We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries

Gunwharf Road, Portsmouth PO1 2LA, England
+44 333 999 7333
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Staff very helpful

Last Friday visited friends whom dwell in Shorwell via Portsmouth to Fishbourne. The crossing out... read more

Reviewed yesterday
anita386aa
,
Brighton, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice way to get to the Isle of Wight

We had a very relaxing trip across the channel from Portsmouth to the Isle of Wight and back. The... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
csarchibald
,
San Marcos, California
Read all 1,242 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Wightlink is the leading cross-Solent ferry operator carrying almost five million holidaymakers and Islanders to the Isle of Wight every year. Whether travelling by foot in just over 20 minutes or by car in under 45 minutes, Wightlink’s modern, comfortable fleet of eight ferries sailing on three routes (Portsmouth-Ryde, Portsmouth-Fishbourne and Lymington-Yarmouth) provide Island-wide coverage year round. With a variety of attractions, heritage properties, endless sandy beaches, cycle paths and walking routes all set within quaint villages and towns, the Isle of Wight promises an experience like no other. And Wightlink Ferries is the way to travel, with more ferries, more routes, and more sailings than any other operator. Stepping on board a Wightlink ferry is the perfect way to start and end your Island journey.
  • Excellent41%
  • Very good27%
  • Average12%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible12%
Travellers talk about
“earlier ferry” (65 reviews)
“isle of wight” (280 reviews)
“car ferry” (51 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
Hours Today: 05:00 - 00:00
LOCATION
Gunwharf Road, Portsmouth PO1 2LA, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 333 999 7333
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Last Friday visited friends whom dwell in Shorwell via Portsmouth to Fishbourne. The crossing out really smooth and was lovely watching the classic cars load. Great that canines can sit with you. The return Journey was quite empty and going against the tide so some...More

Thank anita386aa
Reviewed 4 days ago

We had a very relaxing trip across the channel from Portsmouth to the Isle of Wight and back. The staff were friendly and courteous. We bought food from the onboard cafe and enjoyed it as we travelled across the channel. Beautiful views and when we...More

Thank csarchibald
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi casrchibald I'm so pleased you had a relaxing sailing and enjoyed the view when travelling with us. As well as ships and boats, the sailing passes sea forts, harbour defences as well as other landmarks visible on the shore, so there's always something to...More

Reviewed 4 days ago

Everything ran like clockwork and we had a good time on both crossings. The weather helped as it was ideal for watching the other shipping. First time using the 'fixed upstairs' loading. How clever and efficient!More

Thank TertiaHastings
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded today

Hi TertiaHastings Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you liked our new double-deck loading. We've been using it for just over a month now and it has really helped us. It also makes boarding easier for our customers as they no longer need to...More

A TripAdvisor Member
85
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We used wightlink ferries to and from Portsmouth to Fishbourne and found the staff and facilities both before and on the crossing really good and would recommend to anyone to use them

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello We're so pleased you'd recommend us. Do travel with us again soon ....

Reviewed 5 days ago

a very relaxed ferry ride to and from the isle of wight.it can get very busy in the summer months but work is under way to improve this

Thank Simon R
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Simon I'm so glad you found sailing with us to and from the Isle of Wight so relaxing. I do hope you'll travel with us again soon. Thanks for writing your review - it is much appreciated!

Reviewed 6 days ago

As a company with a poor reputation for customer service, I felt disgusted today when I noticed them advertising a 4.5/5 rating on trip adviser, something I highly doubted and after checking noticed it was 3.5/5. SO THE COMPANY HAS FAKED THEIR RATING AND GLOATED...More

Thank Dominic D
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Dominic Thank you for your review. Our Lymington to Yarmouth route’s TripAdvisor page score is currently at 4.5 and has received a Certificate of Excellence for consistently high scores, though regrettably our Portsmouth to Fishbourne route is currently rated at 3.5 by TripAdvisor reviewers....More

Reviewed 6 days ago

The journey to Isle of Wight by car ferry was arranged by Warners, where we were to stay for 2 weeks holiday in August. Warners did the booking and sent the ticket by email with a discount. Coming to the car ferry is easy as...More

Thank Jessamine28
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Jessamine28 Just a quick note to thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed sailing with us, and I hope it isn't too long before we can welcome you on board again.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We turned up early and surpisingly there were no delays. However when on the boat the boat in front of us broke down so we were left stranded at sea like pirates and a young man had to walk the plank. However on the way...More

Thank tingemeister
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello tingemeister I'm very sorry your journeys with us were delayed. It sounds like you'd be entitled to compensation. Simply complete the form on the 'contact us' page of our website. I do hope you'll travel with us again, so we can go someway to...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a taken a short break to the island but had to return early, Wightlink arranged this and on arrival at Fishbourne the staff put us on the Ferry first and whilst crossing looked after us, because of my wife's condition the captain allowed...More

Thank john43palmer
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi John Thank you so much for your kind words. Our teams will always do their best to help and we'll be very happy to pass on your thanks. I do hope that your wife is feeling better.

Reviewed 1 week ago

1st time using the Lymington to Yarmouth Wightlink ferry for our weeks holiday on the Isle of Wight. All the staff were friendly and the crossing was pleasurable. Thank you for this experience and we will using this route again.

Thank Jan N
Wightlink, Guest Relations Manager at Wightlink Isle of Wight Ferries, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jan I'm so glad you enjoyed travelling on our picturesque Lymington route. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you on board again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Abarbistro
642 reviews
.14 km away
Brasserie Blanc
1,167 reviews
.26 km away
Las Iguanas
777 reviews
.25 km away
Loch Fyne - Portsmouth
1,779 reviews
.22 km away
Nearby Attractions
Spinnaker Tower
4,020 reviews
.38 km away
Gunwharf Quays
2,034 reviews
.33 km away
Old Portsmouth
394 reviews
.39 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
HilsRedditch
19 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Edgar D | Reviewed this property |
No duty free just sandwich bar for your drinks, coffee just to satisfy your 40min trip!
0
Votes
Natasha T
13 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Wightlink | Property representative |
Hi Natasha Thanks for your question. Shanklin is on the east of the Island. If you're travelling on foot then you can get a train down to Shanklin using our catamaran service from Portsmouth Harbour train station to Ryde... More
0
Votes
chiversStaffs
15 December 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Wightlink | Property representative |
Hello ChiversStaff I'm sorry to read you've been having problems with your car. We take millions of vehicles and, ofcourse, some will break down on our ferries just as they would on the road. However, I think it's fair to... More
0
Votes