We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
A day trip to France

We were recently on the ferry to calais, then the return journey to Dover, we were visiting France... read more

Reviewed yesterday
sandrac58
,
Sunderland, United Kingdom
via mobile
Club Lounge

My experience of this was pretty good as the club lounge was quiet and restful. A glass of... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
trisha222016
,
Manchester, United Kingdom
Read all 1,118 reviews
319
All photos (319)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent31%
  • Very good35%
  • Average14%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“mini cruise”(48 reviews)
“the club lounge”(38 reviews)
“foot passengers”(35 reviews)
About
Go on a little adventure with our Day Trip To France and drive off the ferry at Calais to enjoy a whole day away with your family and friends to explore the true beauty of France. Calais and the Hauts-de-France region of northern France are just a...more
Suggested duration: < 1 hour
Contact
Eastern Docks, Dover CT16 1JA, England
Website
+44 1304 448888
Call
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Dover
from US$ 85.00
More Info
from US$ 549.10
More Info
Reviews (1,118)
Filter reviews
1,002 results
Traveller rating
321
318
143
102
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
321
318
143
102
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini cruise the club lounge foot passengers club class brasserie restaurant earlier ferry bunk beds the duty free shop glass of champagne through passport control hull bruges crossing france berth disembarking terminal
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,002 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

We were recently on the ferry to calais, then the return journey to Dover, we were visiting France for the day. The ferries are very well organised, smooth transition on and off the ferries. On board, once you leave the coach, you go upstairs. Plenty...More

Thank sandrac58
Reviewed 5 days ago

My experience of this was pretty good as the club lounge was quiet and restful. A glass of champagne was offered at the beginning of the trip across the English Channel which went down well. A bit sad that the waiting staff weren’t particularly friendly...More

Thank trisha222016
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thanks for the review and your feedback, we will forward this to the relevant team as we value all the feedback we receive. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed almost all aspects of your trip with us and we look forward to seeing you again...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a friend purchased foot-passenger only tickets from P&O Ferries directly for Dover to Calais and back. It went well until after we had paid there was a notice that we needed to be at the ferry port a minimum of 60 minutes prior...More

Thank jfousek
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our service. Rest assured that this does not reflect our usual service standards. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we thrive to improve our products and services...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Booked a day trip with 6 free bottles of wine offer direct off an email from P&O. Offer code WINE18. Booked October 29th 2018, travelled November 6th 2918 all within the offer conditions. Checked in at Dover, boarded ferry when we tried to collect the...More

Thank je-views
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Good morning I'm very sorry to see this has happened. Please can you contact customer services at customer.services@poferries.com and we'll look into this for you and see what we can do. Best regards, Shakira

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a day trip to France the port of Dover is going through some major changes but all went smoothly and my experience was a good one and the P&O staff were very friendly, knowledgeable and happy to help great day trip was had by...More

Thank RobMauns
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Rob Many thanks for writing a review. We're pleased you had a great day trip. We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon! Best, Shakira

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived at ferry terminal departure area with one hour to spare as requested when booking to be told by the lady on the P & O desk that we were lucky the bus had not gone yet and that usually they would of turned us...More

Thank russell D
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Russel, Many thanks for leaving a review. We sincerely apologise for the miscommunication. Check in for foot passengers closes 60 mins prior to departure. Despite this, we're pleased you still had a good experience and would travel with us in the future. I wish...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was not looking forward to crossing but very impressed with politeness of staff ,cleanliness of ferry and food .informed time of booking that had limited mobility and parked next to lift both ways

Thank Kathy W
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Kathy Thank you for writing a review. We're thrilled to read that you had a great experience. We hope to welcome you on board again some day. Best Wishes, Shakira

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great from start to finish, this is definitely the best of all the shops we’ve been on for our annual mini cruise trips. It’s clean, huge, newly refurbished, well it feels that way. Cabins same on all. Food amazing, staff amazing, shops great. Choice of...More

Thank jaynem528
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

That's just the sort of review we love to read! Rotterdam is a really lovely city and we're pleased to offer the opportunity for people to travel there in a more relaxed and immersive manner. We're glad you enjoyed your trip & hope to welcome...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recent trip to Bruge - could not fault staff, service, food. Very good breakfast and dinner in The Kitchen. Good value at £40 each return (without food). Have to mention the TINY standard cabin though. Did not feel safe climbing onto the top bunk via...More

Thank yorkshire2010_10
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We are really sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our cabins/drink prices. Thank you for sharing your experience with us; we have forwarded your feedback as we thrive to improve our products and services continuously. Other than that we're glad that you were...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a coach tour which involved crossing the Channel by ferry. I paid for the Club lounge as, on a previous trip, found it difficult to find a seat and was promised a guaranteed seat. On the outbound journey the lounge was spacious and...More

Thank JoyceFf
PANDO_Ferries, Customer Communications Officer at P&O Ferries - Day Trips, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Joyce Thanks for leaving feedback. We're really sorry you were disappointed with the service on your return trip. Rest assured that we will look into this. Best Wishes, Shakira P&O Ferries Customer Communications Officer

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 10 nearby hotels
Loddington House
157 reviews
.16 km away
Premier Inn Dover Central (Eastern Ferry Terminal) Hotel
2,174 reviews
.46 km away
Travelodge Dover
229 reviews
.78 km away
Best Western Plus Dover Marina Hotel & Spa
1,428 reviews
1.02 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 185 nearby restaurants
The White Horse
464 reviews
.68 km away
Il Rustico
408 reviews
.96 km away
Dinos Italian Restaurant
371 reviews
.88 km away
Aspendos Dover
95 reviews
.95 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 107 nearby attractions
Fan Bay Deep Shelter
192 reviews
.70 km away
White Cliffs of Dover
2,482 reviews
1.12 km away
Dover Castle
5,371 reviews
.56 km away
Dover Museum
211 reviews
1.00 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Daydream47071517167
5 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris P | Reviewed this property |
Also have not been on that route
0
Votes
Justyna F
4 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from A1594UKdavids | Reviewed this property |
Not sure about which boat but I used to have awful sea sickness and I now get scopolamine patches from my doctor and they are brilliant.
1
Vote
Ceebeegee
9 June 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from achan34 | Reviewed this property |
All the P&O ferries are maintained to a high standard for facilities. On night crossing not all facilities are available. Recommend the brasserie for a relaxing meal.
0
Votes