We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fulham Palace

Fulham Palace Bishops Avenue | Fulham, London SW6 6EA, England
+44 20 7736 3233
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
A lovely place ruined by troubling behaviour

The grounds at Fulham Palace are lovely, and the garden right now is spectacular – a real joy to... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
dashfilms
,
London, United Kingdom
Extremely rude staff

I arranged to meet a friend (with my dog) at Fulham palace gardens we did not notice the 'no dogs... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
kategrierson13
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 110 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
The site of Fulham Palace was occupied during the Neolithic, Iron Age and Roman periods, probably because of its location next to an important Thames crossing. From medieval times the site was encircled by the longest domestic moat in England. You can still see part of the moat at the entrance to the Palace. Since 704 AD Fulham Palace has been the property of the Bishops of London. The Palace was their summer home. The last bishop moved out of Fulham Palace in 1973. Today Fulham Palace is run by Fulham Palace Trust, a registered charity, established in 2011. The Palace botanical gardens, including our recently restored 18th Century Walled Garden, and Drawing Room Cafe are open daily, our museum opens five afternoons a week. Admission to the Palace and its garden is free. The Palace is also a popular venue for school and tour groups and for private events such as weddings, celebrations and corporate events.
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good45%
  • Average8%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
LOCATION
Fulham Palace Bishops Avenue | Fulham, London SW6 6EA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 20 7736 3233
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around London
from US$ 33.70
More Info
from US$ 85.06
More Info
from US$ 42.11
More Info
from US$ 116.80
More Info
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walled garden"
in 26 reviews
"bishops park"
in 6 reviews
"grade listed building"
in 2 reviews
"children's playground"
in 2 reviews
"guided tour"
in 5 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 2 reviews
"steeped in history"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful park"
in 2 reviews
"tudor"
in 12 reviews
"chapel"
in 10 reviews
"picnic"
in 13 reviews
"bridge"
in 12 reviews
"restoring"
in 4 reviews
"planting"
in 2 reviews
"meander"
in 2 reviews
"carvings"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

The grounds at Fulham Palace are lovely, and the garden right now is spectacular – a real joy to stroll through. However, the café has become my wife’s and my Waterloo – with us cast as the French. The café itself is physically a very...More

Thank dashfilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I arranged to meet a friend (with my dog) at Fulham palace gardens we did not notice the 'no dogs' sign on way in. On way in to palace (inorder to use toilet) we were very rudely told no dogs were allowed on any part...More

Thank kategrierson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene F, General Manager at Fulham Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Kate, Thank you for your time in writing your review. I am sorry to hear that you felt you were spoken to rudely. That would not have been any staff members intention. We have large signage boards at each entrance that explains our site...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely space to get some work done. If you need wifi, maybe not the place to sit and do work. However the space takes you away from feeling like you're in a city and there is plenty of lawn space to sit and read. Worth...More

Thank travis b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene F, General Manager at Fulham Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Travis, Thank you for your review, I am glad to hear you enjoyed being at Fulham Palace. Do come and see us again. Arlene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Interesting palace that’s not very big but is a nice day out. Ideal to bring a picnic and sit in the sunshine. There is a cafe at the palace and they serve ice cream which is great for a hot day.

Thank lilexie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My family and I are regular visitors to this attraction - we often come on a Sunday go to the farmers market, use the children sandpit and water area and then have tea and ice cream in the palace gardens and has always been a...More

1  Thank Zoechallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene F, General Manager at Fulham Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Zoe, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your experience at Fulham Palace. I am sorry to hear that your visit was disappointing and not as you would expect. I have received your email and replied just a short while...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Off the main tourist trail for London - Fulham Place has plenty of interest to delight the visitor. Many of the appealing historic features of the gardens including bridge, a small part of of the moat and the walled garden have been sensitively restored. Look...More

Thank AlinaRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

When friends told me we were going to Fulham palace to look how the restoration was going, I was under whelmed... but on seeing the work involved and the scale and detail I was amazed and in turn learning some of its history made this...More

Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018 via mobile

We visited the palace and Bishop’s Park with friends and their young children. There’s lots of interesting history to entertain the adults and the park itself offers lots of opportunities for playing and socialising for the youngsters. Nice attraction and conveniently located for Putney Bridge...More

Thank TheTravellingShickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 8 that had toured the gardens and were having a luncheon in the cafe . The food was excellent , fresh Mediterranean salad with roasted veg and avocado , some people had this with chicken added. Others had quiche and...More

Thank bigveg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene F, General Manager at Fulham Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2018

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted that you had a good visit and that all enjoyed your food in our Drawing Room Cafe. We hope to see you at Fulham Palace again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Fulham Palace was the historical home of the Bishops of London until 1973, and is being restored. Enjoyed looking round the postcard exhibition and had a nice lunch in the Drawing Room Cafe. Particularly liked walking round the walled garden. Would recommend a half day...More

Thank Blondie2969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlene F, Manager at Fulham Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate it and your visit. I am glad you enjoyed your time here, the Walled Garden is coming into bloom for spring/summer. Do visit again later in the year if you are...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 1,085 hotels in London
Premier Inn London Putney Bridge Hotel
2,182 reviews
.46 km away
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
1,469 reviews
1.63 km away
Travelodge London Fulham
569 reviews
1.75 km away
Holiday Inn Express Earls Court
1,771 reviews
1.98 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Fishers Fish and Chips
798 reviews
.35 km away
Sapori Sardi
615 reviews
.39 km away
Pure Indian Cooking
159 reviews
.43 km away
Pappa Ciccia-Fulham High Street
196 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
Craven Cottage
333 reviews
.63 km away
Bishop's Park
75 reviews
.61 km away
St Mary's Church, Putney
11 reviews
.59 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Louis T
14 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from kat1412 | Reviewed this property |
No problem! Its a very safe area and very close to the Putney Bridge tube station. (I live in the close neighourhood)
0
Votes
Google Translation
Beryl P
23 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Isabelle W | Reviewed this property |
Yes, there is a pleasant cafe in the bishop's former drawing room!
0
Votes
Google Translation