We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin

St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
+353 1 679 4611
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Dublinia is one of Dublin’s top visitor attractions with three exciting exhibitions all located at the historic crossroads of Dublin. There are three exciting exhibitions; Viking Dublin and Medieval Dublin recreate the city through life size reconstructions, including a Viking house and a medieval fair while Death and Disease are also investigated. Finally unearth the city’s past at the new interactive History Hunters exhibition, visit an excavation site, and see medieval bugs under the microscope in the Lab. See Dublin from a new perspective and come away knowing more about its citizens throughout the ages!
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good39%
  • Average13%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“medieval times” (81 reviews)
“great for kids” (70 reviews)
“christ church” (87 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
St. Michael's Hill | Christ Church, Dublin 8, Ireland
CONTACT
Website
+353 1 679 4611
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,851)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"medieval times"
in 81 reviews
"great for kids"
in 70 reviews
"christ church"
in 87 reviews
"combined ticket"
in 22 reviews
"early history"
in 31 reviews
"interactive museum"
in 55 reviews
"all ages"
in 96 reviews
"middle ages"
in 25 reviews
"dublin pass"
in 56 reviews
"dublin's history"
in 49 reviews
"top floor"
in 62 reviews
"great museum"
in 33 reviews
"rainy day"
in 41 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 36 reviews
"gift shop"
in 38 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 29 reviews
"tower"
in 251 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Coming from Viking heritage myself I told my husband we are making this a destination on our honeymoon in Ireland. The museum did well to convey Viking life and their role in Ireland throughout time but it felt a little cheesy and out dated. The...More

Thank KellMac1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

My wife and I visited on a damp Tuesday afternoon, we were also visiting St Patrick's and Christ Church cathedral which are both nearby. It's interesting enough but probably aimed more at a younger audience. If you have the Dublin Pass and free time give...More

Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my boyfriend were looking for something a little different to do. I myself love ancient history and was fascinated to learn about the Viking history of Dublin. We were a little apprehensive at first, as we knew it is a popular family, children...More

Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This experience is a very good couple of hours out and very family friendly it covers 3 floors one on vikings one on the mediaeval time and the top floor is artefacts they are very happy for you to take photos and lots of areas...More

Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visited here as it was opposite our hotel. It was OK but often quite difficult to hear the audio sections due to the talking and sometimes disgusting noises coming from the dummies. Some interesting information but overall not somewhere I would recommend personally.

Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Possibly the worst museum i have ever visited. After finding it difficult to get to the place initially we were excited to be inside and relax. However you get thrown straight into the museum and you wonder round some figures that have nothing to do...More

Thank littleme543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary-ThereseB, Manager at Dublinia: Experience Viking and Medieval Dublin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Sorry to hear you were so disappointed in our exhibitions at Dublinia, which is situated in the city centre, beside one of the biggest Cathedrals in the city, a landmark. I must admit we were a bit surprised to hear that you thought the figures...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lots of reviews said this was just for kids, but I didn't think it was. Really great displays and info about Dublin's history.

1  Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unless you have small children, avoid this place. It is run down, tired, and frankly has a peculiar smell. It was part of our Dublin One-Pass, but honestly, skip it!

Thank WeloveParisfor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

During our Dublin city overview, our tour guide recommended this attraction. Later while walking out of Saint Patrick's Catedral visit we came across Dublin is. It was well worth it. Excellent well documented and very visual presentation of the Nordic influence of the origins of...More

Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It's a good museum, but I expected more history and information. It's very interesting and recommendable for kids and very funny also.

Thank DAVID G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 150 hotels in Dublin
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
2,998 reviews
.07 km away
Harding Hotel
2,386 reviews
.14 km away
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
1,269 reviews
.17 km away
Parliament Hotel
1,570 reviews
.25 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Darkey Kelly's Bar & Restaurant
893 reviews
.13 km away
The Riddler
140 reviews
.22 km away
Queen of Tarts
5,480 reviews
.23 km away
Bite of Life
146 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Smock Alley Theatre 1662
110 reviews
.27 km away
St. Audoen's Church
185 reviews
.15 km away
Christ Church Cathedral
3,537 reviews
.06 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
LibertysTears
2 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from berty-c | Reviewed this property |
there's more in York, we was there in October 2016 but due to floods a lot of it was closed. once it al re-opens it'd be a better choice than the Dublin one.
1
Vote
MichelleMoore84
21 January 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from gailr97 | Reviewed this property |
We only spent about an hour. - rather last century, I thought. You can get a double ticket that gets you into the adjacent church. I would recommend the new exhibition at the Post Office although it makes one embarrassed to... More
0
Votes
kcruyer
21 July 2016|
Answer
Response from Kristine C | Reviewed this property |
Hours: Thursday 10AM–6:30PM Friday 10AM–6:30PM Saturday 10AM–6:30PM Sunday 10AM–6:30PM Monday 10AM–6:30PM Tuesday 10AM–6:30PM Wednesday 10AM–6:30PM
2
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor