We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Burnham House Auchindrain | Auchindrain, Inveraray PA32 8WD, Scotland
Phone Number: +44 1499 500235
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 10:00 - 17:00
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Description:

Auchindrain/Achadh an Droighinn is a very special place - the only...

Auchindrain/Achadh an Droighinn is a very special place - the only surviving example of a Highland Farm Township that was not either abandoned or modernised. The 21 acre site, set in the dramatic Argyll landscape, gives visitors a fascinating insight into life and work in the old Highlands. Wander through the township, learn about its people, and explore the longhouses where they lived with their cattle and horses under one roof.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 147 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 74
    Excellent
  • 43
    Very good
  • 18
    Average
  • 6
    Poor
  • 3
    Terrible
Interesting and informative

£6.50 entrance fee, dog friendly, guide book was informative, we found it interesting and learnt a lot from our trip to Auchindrain. We have it so easy these days compared to... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 September 2016
Kathryn B
,
Royton

Similar Things to Do in Inveraray

Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 144: English reviews
Royton
Level Contributor
169 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

£6.50 entrance fee, dog friendly, guide book was informative, we found it interesting and learnt a lot from our trip to Auchindrain. We have it so easy these days compared to back in the day. Glad we stopped to see some of Scotland's history.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn B
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2016

Very historical rural village still very original dating back before the 16thC & now a museum, fascinating look into rural life before the clearances. Work is still ongoing with maintenance around the various out buildings with students from some overseas countries helping out .

Helpful?
Thank Geoff B
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

i was looking forward to this but its done poorly! in some of the rooms they just store chairs etc like a garage!! thats not authentic, you get a tablet to take with you around on tour, and go yourself. in some of the cottages the beds where just left in the raw form, like they haven't dressed it to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Klaire M
SouthLanarkshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2016

a collection of early crofters cottages in what was once a real township. In various state of repair. Excellent information and explanation of the history. Mostly outside so subject to weather conditions, but a lovely cafe and gift/bookshop on site also. Plenty of free parking too.

Helpful?
Thank travelmum53
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2016

This is a wonderful hamlet or clachan of houses from centuries past – utterly fascinating. Such primitive surroundings like rush roofs, stone floors, the cattle in the room next door. It was quite humbling looking round this amazing museum. I got the sense of stepping back in time but not in the sanitised National Trust view of the past. What... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken W
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2016

This was recommended to us by friends and we stopped on the way back from Crinan after having passed it by many times. What a fascinating place. I am embarrassed that I knew nothing about townships before reading the history of this place, and to think this was still lived in until half a century ago. I am so glad... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank zoned
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2016

Very interesting place and really well presented. The cottages feel like the residents just left. You are left on your own to wander around and that's the way I like it. A real step back in time and a must see if you're in the area.

Helpful?
Thank hennypenn
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2016 via mobile

Went to the village on a day which was absolutely torrential. Not the best type of weather to view. But very interesting insight into the history of the area and the people that lived there in the past. Very glad to see the coffee shop well presented and good hot coffee!!!

Helpful?
Thank James C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2016

Being run by two very bored teenagers who obviously did not want to be there Scones like hockey pucks no jam and only enough butter for one.... When asked about the lack of choice we were informed with a shrug "well it Sunday and were never busy so we don't prepare much Need I say more Open and do it... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Corbett S
AuchindrainTownship, Manager at Auchindrain Highland Farm Township, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Auchindrain. Please contact us direct at info@auchindrain.org.uk, and we will arrange a full refund. More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2016

Although the weather was not kind to us it felt like we have your money and that's it . I felt that a lot more could be done to make things more of an attraction several cars came on to the car park and drove off as we were walking around .

Helpful?
1 Thank albert1218
AuchindrainTownship, Manager at Auchindrain Highland Farm Township, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you feel this way. Yes, a very great deal more could be done to make Auchindrain an exciting attraction. We are only too painfully aware of this. What we do not have, however, is the money to do more than we are doing already. The museum is owned and run by an independent charity,... More 

Travellers who viewed Auchindrain Highland Farm Township also viewed

Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
Inveraray, Argyll and Bute
 

Been to Auchindrain Highland Farm Township? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Auchindrain Highland Farm Township and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Auchindrain Highland Farm Township staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?