We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waverley Excursions

50 Pacific Quay | Glasgow Science Centre, Govan, Glasgow G51 1EA, Scotland
+44 141 204 4400
Call
Website
Save
Review Highlights
If you buy vouchers beware that Waverley often has to cancel but they will NOT refund you!

Really upset with these people. Bought £80 vouchers for my elderly parents Christmas presents last... read more

Reviewed 15 December 2017
GAW98
,
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Another lovely trip

Not my first trip, and hopefully won't be my last. Love going on the Waverley. Been on perfect... read more

Reviewed 29 November 2017
PaulaScot
,
Scotland
Read all 694 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Waverley is the last sea-going paddle steamer in the world. Offering Day, Afternoon and Evening Cruises from a port near you! Enjoy unrivalled access to Britain's Coasts, Rivers and Islands.Magnificently restored with towering funnels, timber decks, gleaming varnish and brass. See and hear the mighty engines - they will provide a whiff of nostalgia for some but are sure to impress all!
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good21%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“engine room” (87 reviews)
“paddle steamer” (131 reviews)
“tower bridge” (50 reviews)
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
50 Pacific Quay | Glasgow Science Centre, Govan, Glasgow G51 1EA, Scotland
CONTACT
Website
Call
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017

Really upset with these people. Bought £80 vouchers for my elderly parents Christmas presents last year. The used the vouchers to buy tickets but the sailings were cancelled. They were rebooked on a later, somewhat shorter, sailing but that was cancelled too. They didn't notify...More

5  Thank GAW98
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Not my first trip, and hopefully won't be my last. Love going on the Waverley. Been on perfect sunny days, been on rough seas. Makes you feel good. Find the staff nice and friendly, and of there's a problem, as there was this year as...More

Thank PaulaScot
Reviewed 2 November 2017

In 2016 my husband and I booked a trip on the Waverley but unfortunately on the day I was very ill and unable to travel. We were pleased to be given a credit voucher for use in 2017. We subsequently booked our trip for September...More

4  Thank Sue B
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thanks for your review via TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you were unable to travel on your pre-booked excursion in 2016, however we note that you were pleased to receive a Credit note to the value of your unused tickets to use towards...More

Reviewed 15 October 2017

I am no stranger to PS Waverley for each year I sail on her from Southend Pier to the Thames Forts, sadly this year's trip was only just under two hours to Redsands Fort with a far-off glimpse of Shivering Sands Fort and back to...More

1  Thank DaveJC
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that you are a regular passenger of Paddle Steamer Waverley, however we are sorry to note that your trip aboard her this year did not meet your expectations. Catering prices are benchmarked against other tourist attractions....More

Reviewed 11 October 2017

went on the waverly first time in 30 years to rothsey not a lot there but trip on the boat was great enjoyed every min going again in nov

Thank Chrismturnbull
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2017

Thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear that your first trip aboard Waverley in 30 years met your expectations and more. We look forward to welcoming you aboard in 2018. Kind regards,

Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Last of the Thames trips to Whitstable. Beautiful paddle steamer..lsst of her kind built in 1947... Unfortunately problem with boiler at Southend meant no going ashore at Whitstable. Stunning scenery both there and back with informative information and commentary from crew. Plenty of seating available...More

2  Thank maggie1966
PS_Waverley, Front Office Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review Waverley. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip so much and hope to welcome you on board again soon!

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Arranged and well organised by a local coach company, a friend and I joined one of their coaches at 7am arriving in London at Tower Pier in good time for a 10am trip on the river Thames going through Tower Bridge and down to Southend...More

2  Thank Richard G
PS_Waverley, Front Office Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Richard thank you for your review, Waverley operates at a strict and safe level of customer capacity, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the trip.

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Enjoyed a recent trip from Harwich to Tower Bridge, via coach from Ipswich. The sun shone until we got to Southend, and the sea was very smooth. A great commentary throughout. I can't comment on the catering facilities as we went fully equipped. The most...More

1  Thank pollylou
PS_Waverley, Front Office Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hello Pollylou, Thank you for taking the time to review Waverley. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your trip and hope to welcome you on board again soon!

Reviewed 7 October 2017

I booked for the trip from Tower Pier to Southend. The ship was so crowded that you could not see anything without pushing through people, the coffee/tea shop had only one person serving and one slow machine making one cup each time so there was...More

7  Thank Adrian G
PS_Waverley, Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2017

Thanks for your review. We are sorry to hear that your trip aboard Waverley did not meet your expectations. We restrict the passenger numbers we carry with passenger numbers in mind. Passengers were advised that the ship may not be able to call at Southend...More

Reviewed 7 October 2017

Lovely lazy day on the River Thames and beyond .The ship is just gorgeous and all ship shape and well built ,and we where lucky to have Autumn sun and calm water on our cruise down to the Thames Estuary forts . We enjoyed a...More

1  Thank richatomic
PS_Waverley, Front Office Manager at Waverley Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Richatomic, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the trip and look forward to welcoming you aboard next season for A Great Day Out!

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 93 hotels in Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
3,291 reviews
.35 km away
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
2,140 reviews
.46 km away
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
2,432 reviews
.55 km away
GoGlasgow Urban Hotel
898 reviews
.82 km away
Nearby Restaurants
La Rotunda
715 reviews
.81 km away
Crown Plaza Glasgow
302 reviews
.55 km away
GoGrill
41 reviews
.82 km away
Mezze
48 reviews
.83 km away
Nearby Attractions
Glasgow Science Centre
2,171 reviews
.34 km away
Ibrox Stadium
609 reviews
.94 km away
Clyde Arc Bridge
67 reviews
1.04 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Brenda c
23 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from GlasgowLovelife | Reviewed this property |
When we were on board, the gangplanks were very short as the main deck is usually level with the shore (unlike on a ferry, for example) The incline was also minimal. And, in addition, the staff either had a separate... More
0
Votes
jimsmith012
26 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from | Reviewed this property |
They are having a spot of bother. I was on her yesterday at Rothesay when she nearly mounted the promenade and landed in the 12 hole of the 'putting green. It is quite possible she may not sail again for a week or two, or... More
1
Vote
lesley r
14 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 11 answers
Response from PatCrawford |
I have to agree with most of the answers already given that the food is basic refectory-style meals. they are served in a hurry and not cheap. Better to take a sandwich and a drink and sit on the deck admiring the lovely... More
2
Votes