeth Gaskell's House
124 reviews
.54 km away
Whitworth Art Gallery
768 reviews
.45 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
PhilStyles84
29 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Mark Q | Reviewed this property |
Support on b4 8 very slow in letting u in main act normally start at around 9:15 hope that's some help
1
Vote
Pamela H
13 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Mark Q | Reviewed this property |
No the search is really strict but there is a bar in side not cheap get there early takes ages to get in
0
Votes
Tr1x0fthem1nd
21 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from John R | Reviewed this property |
we all wore trainers . There's no issues . Good venue
0
Votes