We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Compton Verney

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Compton Verney, Stratford-upon-Avon CV35 9HZ, England
Phone Number:
441926645500
Website
Today
10:30 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Tue - Sun 10:30 - 17:00
Description:

This award winning art gallery near Stratford-upon-Avon offers enjoyable...

This award winning art gallery near Stratford-upon-Avon offers enjoyable ways to experience art. Housed in a Grade I listed Robert Adam mansion set in Capability Brown landscaped parkland, Compton Verney is home to a growing collection of works of art from around the world including Naples 1600-1800, Germanic art 1450-1650, British portraits including Reynolds, exceptional collection of Chinese bronzes, unique collection of British Folk Art, the Marx-Lambert collection, plus an exciting program of changing exhibitions.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 450 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 278
    Excellent
  • 109
    Very good
  • 34
    Average
  • 16
    Poor
  • 9
    Terrible
Lovely grounds, disappointing cafe

A lovely afternoon out. Beautiful grounds and an interesting exhibition but was sorely let down by the cafe which is overpriced, terrible (weak) coffee, disappointing cakes and... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 days ago
UmBango
,
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 446: English reviews
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

It used to be a treat to go for lunch in the restaurant at Compton Verney - alas, no longer. Expensive, poor quality, self service food with very little choice - only one hot meal option for vegetarians. If you have the misfortune to sit at a table near the kitchen you will be treated to the appetising delight of... More 

Helpful?
Thank woolybutterfly
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been members for many years and the combination of excellent food and lovely art was difficult to resist but now the restaurant has become a cafeteria serving up quite dreadful food that I can only describe as school dinner fare. Not only that, but we can no longer book a table which was one of our reasons for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LymeLover
ComptonVerneyTeam, Front of House Manager at Compton Verney, responded to this review

Thank you passing us your feedback. As a member, I hope you continue to enjoy the gallery and the other benefits that your membership brings. However, please understand that in order to make Compton Verney a sustainable charitable organisation, we had to make necessary changes to our facilities in order to future proof our building as we get busier and... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A lovely afternoon out. Beautiful grounds and an interesting exhibition but was sorely let down by the cafe which is overpriced, terrible (weak) coffee, disappointing cakes and disorganised in its service. Such a shame but would still come back - with my own picnic.

Helpful?
1 Thank UmBango
ComptonVerneyTeam, Front of House Manager at Compton Verney, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and the for good rating. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your day with us despite the disappointing experience in the Compton Kitchen. Please accept my apologies for the weak coffee and poor quality of service, all of your points have been passed to our Catering provider and will... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We've been members for several years, visiting three or four times a year and almost always planning our visit around an excellent meal at the restaurant. We are picky about our food but Compton Verney's restaurant never disappointed. Tasty and imaginative. Not so their mediocre cafe. But now the cafe has taken over the restaurant. In place of waited service... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
ComptonVerneyTeam, Front of House Manager at Compton Verney, responded to this review

I am so sorry you were disappointed with our new catering system, I’m afraid that we had no choice but to change the way we cater for our visitors. Not enough people were using the restaurant, and as a result we were losing money on its operation – which, as an independent charitable trust that receives no funding from central... More 

Cotswolds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Really wonderful trip to Compton Verney today. So enjoyed the new Countryside exhibition which comprised of so many facets of countryside life as seen through various mediums. Beautiful house and grounds. Very tasty lunch. Shall definitely return soon!

Helpful?
Thank AngelaArchie
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful grounds which are easy to stroll around. In the main house, the permanent exhibits are fascinating with helpful attendants to provide further insights. The restaurant provides solid English fare, freshly cooked and attractively presented.

Helpful?
Thank borrum
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to visit and it's very close to Stratford upon Avon by car around 15 minute's drive. The grounds are stunning and the exhibitions it has there are always worth exploring. It never disappoints. Nice cafe with a good selection of food as well.

Helpful?
Thank Max M
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The permanent collection is wonderful and the folk pieces very informative. However a number of the rooms currently given over to the Creating the countryside exhibition - constable, Grayson perry, Hilary jack - excellent curation and thought provoking. Grounds by Capability Brown. Worth a visit in own right

Helpful?
Thank Stephen D
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Compton Verney has lots for visitors of all ages, abilities and interests. It's so much more than an interesting art gallery with varied and beautiful things to see. The grounds and parkland are perfect for relaxing walks, the cafe is great and there's also really tempting shop with an excellent range of good quality gifts. Check the website, there's even... More 

Helpful?
Thank Izzycv32
UK
Level Contributor
561 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017 via mobile

I came to Compton Verney with other researchers to take a closer look at the Chinese Ritual Bronzes Collection. This is a restored British aristocracy manor house turned into a museum set in beautiful grounds containing a medieval ice house. The collection includes reinassance paintings, Christian icons, British portraits & folk art, 18th century "British pop art", ceramics, sketches and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LucyCarvalho

Travellers who viewed Compton Verney also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Compton Verney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Compton Verney and other visitors
6 questions
Ask a question
Trowbridge
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Liverpool, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Compton Verney staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?