We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Exhibition Way, Glasgow G3 8YW, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 141 248 3000
Website
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Description:

This large concert hall and exhibition center hosts pop music concerts and...

This large concert hall and exhibition center hosts pop music concerts and fashion shows.

read more
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 69.01*
and up
Glasgow at Night Private Tour
More Info
US$ 17.57*
and up
City Sightseeing Glasgow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
More Info
US$ 81.56*
and up
Glasgow's West End Private Tour

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 312 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 84
    Excellent
  • 88
    Very good
  • 53
    Average
  • 32
    Poor
  • 44
    Terrible
Good time

I visited the Irn Bru carnival with my mother while off work. I am usually not on many thrill rides but this time decided to try something new. Worth mentioning is Speed Buzz and... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Acran
,
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

312 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 301: English reviews
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited here a few days ago! Had a really great time, pre booked tickets meant that we skipped any queues there were for entry to the carnival. Each of the pre booked tickets came with 10 tokens each to let you on the rides which was good considering most rides were only 1 ticket each! Had a really good time... More 

Helpful?
Thank jonodavidson
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I went with my friend and our 12 year old daughters as a last treat of the holidays and I really wish I had taken them elsewhere. It cost £13 per person whether we were actually going to be on the rides or just spectating. The tickets came with vouchers which would have been fine but all the rides which... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the Irn Bru carnival with my mother while off work. I am usually not on many thrill rides but this time decided to try something new. Worth mentioning is Speed Buzz and Midnight Express Matterhorn but there is much more besides. The only downside to the rides was the long q's but this is not the fault of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Acran
QDEvents, Manager at The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review! We're delighted that you had a good time. Thank you also for being so understanding about the queues. Heads up - Thursday, Friday and Sunday evening this week will be far quieter, so please let us know if you'd like to come again and get straight onto the rides! If not, we'll see... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to the irn bru carnival with my wife and 2 young children cost £50,30 minutes waiting to enter,I myself didn't go on any rides and specifically said this when purchasing the tickets and was still told I had to pay full price.£2.50 for a 500ml bottle of irn bru,£5.00 for a burger that's out of a cash&carry which probably... More 

Helpful?
Thank danny f
QDEvents, Manager at The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi Danny, Was really sorry to read your review of our IRN-BRU Carnival (even though the graveyard comment made me smile). We have been trying to work closely with the venue caterers to bring down the cost of food and drink at the event, but I'm afraid this is largely out of our hands. We'll continue to use emails like... More 

Coatbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Took my child here today and must say I will never be back again as most people reviews are all the same.had to wait about 45 mins just to get in then when we finally did get in the place was absaloutley full over half an hour to wait to get on rides when you have a 5 year old... More 

Helpful?
Thank paddykaren99
QDEvents, Manager at The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Really disappointing to read, but I think in your position, I'd have written something similar! The event is run by QD Events Ltd. We're a subsidiary of the SECC and also run events including the Scottish Caravan, Motorhome & Holiday Home Show and Resonate Festival of Gaming. None of my team are "travellers" as far as... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Never again, as Irn Bru only sponsor this and don't actually own it, its run by travellers and it costs a fortune £4.00 for chips! £2.50 for a 500ml bottle of Irn Bru which if anything should be cheaper as they sponsor it. Need to queue for half an hour to get on the rides run by the most unenthusiastic... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bert C
QDEvents, Manager at The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Disappointing to read, but we appreciate the feedback regardless. The event is run by QD Events Ltd. We're a subsidiary of the SECC and run events including the Scottish Caravan, Motorhome & Holiday Home Show and Resonate Festival of Gaming. None of my team are "travellers" as far as I know. We work closely with the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Disgusted with the carnival prices. ... Car parking took forever.. and extortionate 50 pound for a family of 4.... with 40 tokens Everything was designed to take more and more money off you... and slightly over a minute on most rides Our worst experience was the twister ride... From the wheels starting to a full stop..... 73 seconds.. threw on... More 

Helpful?
Thank peter42041
QDEvents, Manager at The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi - Thanks for your feedback. We're disappointed to read that you consider it poor value for money, but totally take on board your comments. To address a couple of things: The Car Park is run by City Parking. We hire the SECC in which to run the Carnival and the nearest car park is not run by us or... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Its no longer a day out more like an hour tops kids weren't allowed on rides they've been on 2 previous years...they haven't shrunk ride operators were rude and refused to believe they'd been on same rides last year despite us showing them photos on the phone! Wont be back!

Helpful?
Thank izzykelly70
QDEvents, Manager at The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Hi - Thanks for your feedback (even though we're disappointed to read it!). It seems very strange that your kids weren't permitted on the same rides as they enjoyed last year. We let the ride operators take decisions on who has permission to ride - for health and safety reasons - and, very occasionally, even when kids reach required minimum... More 

Bathgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

3rd time at the Irn Bru carnival, only place I have been to were its dearer to purchase tickets online! £5 cheaper if you pay cash on the day, also, there are 4 kiosks if you are paining cash and only one for pre booked tickets, and this is always the far away kiosk. Food expensive - £25 for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin F
QDEvents, Manager at The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for your review (however disappointing to read!). You're right - there is a booking fee if you book online for the IRN-BRU Carnival. However, it does mean you can get 'Easy Entry' and skip the queues on our busy days. The reason we put the 'Easy Entry' door further up the concourse is to clearly separate it from general... More 

1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to see Rob Stewart who was brilliant as were the people around us. BUT the people who work at the venue are shockingly poor at what the do, from the zombie like bar staff to the jobsworths who run the hall like a prison. I won't be returning to the venue no matter who plays. Please note though this... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rob R

Travellers who viewed The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Scottish Exhibition and Conference Centre staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?