We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Fewston | Harrogate, Harrogate HG3 1SU, England
Phone Number: +44 1943 880794
Website
Description:

Exhibitions and tea rooms open from April to October on Saturdays and...

Exhibitions and tea rooms open from April to October on Saturdays and Sundays from 11 to 4.30 pm. From November to March we're open on Sundays from 11-4 pm.

We have a programme of events, walks, talks, courses, suppers and so on - details of which can be found on our website.

We are fully accessible, and also dog and pushchair friendly.

Our volunteers will be delighted to see you.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 23 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 11
    Excellent
  • 9
    Very good
  • 0
    Average
  • 2
    Poor
  • 1
    Terrible
very welcome break on pleasant walk

Great place to stop for a coffee and WONDERFULL cake. Clean modern architecture blends in well with the fourteenth century Fewston St Michael's Church. Friendly helpful ladies... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 April 2016
glebehousecarleton
,
Skipton, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

23 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 23: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fascinating day-long sculpture course run by encouraging and friendly tutor. Well organised with delicious refreshments and lunch. The Centre is in a beautiful valley and provides an inspiring setting. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Helen-atOH
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2016

This is a volunteer run cafe /restaurant that is a really welcome break when walking around the lovely Swinsty or Fewston Reservoir. The building is a real surprise in that it is of modern style architecture that is linked to the original St Michael and St Lawrence church at Fewston. It's in a tucked away position and can be a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smitty S
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2016

i checked on the website to see if the tearoom was open on bank hols, said it was, we went yesterday ( bank hol) and it was closed, not impressed at all, website well out of date plus there were signs outside the place to say on Bank hols it would be open!!!!!!! Why do this to people who enjoy... More 

Helpful?
Thank susiewong51
RBatch, Manager at Washburn Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Hi, I am so sorry that you've been left so disappointed. We believe our website is up to date, it states on the home page that we're open 'most bank holidays' and suggests visitors check our events calendar. On the events calendar, I enter the dates when the tea room is open and if we're serving the full menu or... More 

Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2016

Great place to stop for a coffee and WONDERFULL cake. Clean modern architecture blends in well with the fourteenth century Fewston St Michael's Church. Friendly helpful ladies serve a range of light snacks tea and coffee. good modern clean toilet for customers.

Helpful?
Thank glebehousecarleton
RBatch, Manager at Washburn Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your comments, really pleased you had a good visit to our Centre and tea room. Do come again! More 

Ripon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2016

Went here on Sunday 3rd April with my two children for tea and cake whilst walking around Swinsty Reservoir. When I asked the waitress for cutlery she seemed unimpressed - I had a dog with me so couldn't go to get it myself! My daughter was then really disappointed when her Victoria sandwich had lemon cream inside it - the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amy M
RBatch, Manager at Washburn Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Hi, thank you so much for your feedback. I am really very sorry that you had such a negative experience in our tea room. Everyone you see there is a volunteer and to date we've prided ourselves on our friendly welcome (and home made cakes) however this clearly wasn't your experience. Please do come back with your children for free... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely walk around reservoir in a lucky clear hour on a rainy day. We had lunch in the parochial hall which serves food on last Sunday of each month. Good homemade inexpensive lunch. Great cakes. Nice people run it for local charity.

Helpful?
Thank seafarer101
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

Very difficult to find. When we eventually arrived it was closed. Website needs to indicate access arrangements more clearly. Beautiful setting, pity we couldn't gain access.

Helpful?
Thank AmazonesLiverpool
RBatch, Manager at Washburn Heritage Centre, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your review. You're right, we are tucked away (part of our charm!) but when we're open we have signs around the Church, the reservoir car park and from the reservoir pathway itself. I am very sorry that the website didn't help you properly, we are in the process of reviewing it so I've added 'opening hours'... More 

Congleton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2016

On 20th February 2016 we celebrated my mothers 90th birthday at the Washburn Heritage Centre. It was superb. The afternoon tea was lovely all freshly prepared and homebaked by a fantastic team of volunteers. I cannot thank everyone enough for such a lovely party for 32 people age range 2yrs to 90 yrs. Excellent

Helpful?
Thank jare320
RBatch, Manager at Washburn Heritage Centre, responded to this review

How kind of you to take the trouble to write, we loved celebrating with you, thank you so very much. Rachel Batchelor More 

Harrogate
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2016

Lovely home made cakes (too lovely!). Lots of friendly staff. The Heritage Centre is really interesting, showing the history of the Washburn Valley.

Helpful?
Thank madwitch47
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2016

I have visited many times to this beautiful hidden gem. Close to Fewston reservoir in a magical setting. The heritage centre offers quality food well served in a most agreeable atmosphere and is perfect for walkers and all visitors alike.

Helpful?
Thank Dennis M

Travellers who viewed Washburn Heritage Centre also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Washburn Heritage Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Washburn Heritage Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?