We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Red Funnel Ferries

Open Now: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Open today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Review Highlights
Last minute trip to isle of wight

Red funnel ferries are an excellent choice , on time , easy boarding access,pleasant staff and off... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Trish R
Southampton to Cowes

Easy check in. Pleasant crossing. Comfortable seating. What’s not to like about a ferry crossing... read more

Reviewed yesterday
S1884ZLjont
via mobile
Read all 1,697 reviews
395
All photos (395)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good29%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
“isle of wight”(521 reviews)
“earlier ferry”(80 reviews)
“car ferry”(79 reviews)
About
Red Funnel has a proud history of serving the Isle of Wight since 1820, carrying 3.4 million passengers to the Island each year. We have won awards for safety, innovation & service including Certificates of Excellence from Trip Advisor every year...more
Open Now
Hours Today: 8:00 AM - 7:00 PM
See all hours
Contact
Terminal 1 Town Quay | Dock Gate 7, Southampton SO14 2AQ, England
Website
+44 23 8001 9192
Call
Improve This Listing
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southampton
from US$ 78.90
More Info
Reviews (1,697)
Filter reviews
1,672 results
Traveller rating
918
487
138
70
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
918
487
138
70
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews isle of wight earlier ferry car ferry red jet foot passengers red falcon wight link loading and unloading signature lounge priority boarding hour crossing top deck return journey day trip ferry service both ways efficient service
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 1,672 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Red funnel ferries are an excellent choice , on time , easy boarding access,pleasant staff and off peak prices amazing ,

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Trish R
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Easy check in. Pleasant crossing. Comfortable seating. What’s not to like about a ferry crossing. The captain even pointed out the cruise liners that were leaving Southampton as we came back to the mainland.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank S1884ZLjont
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Too few crossings, long waits, ferries late(both sailings in one day). Five-star prices for one-star service. Really poor.

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Jeremy E
Reviewed 3 days ago

I enjoyed my ferry trip to the Isle of Wight. Its comfortable & very efficient. The staff are very helpful too. A nice relaxing journey there & back. The only downside is the price it costs way too much !!!More

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Angelonatrip
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Dear Angelonatrip, Thank you for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the level of service received on board, however I am sorry you feel our prices are too expensive, and acknowledge your sentiments in what is an extremely emotive...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lasagne (which was cold): "can i have roast potatoes instead of chips?". Ooh, big decision from staff after initial answer of No, it comes with chips! Salad was only soggy tomatoes and cucumber, well beyond it's best (no lettuce or garnish). No other choice "allowed"....More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank grottyyotty
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear Grottyyotty, As a customer, what you think is very important to us and we much appreciate your valuable feedback. We'll ensure your comments are passed onto our Food & Beverage team to review the display boards. We have an On Board Service Officer aboard...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Red Funnel I have always found to be very good, however my last 2 trips have been extremely disappointing. Another journey of spending 25 mins in a queue for hot food only to find no tables to sit and eat at. To witness people walking...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank Emma100674
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Emma100674 Firstly, may I offer an apology for the fact that on this occasion, our service did not reach your expectations. We are aware that during busy periods seating is at an optimum, particularly if the weather is unpleasant as a large percentage of...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Writing this while on board. Booked and paid online well in advance but due to our car being one of the last to board there were no seats for us to sit down anywhere other than outside in the rain. This is terrible business. Of...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank SianiWms
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear SianiWms, Customer satisfaction is one of our highest priorities so it is a shame to read that we have not met your expectations. We are aware that during very busy periods seating is at an optimum, particularly if the weather is unpleasant as a...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

There's never anywhere to sit if you arrive on time or slightly late, lots of solo travellers taking up 4 seats by putting their bag or feet up. Food needs much improvement, very greasy and no healthy options. Ferry does run on time though if...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank 966melaniem
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 966melaniem Thank you for leaving your review, we are deeply sorry we have not met your expectations. Your comments, however, are surprising to us, as we have a Supervisor onboard every ship who circulates around the cabin at the start of the crossing, asking...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked with Red Funnel which was one of about 3 or 4 options of crossing to the Isle of Wight from the Hampshire mainland. It suited us best as it docked at East Cowes which was the area we wanted to visit. You may...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Tony H
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tony H Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with us. From Southampton you can travel on the Vehicle ferry or our Red Jet service which is a hi-speed service for foot passengers only and takes approx 25 minutes. I'm...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We travelled to and from the isle of Wight (from Southampton to Cowes) on Red Funnel. It was a very smooth and efficient operation, from booking to boarding. I booked on-line (from Australia) a couple of months in advance. They took a deposit from my...More

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank seagullrob
RF_CustomerServices, Manager at Red Funnel Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Seagullrob, Thank you for the great review. Your comments are exactly what we like to hear. We are delighted that you could take advantage of using one of our easy payment plans and also benefitted from booking your attraction tickets through us from as...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 27 nearby hotels
room2 Southampton
175 reviews
.41 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
2,336 reviews
.44 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1,844 reviews
.46 km away
Holiday Inn Southampton
1,429 reviews
.46 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 963 nearby restaurants
Kuti's Brasserie
81 reviews
.16 km away
BAYLEAF kitchen
322 reviews
.17 km away
Everest Cuisine
601 reviews
.33 km away
Ennio's
855 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 289 nearby attractions
Hythe Ferry
565 reviews
.23 km away
Tudor House and Garden
556 reviews
.26 km away
Southampton Town Walls
375 reviews
.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Paula C
8 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Paula, All journeys either by rail or on our ferry services are printed on the one ticket, no need to pick up another one.
0
Votes
Bear_Claire86
29 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Bear_Claire86 Thanks for the question, if you would like to be one of the first vehicles on and off the ferry (reducing the overall time of the crossing) we would recommend purchasing priority loading. Not only that... More
0
Votes
Rachel S
29 December 2017|
Answer
Response from RF_CustomerServices | Property representative |
Hello Rachel, Sorry for the late reply. In future if you have any questions that need an instant answer please do not hesitate to give us a call on 02380 019192, or alternatively reach out to us by Facebook or Twitter and... More
0
Votes