We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Do not make eye contact

I really dig this place. Its way cool and I get a buzz from looking at all the old photos and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
kevbutnobacon
,
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
Very caring people

I left my mobile near the bench on the roadside whilst out cycling 12 miles from home. Phoned... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Compass721290
Read all 82 reviews
15
All photos (15)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“fish chips”(8 reviews)
“pot of tea”(6 reviews)
About
We are a private museum within the village of Bardney with Bed & Breakfast, Cycle Hire, Fish & Chips and an in House Café.
Contact
123 Station Road | Bardney, Lincoln LN3 5UF, England
Website
+44 1526 397299
Call
Improve This Listing
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
58
17
5
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
58
17
5
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish chips pot of tea cooked to perfection bike ride old railway ideal stop toilet door nice friendly staff woodhall spa engine shed excellent place to visit surrounding area cakes well worth a visit carriage wagon platform
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

I really dig this place. Its way cool and I get a buzz from looking at all the old photos and memorabilia from bygone days in the village. Drink good. Food good. Service good. I do have one word of warning though. Its a small...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank kevbutnobacon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I left my mobile near the bench on the roadside whilst out cycling 12 miles from home. Phoned Bardney Heritage Centre on the off chance, although not open went and found my phone and kept it safe for me to collect later. What great people...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Compass721290
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

An unusual café with a railway theme. Nice friendly staff. Had coffees, ice cream and cakes. The fruit cake was lovely. Reasonably priced. It is in a good location for cycling or walking on the water rail way and one of few cafes on the...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank TarkanFan
Reviewed 10 October 2018 via mobile

Been going here for a long time, but it's always a lovely experience. Partner is disabled but the owner does all he can to help. Had a friend who's a train but and she stayed in one of the BnB carriages and loved it. Been...More

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank arragwen
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

Recently visited and absolutely loved the staff, the food and the heritage centre itself. We stayed in on of the carriages and sadly it wasn't clean, no hand soap , loo roll and a kettle but no tea making kit! Would 100% return for fish...More

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank cowface1
Reviewed 11 August 2018

The converted carriage we stayed in was very dirty.Firstly,I spotted the dirty toilet and mat,clearly not changed or cleaned in a long time.I sought out the man who had greeted us and invited him to look at the state of the bathroom.He said,I must tell...More

Date of experience: July 2018
2  Thank gabriellariley
Reviewed 14 July 2018

Second visit here today on a bike ride with my daughter, staff are absolutely lovely, we had a filled roll each which was delicious and served in the most friendly manner, must say the fish and chips looked really good but would have slowed us...More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Geoff B
Lynne G, Owner at Bardney Heritage Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Many thanks for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit. Many thanks Lyn

Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Stumbled upon this place while looking for somewhere to have breakfast. As we pulled into the car park we were greeted by the resident cat with a dead bunny in its mouth 😔 I understand this is what happens when you have cats but it...More

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank carrieh521
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

Had fish and chips delivered from the heritage centre for the first time yesterday 😁👌 And we were not disappointed...couldn’t fault the customer service we received too!! 😍😋 Will not be going anywhere else now we’ve discovered this beauty!! Will specify next time that 2...More

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Rebecca D
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

With the centre sitting on the Water Rail Way it’s an ideal stop for both walkers and cyclists. The cafe is open from 10 and served the normal excellent mix of teas coffees and snacks. Being Gluten Free I brought along my own bun and...More

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank AATommy
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 17 nearby hotels
Petwood Hotel
1,291 reviews
9.50 km away
Washingborough Hall Country House Hotel
919 reviews
9.59 km away
Branston Hall Hotel
1,227 reviews
10.01 km away
The INN at Woodhall Spa
472 reviews
10.14 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 547 nearby restaurants
The Old Angel Inn Bardney
47 reviews
.78 km away
The Carpenters Arms
240 reviews
6.96 km away
The Open Door
15 reviews
.65 km away
White Horse Inn
22 reviews
3.63 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 171 nearby attractions
Fiskerton Fen
7 reviews
3.71 km away
Pottergate Golf Club
13 reviews
5.79 km away
Holly Tree Soft Play
47 reviews
7.21 km away
Woodside Wildlife Park
516 reviews
7.37 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
melaniecol
30 June 2018|
Answer
Response from Lynne G | Property representative |
Hi we are at the moment open from Tuesday through to Sunday opening hours are 10.00am to 4.00pm plus Friday evening 5.00pm to 7.30pm for fish & chips. Many thanks for your enquiry
0
Votes
elly d
10 April 2015|
Answer
Response from Lynne G | Property representative |
Hi please give us a ring for tariffs and availability.
0
Votes