We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
A tranquil hidden gem

This is a unique and peaceful garden near the city centre, hidden away behind the Catholic... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Gastronaut1960
,
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
via mobile
Beautiful Hideaway

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at The Plantation Garden. I'm surprised how many reviews have said... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
thekokonuts
,
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Read all 350 reviews
154
All photos (154)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent65%
  • Very good30%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
About
A beautifully restored Victorian garden of 3 acres which is run by volunteers for the benefit of the community. All your entrance fees go the the upkeep of the garden, new plants etc. On Sundays in summer teas are served to musical entertainment...more
Closed Now
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
See all hours
Suggested duration: 1-2 hours
Contact
4 Earlham Road, Norwich NR2 3DB, England
Website
+44 7504 545810
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Norwich
from US$ 16.20
More Info
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
219
107
9
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
219
107
9
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centreroman catholic cathedralearlham roadhidden awaychalk pitrc cathedralold quarryst gileswell worth a visitbeautiful plantsbusy cityinformation boardsfor saletea and cakeentrance feepeaceful placeinteresting history
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 343 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This is a unique and peaceful garden near the city centre, hidden away behind the Catholic Cathedral. Be aware that there is no parking and that the toilets may be locked when you visit if there are no volunteers in attendance. There is limited accessibility...More

Thank Gastronaut1960
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit at The Plantation Garden. I'm surprised how many reviews have said it's so small, we felt quite the opposite. Loved the vast selection of different plants, everything had been so well thought out and visually looked stunning. The whole visit...More

Thank thekokonuts
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you! We're very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

How lovely this garden is with beautiful walls and steps structures. Lovely old tower and lots of different paths. Only £2 to get in but you will be most surprised as we were.

1  Thank Christine F
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're glad you enjoyed your visit Christine and thank you for writing such a nice review.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

was a bit disappointed in the plantation, firstly the toilet was locked ,there were no flowers for sale,and no one to ask about anything.it is very small and the flowers in the garden were looking extremely sad and unkept.More

1  Thank angelajean2018
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

We're very sorry that you didn't enjoy your visit. Our website does explain that the garden is a charitable trust run by volunteers and that we cannot keep the toilets open when no volunteers are present. This is due to vandalism and misuse. There are...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

wow what a garden! its breathtaking when you first walk in.. you would never think this was in norwich!

Thank damiansaunders81
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Ah! We love it when the garden surprises people!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely place to relax or soak up the sun or read a book. Very well kept garden - loads of volunteers working at keeping this gem perfect!

Thank TrineLovheim
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're very glad you enjoyed your visit.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It's near to the cathedral house. Very calm & quite place. People uses to spend time here and it has beautiful architectural buildings. But not much flowers , still beautiful. Entry is free of charge but there's a honestly box of £2.More

Thank oshadhi19
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We're glad you enjoyed the garden. There is an entry fee of £2 per person and we ask people to be honest and pay even when there are no volunteers in the garden. The garden is a charity and money is needed to keep the...More

Reviewed 15 May 2018 via mobile

We walked by and decided to stop in. The Garden is beautiful in May, we can only imagine what it would look like at other times of the year. It has quirky decorations, but beautifully laid out. It closes at 6pm, but check the times...More

1  Thank Vernonia
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2018

I'm glad you discovered us! In high summer the flower beds are gorgeous! Come again soon!

Reviewed 11 May 2018

Novel garden with an interesting history. Honesty box for £2 entrance. Allow an hour for a walk around and a sit down. Longer if you take a picknic. The toilets are only opened during event days & there are no other toilets in the area...More

Thank Mark H
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your review Mark. We hope you enjoyed your visit. There are toilets in the Narthex to the rear of St. John's Cathedral next door which are available when their cafe is open. You're right, it is a pity that there is no...More

Reviewed 8 May 2018

Come and enjoy this wonderful garden offering Peace in the middle of the busy City! Beautiful surroundings and quirky architecture. Cheap to get in, sometimes have refreshments and entertainment - check their website.

Thank JANE SARAH W
ThePlantationGarden, General Manager at The Plantation Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Thank you Jane - what a wonderful advert for the garden. We have a new website coming soon!

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
TravelmumSuffolk
29 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ThePlantationGarden | Property representative |
I'm sorry if you are experiencing difficulty getting a response. If you are the group from WESTERFIELD & DISTRICT GARDENING CLUB, then I hope you have received our reply to your email, sent on 26th June. If you are a... More
0
Votes
Carolapj
3 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from ThePlantationGarden | Property representative |
The Plantation Garden has no parking facilities, but there is a pay and display car park next door at the time of writing. Street parking on Earlham Rd is available on Sundays. There is some limited parking in nearby... More
0
Votes
Paul S
22 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from ThePlantationGarden | Property representative |
For anyone else with the same question, the answer is no, the garden is not suitable for dogs. Sorry. Assistance dogs only.
0
Votes