We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mount Batten Ferry

Closed Now: 7:30 AM - 10:45 PM
Open today: 7:30 AM - 10:45 PM
Save
Share
Review Highlights
Makes a nice change

Over last weekend our Granddaughter (5 year old) stayed with us. We decided to take the car to... read more

Reviewed 6 August 2018
bert s
The best way

If you near Mountbatten this is defiantly the way into Plymouth, £1.50 each way and free car parking

Reviewed 5 days ago
tony w
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Read all 57 reviews
19
All photos (19)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good14%
  • Average5%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“yellow boat”(4 reviews)
“small boat”(3 reviews)
About
We operate a passenger water transport service between the historic Barbican and Mount Batten in Plymouth. We operate a scheduled daily service all year round. Weather and circumstances permitting. See website for details and find us on Facebook
Closed Now
Hours Today: 7:30 AM - 10:45 PM
See all hours
Contact
Commercial Wharf, Plymouth, England
Website
+44 7807 249127
Call
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
38
8
3
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
38
8
3
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow boatalways on timesmall boatquarter pastcrewbarbican
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago

If you near Mountbatten this is defiantly the way into Plymouth, £1.50 each way and free car parking

Thank tony w
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

Convenient and cheap little ferry which got us from Mount Batten to the Barbican very quickly! It's shorter by water. Helpful staff and smooth crossing. A bit of fun too!

Thank guardianangel1955
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Over last weekend our Granddaughter (5 year old) stayed with us. We decided to take the car to Mountbatten and get the ferry across to The Barbican. The Granddaughter loved it. Being a Plymothian riding the Mount Batten Ferry gives a pleasant reminder of how...More

2  Thank bert s
Reviewed 18 July 2018

Regular half hourly boat service between Mount Battan and Plymouth Barbican, £1-50 each way. Free parking on the Mount Battan side. The skipper is not very welcoming or informative and currently only a small boat is running taking a maximum of 12 passenger s, so...More

Thank pbhPlymouth
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

I’ve used this service many times over the past few years, it’s my favourite way of getting to town and back, always a friendly crew / skipper depending on which boat is used, boats are always clean and hazard free, long may this excellent service...More

Thank Karl R
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I love this ferry! I came to Plymouth to take the eldest to the University. I also wanted to visit a world famous blue ribband winning power boat that is based nearby. The ferry is cheap, fun and at night one of the most beautiful...More

Thank richardt9499
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Used the ferry on Thursday 2nd November as a group of 4 adults, 1 child and 1 baby. Have used many times before when visiting the area with no issues at all however on this occasion I was left disappointed. The skipper was so miserable...More

Thank Sarah M
daniel s, Owner at Mount Batten Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Sarah, Many thanks for your comments. I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with the service. The service runs on a scheduled service daily and always try to offer good customer service. Please except my apologies. You would never be left stranded. In...More

Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

We used the Mount Batten ferry. It offers a great service, with caring staff. A very useful service indeed. I will definitely use it again.

Thank Isgoodereinit
daniel s, Owner at Mount Batten Ferry, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Hi, Many thanks for you positive feedback. The ferry staff always try to offer a good service in demanding conditions and welcome nice comments. Thank you

Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Whilst visiting friends in the area we took the ferry across from Mount Batten (parking is free) to the Barbican. It costs just £1.50 each way and goes every half hour in peak season. It's a quick and enjoyable way to cross the waters and...More

Thank Debbie H
Reviewed 28 June 2017 via mobile

This handy ferry runs from Mount Batten over to The Barbican. It costs £1.50 each way and you can by books of 20 tickets which work out a little cheaper. It goes on the quarter past and quarter to from The Barbican and half past...More

Thank iannpaula
View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 23 hotels in Plymouth
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Lockyers Quay) Hotel
925 reviews
.11 km away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
1,433 reviews
.24 km away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
3,066 reviews
.75 km away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
391 reviews
1.06 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 799 restaurants in Plymouth
Supha's Street Food Emporium
508 reviews
.37 km away
Mombay Brasserie
674 reviews
.09 km away
Rockfish
1,503 reviews
.40 km away
Bella Italia Plymouth Barbican
636 reviews
.17 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 467 attractions in Plymouth
National Marine Aquarium
2,123 reviews
.29 km away
Mayflower Steps
193 reviews
.52 km away
Mayflower Museum
76 reviews
.49 km away
Prime Skatepark
8 reviews
.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Teresa T
1 July 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from daniel s | Property representative |
Hi Dogs are allowed and more than welcome but they must be on a lead. A mobility scooter can be loaded onto the vessel but this is via a designated lift on each of the pontoons, if this is required then we will have to... More
2
Votes
Jannerbloke
30 June 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Jannerbloke | Reviewed this property |
Do you mean Mount Edgecombe from Admiral's Hard to Cremyll or Mount Batten from Commercial Wharf?
0
Votes
Jules4249
17 March 2015|
Answer
Response from Colin H | Property representative |
Yes dogs are welcome with no charge.
0
Votes