We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Wishing Well

Closed Now: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Open today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Review Highlights
Decent Pub

I had been here before, over a year ago when I lived about 800yds up the road, since moving to the... read more

Reviewed 20 November 2017
633SQDN
via mobile
A pleasant pub for a social drink

I called in for a drink with a couple of friends and the service was very good. They had a good... read more

Reviewed 21 June 2017
Salsaduende
,
Watford, United Kingdom
Read all 20 reviews
13
All photos (13)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent45%
  • Very good30%
  • Average10%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible10%
12 Nov 2018
“Wishing Well, St. Albans Road, Watford”
20 Nov 2017
“Decent Pub”
About
Situated on St Albans Road, Watford. 15 minutes walk from Watford Junction train station, this mid sized family friendly pub is a great venue for everyone. 9 large screens showing SKY TV for all your favourite sporting events. A wide range of...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
188-196 St. Albans Road, Watford WD24 4AT, England
Website
+44 1923 225345
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
9
6
1
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
9
6
1
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2018

Pleasant enough. But decor worn and updated. Sport on numerous tv's and pool table available. Poker nights are held on a regular basis. New Manager recently installed but has failed so far to attract more customers or returning old customers. Prices have been dropped to...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank noraswindburn
Reviewed 20 November 2017 via mobile

I had been here before, over a year ago when I lived about 800yds up the road, since moving to the other side of Watford I have been looking for a replacement pub for my daily escape from Eastenders and have found my way back...More

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank 633SQDN
Craig G, Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are confident that December will be busier. Not sure why! Have a look at our website or Facebook for further details. As for advertising, the best form is yours, quite simply spreading the good word about! It was...More

Reviewed 21 June 2017

I called in for a drink with a couple of friends and the service was very good. They had a good selection of drinks. Background music was a little high for my taste but not enough to disturb our chats.

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank Salsaduende
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This is first visit but good place for dring and dance not good place to eat I don't like the serviceMore

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank vimal b
Craig G, Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are not clear when your visit was, as the kitchen has been closed for two weeks. Custom has not been sufficient to sustain it, which partly may explain the poor service you received and we apologise if this was...More

Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Fantastic local boozer. Like stepping back in time! Great selection of alcohol but the food is not amazing.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank TimM4468
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

I came upon this pub when walking in the sunshine, feeling in need of some refreshment I decided to call in.As it was my first ever visit to this establishment I was impressed by the cleanliness of the interior and the welcome greeting I received...More

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Ray S
Craig G, Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2016

Many thanks for your review. I will certainly pass on your praise to all the staff. The Thai couple are new and will be delighted with the news. We look forward to welcoming you back and by all means bring the good weather you brought...More

Reviewed 11 August 2016

I really enjoyed the Thia Food, its good value for money and good quality. The Pub, the staff are very nice, the manager is very helpful and goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. The decor leaves a lot to be desired,...More

Date of experience: August 2016
Thank Lisa M
Craig G, Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you Lisa for your lovely review. We are very aware that the décor is much to be desired and plans are already underway to address this. It is nice to know your saw beyond this and that you will return. The kitchen has new...More

Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Used to get take away when rang up got told it was a new menu .well new menu new chief the worst ever takeaway o have ever had . Over cooked chicken in mixed starter . Prawn that have obviously been frozen and then just...More

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Anne J
Craig G, Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Thank you Anne for your review. Sorry for not responding sooner, but for some reason we were not alerted to your review. We apologise that on this occasion your expectations were far from exceeded. The chef has had great reviews and been with us for...More

Reviewed 21 April 2016

the decor is like an old English pub kind of smelly but food is good and service is very friendly too that's the reason i go there regularly..

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank Paul P
Craig G, Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

We aim to please and try to improve all the time with our service and quality of food and its nice to know you come here regularly. All ways a good sign. Kind regards and long may it continue for both parties.

Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

The cooks have recently changed in this Thai food pub. The previous cooks were great and the new guys are just as great. The menu has changed unsurprisingly but the choices are wide and varied you'll be hard pushed not to find something hot and...More

Date of experience: April 2016
1  Thank kimfE3914OM
Craig G, Manager at The Wishing Well, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The laksa is indeed very filling, the manager can vouch for that ! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. For your...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 13 nearby hotels
Holiday Inn Express London-Watford Junction
847 reviews
.49 km away
Holiday Inn London - Watford Junction
484 reviews
.78 km away
Jurys Inn London Watford
1,830 reviews
1.24 km away
Best Western White House Hotel
511 reviews
1.47 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 296 nearby restaurants
Nana's
598 reviews
.45 km away
Derwish Restaurant
171 reviews
.14 km away
The Prince George
272 reviews
.22 km away
Eats and Treats
97 reviews
.21 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 68 nearby attractions
Cheslyn House & Gardens
149 reviews
1.40 km away
Cassiobury Park
736 reviews
1.49 km away
Watford Palace Theatre
108 reviews
1.34 km away
M1 Motorway Junction
49 reviews
1.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ruanep1
16 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Craig G | Property representative |
The Wishing Well is still very much open, but the kitchen is closed until further notice. We hope to have it back open soon as there has been interest from various sources, but nothing confirmed yet.
0
Votes