We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Share

City Explorer Liverpool
Booking unavailable on TripAdvisor

Want other options you can book now?
335
All photos (335)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent84%
  • Very good13%
  • Average1%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“bus tour”(132 reviews)
“live commentary”(65 reviews)
“hop on hop”(89 reviews)
About
The Open Top City Explorer brings the best of Liverpool to you at an unbeatable price. The tour has been carefully designed to give you the freedom to explore many of Liverpool's top attractions. We have a qualified local tour guide on-board giving...more
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
1-5 Canal Street | Albert dock, Liverpool L20 8AB, England
Website
+44 151 933 2324
Call
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,309 results
Traveller rating
1,097
168
25
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
1,097
168
25
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bus tour live commentary hop on hop guide gary ticket lasts your bearings top deck open top bus hour ticket combined ticket great tour albert dock mersey ferry scouse humour informative tour wonderful city places of interest
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,309 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Huge thanks to Barry and Matt for the tour this afternoon. Very informative and humorous. Great sights of great sites.

Thank Geoff B
Reviewed 4 days ago

The top deck for a grandstand view of the sights. The man who gave the commentary was very knowledgeable and cracked some good jokes.

Thank Peter S
Reviewed 5 days ago

This is a brilliant introduction to Liverpool. It takes around an hour to do the whole tour and takes in most of the sights. Our tour guide was very well informed with lots of little extra titbits to suit her audience. The hop on hop...More

Thank Fran D
Reviewed 6 days ago

A great way to explore the city, being able to hop on and off. We had differen tour guides and they were all very knowledgeable and gave a lot of useful information and interesting facts about the city.

Thank Jaffacakelady
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went on this tour last Friday. At approx 50 minutes, we found this was perfect for an overview of the city. The commentary from 'Mary' was 1st class, with clear information, complementrd by a great sense of humour. Highly recommended

1  Thank Peter D
ann m, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review! We'll pass your compliments on to Mary.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

As with every visit to a city the open top bus tour is a must. We chose this one for two reasons met a really friendly driver unfortunately we did not get his name & he remembered us the next day when we returned from...More

1  Thank annef918
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Tour guide was very knowledgeable and funny! Visited lots of interesting sites and you can hop off at any of them and then catch the bus again later on at a different pick up point. Would definitely use again.

1  Thank Explorer44426347403
ann m, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for the great review.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and friendly and the tour was extremely interesting! Absolutely recommend to everyone looking to learn a little about Liverpool.

1  Thank connierooney1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm actually stood waiting to board but the whole process has been awful!! Ordered tickets on line and they were not recieved. Waited on phone for 30 minutes to be told we had to walk to the echo arena to sort the problem. Waited for...More

Thank lichfieldmom
ann m, General Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review, which I intend to investigate fully with your help. I note that you ordered tickets online - Ticket Quarter manage our ticket sales online so when you say you were on the phone for 30 minutes it was not to us...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall an enjoyable experience. Mersey ‘cruise’ and U-Boat were great. Bus was mixed, commentary not loud enough on one bus and another failed to stop for us on Lord street. However we would recommend the package which was very good value. The Cavern is a...More

1  Thank Christian8469
ann m, Manager at City Explorer Liverpool, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for your review. I'm sorry that you experienced some technical difficulties and I will look into bus not stopping on Lord Street although we often have private hire buses going around; if that's the case, it should have been marked. I'm glad you enjoyed...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 98 nearby hotels
Regent Maritime Hotel
135 reviews
.39 km away
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
4,117 reviews
2.59 km away
Hotel Tia
20 reviews
2.60 km away
Throstles Nest Hotel
553 reviews
2.76 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,976 nearby restaurants
Harrison's Tea Room
26 reviews
.76 km away
L20 Restaurant
101 reviews
.54 km away
North Perk Cafe
47 reviews
.99 km away
Tamarillo
14 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 675 nearby attractions
The Black Pearl New Brighton
325 reviews
2.66 km away
Goodison Park
371 reviews
2.18 km away
The Isla Gladstone Conservatory
79 reviews
2.38 km away
Rice Lane City Farm
36 reviews
2.40 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Ernie B
19 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from Ash6girl | Reviewed this property |
Yes
0
Votes
682marycm
8 September 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from campochica | Reviewed this property |
Hi Mary, The tours are from 10am until 4.30pm. I'm not 100% sure but maybe outside the Adelphi Hotel or the library would be your nearest pick up. The staff at the hotel should know. I would strongly advise visiting the... More
0
Votes
Jill A
17 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from slboy | Reviewed this property |
Yes and on some tours the ticket is valid for 24 hours from the time purchased , so you can if you like , ( I went on a tour at 5 pm , on a Tuesday , so my ticket was valid till the Wednesday at 5 pm ,, so could of used it... More
0
Votes