We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Racing School - Donington Park - CLOSED

Donington Park, Derby DE74 2RP, England
+44 1942 270230
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Happy Husband

Booked an Aston Martin experience for my husband, he had a great time from start to finish and so... read more

Reviewed 7 May 2017
Sue H
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Change the course so you can get some speed!

I drove three cars - Audi R8, Ferrari and jaguar. I was impressed with the cars but the heritage... read more

Reviewed 6 May 2017
Dave W
via mobile
Read all 30 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The Racing School has been operating for 32 years making it Europe's longest established performance driving school. The company is a founder member of The Association of Racing Drivers Schools (ARDS) and currently operates at five venues across the UK, Brands Hatch, Three Sisters Race Circuit, Donington Park, Rockingham Motor Speedway and Oulton Park all of which are RAC, Motor Sport Association licensed race circuits. We currently offer the most diverse range of experiences of any provider and are constantly improving our racing fleet totalling over 80 vehicles and including Supercars such as Lamborghini, Ferrari, Aston Martin and genuine Ex GP Formula 1 cars. There are over 40 experiences to choose from and they're not all track based, there's something for everyone in the family ranging from Rally,4x4 and Skid driving, High Speed Passenger Rides, Junior driving in Supercars and Abarth 500's. All our experiences are delivered by first class qualified instructors and supported with impeccable customer service from our widely experienced event team.
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good36%
  • Average6%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
LOCATION
Donington Park, Derby DE74 2RP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1942 270230
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"driving experience"
in 6 reviews
"aston martin"
in 3 reviews
"staff are great"
in 2 reviews
"lamborghini"
in 3 reviews
"supercars"
in 3 reviews
"instructor"
in 14 reviews
"track"
in 8 reviews
"organisation"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2017

Booked an Aston Martin experience for my husband, he had a great time from start to finish and so did I seeing some cracking supercars close up.

Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

I drove three cars - Audi R8, Ferrari and jaguar. I was impressed with the cars but the heritage track I went on limited the opportunity to open the cars up - I also had a lap with an experienced driver and they only hit...More

1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Booked a Lamborghini drive good organisation timing spot on but they kept slowing him down, Surely if you book a super car experience you should be allowed to go faster. Then there is the add on's Photos, Video's its hard to say NO to a...More

1  Thank Leonie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

Present for Grandson - Drive in an Audi R8 and a High Speed Ride. The staff are great - personable and focused. We were early so there was some waiting - but time to look at the cars. I have absolutely no complaint - it...More

1  Thank JohnPDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Booked a lamborghini drive for 11.45am. Told to arrive half an hour before so we got here at 11.00am. It's now 1.00pm and we are still waiting, outside in the freezing cold...More

Thank Jen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Retail Sales Team Leader at The Racing School - Donington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2016

Afternoon Jen W, I am sorry your experience didn't meet your expectations, however, this page is for The Racing School's experiences at Donington Park, we offer Driving Experiences on the National Circuit. Your event was delivered by Driving Gift, please take time to review with...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

drove an aston martin , but had to keep being told to pull over to let faster cars go through ?, well i would have GONE faster if they didn`t keep telling me to pull over for other cars . why can`t they use there...More

Thank 176moodys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Manager at The Racing School - Donington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Thanks for your review. Please note your experience would not have been delivered by The Racing School as we didn't offer our Donington Experiences in August. Please review with the correct experience provider. The Racing School offers all it's Donington Experiences on the National Circuit...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This was a birthday gift for my husband. He chose to drive the Ariel Atom which, in the end was the best choice; more 'raw' than the supercars from chatting to other participants. However, the review below is right in some of its criticism. The...More

Thank LindiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Manager at The Racing School - Donington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

It’s always disappointing to receive negative feedback after our event days as we take customer service and care very seriously That said, we do welcome such feedback so we can look to improve all areas of our experience days. As for some of the specifics:...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

If you like waiting around then this is for you. Queue (5m) to sign indemnity form, queue to check in (30m), wait for briefing (varies), have briefing (25m), wait for experience in the cold with no communication and no idea when you will get a...More

Thank timbotambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl R, Manager at The Racing School - Donington Park, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

It’s always disappointing to receive negative feedback after our event days as we take customer service and care very seriously. That said, we do welcome such feedback so we can look to improve all areas of our experience days As for some of the specifics:...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

From the initial purchase to the drive, all communication was first class. On the day everyone involved was welcoming and helpful. My 12yr old son who has never driven before had a fab instructor and the look on his face post drive was worth every...More

1  Thank st0ry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

Attended the driving school to do the ards test, staff brilliant, friendly and very helpful, nice clean place and easy to get to. M1 then a453 and main entrance is on a453

Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 28 hotels in Derby
Donington Park Farmhouse Hotel
165 reviews
.85 km away
The Priest House by the River
875 reviews
1.79 km away
Donington Manor Hotel
357 reviews
2.70 km away
Melbourne View Hotel
272 reviews
2.77 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Apiary Cafe Bar
599 reviews
2.94 km away
The Plough Inn
128 reviews
3.29 km away
The Runway Bar
16 reviews
2.36 km away
Curry 2 Night
726 reviews
2.96 km away
Nearby Attractions
Donnington Park Race Circuit
28 reviews
.14 km away
Download Rock Festival
92 reviews
.52 km away
The Ron Haslam Race School - Day Classes
40 reviews
.49 km away
Donington Collections
235 reviews
.63 km away