We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Hammerlands, Moffat DG10 9QL, Scotland
Phone Number:
+44 1683 221220
Website

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 66 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 38
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 1
    Average
  • 5
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
Lunch

Always enjoy the food here. Simple menu but tasty and big portions. Good softplay and outdoor play park for the kids.

Reviewed 1 week ago
Nick M
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 66: English reviews
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Always enjoy the food here. Simple menu but tasty and big portions. Good softplay and outdoor play park for the kids.

Helpful?
Thank Nick M
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Was generally not a good experience. The "crazy golf" was awful the food was expensive and not of good quality. Not much entertainment present, stale and boring.

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Kris A, Owner at The Green Frog, responded to this review

Hi. I am sorry that you had such an unpleasant visit with us at The Frog. We try our very best to give all our customers a good experience, but unfortunately this was not the case. We are just a small business and try our best to give you value for money. We have now rectified the crazy golf as... More 

Edinburgh
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My sister insited on going to this place for a birthday lunch, I had never been before but my Mum had and she didn't like it but we went along to keep the peace. Oh no! I wanted to leave the minute I arrived. It doesn't feel nice inside. Its like a nursery for young todlers and a meeting place... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol J
Kris A, Owner at The Green Frog, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your comments for your visit. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your experience at The Frog. We are sorry the noise was bad, unfortunately this happens when we are busy. If you were sitting in the soft play area we could have moved your party to the other side of the Frog which is... More 

Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2017

We had a really nice lunch well priced and tasty. Easy to park and walk our dog around the ponds. Well set up for small children too.

Helpful?
Thank pamela b
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Came in had the soup and special service was amazing very friendly atmosphere was some celebrity customers in at the same time was very surprised some bmx superstars had stopped off was wonderful my little girl loved the play area and we had a lovely walk round the fishing ponds after lunch

Helpful?
2 Thank John S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Parked up in a camper about 9.00pm on a Friday, only £5.50 for an overnight stay (approx 10 pitches). Water and waste disposal available. 10 min walk into town with pubs, Indian / Italian restaurants etc.. We awoke to a lovely autumn morning and picturesque fishing ponds. Toilets and scrummy breakfast available at the cafe which was open at 9.00am.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank patang23
Annan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Walked to the cafe for a coffee. Waited 25 minutes for it to be served. Just came in a mug with no spoon or saucer at £2.20 was very expensive

Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor O
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Stood at the counter waiting to order coffee and cake, another customer walked up and was served before us. Was about to walk out, but my disabled wife needed to sit down and in need of refreshment, so we let it go. The café seems to have a resident dog, which is allowed to wander freely around the food preparation... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Steve P
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2016

What a lovely little place and the staff was excellent friendly helpful ,although we only stayed one night in our motorhome no electric we enjoyed it that much we are sure to make a stop again for a bit longer next time many thanks

Helpful?
1 Thank Peppermol
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Had a grand day stalking the resident rainbow and brown trout in the clear waters of the fishery. Was a particularly hot day which made the fishing more challenging but managed to land a couple of decent trout.

Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony K

Travellers who viewed The Green Frog also viewed

Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 
Moffat, Dumfries and Galloway
 

Been to The Green Frog? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Green Frog and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Green Frog staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?