We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tudor House and Garden

Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
+44 23 8083 4242
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Was ok I suppose

Not terribly interesting. The building has been well restored but there isn't a great deal to look... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
serbat2264
,
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Excellent

All round excellent experience. Thoroughly entertained. Thoroughly educated. Excellent audio guide... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Morgan R
,
Nottingham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 487 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Tudor House gives a unique and atmospheric insight into the lives and times of both its residents through the years, and of Southampton itself. It appeals to visitors of all ages and interests, who find the family-friendly activities, interactive technology and fascinating displays a winning combination.
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“audio guide” (30 reviews)
“banqueting hall” (12 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
LOCATION
Bugle Street | St Michael's Square, Southampton SO14 2AD, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 23 8083 4242
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Not terribly interesting. The building has been well restored but there isn't a great deal to look at once inside. I had thought that the rooms would be furnished in the Tudor style but most of the rooms were empty. Was ok for a look...More

1  Thank serbat2264
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

All round excellent experience. Thoroughly entertained. Thoroughly educated. Excellent audio guide book as well. So much information I feel like I’m a tudor xx

Thank Morgan R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well worth a look round and going back into the tudor times with artifacts and a beautiful house. It is down a side street and parking was limited - lucky to find a parking space. There is a church opposite worth going in as well,...More

Thank MariaD48pink
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was close to our hotel and we thought it was a good place to visit. We were not disappointed and found Tudor House very interesting. On entry we were given an audio tour guide for both the house and garden however the tour started...More

Thank Richard D
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Took my family during Halloween special event. My children had an amazing time really educational but in such a fun way that kept both my 7 and 8 year old entertained. Staff were brilliant welcoming and friendly. As it was Halloween half term lots of...More

Thank Mike C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This was an interesting place to visit! When you enter you are given a hand held audio guide which you use to throughout the house and garden. You are shown to a room with an audio introduction which was different but interesting.. As you continue...More

Thank kmmgem
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a good place to visit. Stopped off here during my walk the City Walls. The introduction was very good and informative about the house's history. I then used the audio tour. My personal preference would be the information about the room etc, rather...More

Thank ianrwilliams62
Reviewed 15 October 2017

With over 800 years of history The Tudor House has a lot to offer.it is an incredible looking building which has been fully restored with great interactive displays. Dating back to the 1400s it has a fascinating history with lovely period rooms showing recently restored...More

Thank Pauline B
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

If you are interested in Tudor history, these buildings have been lovingly restored. Interactive tours, full audio. Lots to see and contemplate. We don't 90 minutes. Don't miss the bomb shelter in the basement.. From WWII.

Thank rockyisle
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Good place to start seeing old Southampton, before visiting the walls and God's House Tower. Informative and we'll renovated. Nice gardens in fine weather, which we were lucky to have for our entire fortnight in the area.

Thank Marydon2013
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coriander Lounge
1,473 reviews
.16 km away
The Dancing Man Brewery
547 reviews
.24 km away
Duke of Wellington
408 reviews
.09 km away
La lupa
403 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby Attractions
Red Funnel Ferries
1,387 reviews
.39 km away
Southampton Town Walls
322 reviews
.07 km away
Westquay
307 reviews
.33 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
edwardwoodward147
11 February 2017|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
Yes we do allow free entry at both Tudor House & Garden as well as SeaCity to our retail and catering areas. With Tudor House we have the seating area in the garden so access is allowed, if you wouldn't mind letting the... More
2
Votes
Patricia A
29 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Alohanuiloa | Reviewed this property |
Ticket Type Ticket Tariff Adult ticket £5.00 per ticket (2 adults,3 children) £13.75 per ticket Child 5yrs and over £4.00 per ticket Over 60s and Students £4.00 per ticket
1
Vote
Google Translation
speakeasy10
18 September 2015|
Answer
Response from SeaCity_Museum | Property representative |
We do have a French translated leaflet which covers the visitor experience in a basic detail but the visuals of the house, imagery and architecture are an experience in themselves.
1
Vote