We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Historic Dockyard Chatham

Church Lane, Chatham ME4 4TZ, England
+44 1634 823800
Website
Save
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 29.07*
and up
The Historic Dockyard Chatham Annual Ticket
More Info
US$ 21.14*
and up
Call the Midwife Location Tour in Chatham
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Steeped in history, The Historic Dockyard Chatham is home to historic warships, a working Ropery, museum galleries and hundreds of compelling stories.
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good22%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“rope making” (179 reviews)
“hms ocelot” (69 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 18:00
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Church Lane, Chatham ME4 4TZ, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1634 823800
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
Reviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 370 of 1,690 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2016

The historic dockyard had got the submarines which are just cool.Person like myself have never seen the interiors of submarine or naval ships.The kids were excited as well.So if you are excited to see battleships go for itMore

Thank Sanjay C
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Sanjay C Thank you for the review from your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham. Great to hear that you enjoyed exploring the submarine HM Ocelot and HMS Cavalier & HMS Gannet. - Our timed tour of the submarine allows you to experience...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Been three times to this venue with my grandsons. They enjoyed so did I. Some walking involved and the ships to visit require a degree of agility especially the submarine. Plenty to keep children active. Also pay once and visit all year.More

Thank Kenneth K
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Kenneth Thank you for your review from your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham. Lovely to hear that you have been three times already! Yes the submarine does entail a degree of agility - our tour guides make this clear before entering HM...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Overall a really good time out with the RNLI history, ropemaking tour and picked up some beer when found Nelson Brewery on site. Very disappointed about the length of time for getting in and attitude of certain staff members. We'd booked online and then had...More

1  Thank Lorna C
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Thank you for your review from your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham, Glad to hear that you had a good day here exploring the Ropery and the RNLI exhibition. However it’s disappointing to read that your ticketing service was a negative experience. Our...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

We had a really good day out, lots to see and. Do loved the. Ropery, the sub ,and the whole place . We live in Chatham, and we would go again .

Thank merritt402
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Merritt402 Thank you for your 5* review from your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham. So great to hear that you loved exploring the whole site! Hope to see you again soon to discover areas that you may have missed.

Reviewed 23 August 2016

As a female senior woman I went here because of the Call the Midwife tour as the TV program filmed a lot of their scenes at the dockyard. Although the tour was outstanding - there is so much more to see here! The Ropery tour...More

Thank cheerieone
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Cheerieone Thank you for your 5* review from your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham. Great to hear that you enjoyed the Call the Midwife tour and that you were able to explore the rest of the site! Thank you for your ind...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

We went on Sunday 21st August , I myself not having been here since I was at school could not wait to go on the 2 ships and the submarine amongst other things, I took my nearly 5 year old nephew , my wife ,...More

Thank TonyWolfe357
Reviewed 23 August 2016

I took my grand-nephew here for a day out as a last-minute replacement for a day in London which had to be cancelled because of the train strike and I have to say we were not disappointed. Initially I thought there would not be enough...More

Thank Ashleyj
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Ashleyj Thank you for your 5* review form your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham. So pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here and that your grandson liked exploring the submarine! Yes our tickets are valid for 12 months from date...More

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Even though the museum only covers a small part of the area of the dockyards as they were, it is still an extensive site so be prepared for walking outdoors. There is so much to see that you really need a full day to begin...More

Thank Tony67967
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear Tony Thank you for your 5* review from your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham, Yes it is an is amazing value for what you can see and do here, even for a day trip too! Upon arrival you have the options of...More

Reviewed 22 August 2016

We visited this wonderful place not knowing what to expect. However from the time we parked the car and entered we were both blown away by this historical place. Boats, submarines, rope making and so much more were on offer. We spent 4 hours and...More

Thank caro1NorfolkEngland
Historic C, Public Relations Manager at The Historic Dockyard Chatham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2016

Dear caro1NorfolkEngland Thank you for your 5* review from your recent trip to The Historic Dockyard Chatham. So glad to hear that you were surprised and impressed with what we have to offer here! Great to hear you kind comments on Sam from the ropery...More

Reviewed 22 August 2016

This visit was well worth the entry fee, every where you look there is so much to see. The rope making tour was very interesting and very well presented by the tour guide. Amazing that so much of the old and original machinery was still...More

1  Thank Francis S
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cool Beans Coffee & Bistro
64 reviews
.57 km away
Villagio Ristorante
361 reviews
.58 km away
Boomers
137 reviews
.59 km away
Creams Cafe
445 reviews
.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Royal Engineers Museum
172 reviews
.77 km away
Fort Amherst
229 reviews
1.12 km away
Upnor Castle
269 reviews
1.14 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
kimmy12CambridgeUK
17 April 2017|
Answer Show all 6 answers
Response from Kathleen C | Reviewed this property |
Hello, visited Chatham Dock Yard with a group, suggest you contact them by telephone and ask if you can mix the transaction. Hope this helps...K
0
Votes
Len P
17 September 2016|
Answer Show all 9 answers
Response from grandma648 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you can bring your dog and I am sure it would be very welcome but having your dog would inhibit your day as you would be limited. I would weigh up the pros and cons.
0
Votes
danm1979
15 August 2016|
Answer Show all 11 answers
Response from kaz1Kent | Reviewed this property |
yor i phone is ok to
0
Votes