We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Le Vignoble

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: Royal William Yard | Royal William Yard, Plymouth PL1 3RP, England
Phone Number: +44 1752 222892
Website
Today
12:00 - 00:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Mon - Thu 12:00 - 23:30
Fri - Sat 12:00 - 00:00
Description:

Wine Lounge, Wine Retailer, Wine Education.

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 144 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 112
    Excellent
  • 20
    Very good
  • 7
    Average
  • 1
    Poor
  • 2
    Terrible
21st birthday gathering

Had a very enjoyable evening. Great selection of wines at various prices. The credit card system ensures you are always aware of what you have spent. We sat outside where the... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 July 2016
scottie354
,
Plymouth, United Kingdom
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

144 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 142: English reviews
Callington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Popped in for quick lunch of mixed charcuterie and cheese platter with a glass of wine.Platter was good but wine was distinctively average. Would have expected a better quality from an establishment which is primarily a wine merchant.

Helpful?
Thank OSCARCornwall
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Le Vignoble. I apologise that you were not happy with your wine, I wish we had known at the time as we certainly would have helped you find the wine which was right for you. We spend a lot of time sourcing wines to suit all tastes and budgets and currently have... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable evening. Great selection of wines at various prices. The credit card system ensures you are always aware of what you have spent. We sat outside where the friendly staff brought out a few throws to take away the chill. Finished the evening with probably the finest and smoothest glass of Port my friend and I have... More 

Helpful?
Thank scottie354
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing such a kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your birthday and the experience you had with us. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2016

Nice wine with the good service , Relax outside with the sofa , meat broad was nice but very thiny slice !!

Helpful?
Thank Pimm_88
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review, we hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,394 reviews
385 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 809 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2016 via mobile

We were recommended this place by the nearby coffee shop at the end of our day's walking part of the SWCP. They serve a few good ales in bottles, but more importantly they have a novel way of dispensing their good selection of wines where you use a 'credit card' to take the amount you want from the bottles on... More 

Helpful?
Thank GrumpsDC
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review of Le Vignoble. We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us after your walk and hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2016 via mobile

If you are a lover of fine wines then this is the place for you. The self service dispensers are an excellent way to enable you to try a selection of wines before making a choice. The taster evenings are worth the money and great for socialising. Reserve a table during the weekend though to avoid disappointment. Yannick is often... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Matrix316
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review, its great to hear such good comments as they are a reward for the hard work the team put in. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Lymington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2016 via mobile

I've visited before but each visit, this place gets better Great selection of wines to either buy and take home or as I've done, stay and enjoy the great atmosphere What I love about Le Vignoble, it allows me to try new wines, without buying a whole glass..... Can't speak highly enough and the young French owner , is extremely... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Boss17
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Hi Boss17, thank you for writing such a lovely review. Your comments are appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Solihull
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2016

Visited here on Sunday pm, before having dinner at the French bistro next door...and left a little disappointed. Positives - the location is great, the Royal William yard is an interesting place to visit just on its own, so if you can combine with dinner/drinks, all the better. The setting of Le Vignoble is slightly quirky in that this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank SJTravel242
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Hi SJTravel242, thank you for taking the time to review Le Vignoble, I am disappointed not to have heard more positive comments. Firstly I would like to apologise that you went away feeling disappointed, I am sure you can see from the majority of our other reviews that this is rare. The gentleman that you mention was myself, and I... More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Had a drink in here before our meal on Saturday night. Such a great system where you have a card given to you and pay at the end. The wines are all monitored to a machine and once you put your card in, you choose which wine you would like. You can go for a taster, around the £1-£2 mark,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sjabena
Hampshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2016

A group of us who meet regularly for amateur wine tasting arranged a trip to Le Vignoble. We had a great time! Yannick is an entertaining host, but most importantly a very knowledgeable host, who is also a great communicator. He started the afternoon with a great explanation about the theory of wine making which gave us some extra knowledge... More 

Helpful?
Thank stuartthefarmer
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, I am delighted you enjoyed your afternoon and look forward to welcoming you back again soon to discover some new wines. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2016 via mobile

Such a lovely little wine bar, love the fact that you can choose your own wine based on your budget. Had such a good selection of wines, I started on £3.50 a glass and ended up on a glass of desert wine to finish off for around £11. The lower prices wine was lovely and much better quality than you'd... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mat B
Yannick L, Owner at Le Vignoble, responded to this review

Thank you for writing such a positive review. Its great to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Travellers who viewed Le Vignoble also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Le Vignoble? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Le Vignoble and other visitors
7 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Devon
Devon
over a year ago
Buckingham
over a year ago
Buckingham
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Le Vignoble staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do I have to buy a ticket for my infant?
  • How do I get there using public transportation?
  • Is there a restaurant or café onsite?