We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bluefin Charters

Features Animals
Wharf Road | Opposite the sloop inn pub, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
+44 7747 493101
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Great Fishing Trip

Booked this due to the other half wanting to do this. The four hour trip was only running later in... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
Naomi M
,
Stroud, United Kingdom
via mobile
Mackerel fishing

My husband and son took this trip . Early start at 8.30 when on holiday but they had a fabulous... read more

Reviewed 5 days ago
Willos5
,
york
via mobile
Read all 26 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
we fish all day every day weather permitting and offer a variety of trips starting from the 1 hour 30 minutes mackerel trip which is for beginners and great fun for all ages or the very popular 4 hour deep sea fishing if you fancy something a bit more challenging. I have experienced crew and we always aim to give you the best experience for you and your family/friends of sea fishing.
  • Excellent79%
  • Very good7%
  • Average7%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible0%
Travellers talk about
“mackerel” (8 reviews)
“sea fishing” (3 reviews)
“fishing trip” (3 reviews)
LOCATION
Wharf Road | Opposite the sloop inn pub, St Ives TR26 1LP, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 7747 493101
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mackerel"
in 8 reviews
"sea fishing"
in 3 reviews
"fishing trip"
in 3 reviews
"caught plenty"
in 2 reviews
"these guys"
in 5 reviews
"small boat"
in 2 reviews
"pollock"
in 6 reviews
"bluefish"
in 5 reviews
"rods"
in 3 reviews
"crew"
in 6 reviews
"gear"
in 2 reviews
"gutted"
in 2 reviews
"skipper"
in 3 reviews
"dolphins"
in 2 reviews
"harbour"
in 3 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Booked this due to the other half wanting to do this. The four hour trip was only running later in the week when we weren’t there due to weather constraints so we opted for this. Great deal £20 for 1 1/2 hours fishing. Met some...More

Thank Naomi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

My husband and son took this trip . Early start at 8.30 when on holiday but they had a fabulous time and caught 15 mackerel between them! Thank you

Thank Willos5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked on this due to the wreck/reef fishing trips being booked up. I chose Bluefin because the other trips were just pleasure boats offering hand line fishing whereas this was the only rod n line Mackerel trip from St Ives. Enjoyable trip and plenty...More

Thank Dannyh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is for the serious Anglers and the crew reflect this in their profesionalism. Firstly I went on the Mackeral Trip and it was pleasent and we caught a few Mackeral. So Impressed was I that I went on their Reef trip for 5hrs. Being...More

Thank Powerpack36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Disappointing trip. Was a very rough trip with the sea swelling up to 15feet - obviously no fault of the company, but the layout of the boat was far from suitable!! Firstly the boat used was not that shown in the advertisement, no rods or...More

2  Thank Darren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam N, Owner at Bluefin Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Darren Please redirect your review to the company you booked with which is st Ives boat rides. Hand lines and benches to kneel on are only on there boats SEAHORSE or LITTLE MERMAID. Regards Sam Skipper/owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2017 via mobile

Four of us went out, two adults and two children age 6 and 10. We were given good instructions on how to use the rod and lures and it wasn't long until we were feeling in mackerel. The skipper and James were fantastic and looked...More

1  Thank Madame-Shades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent fishing, the guys were lovely and looked after us superbly well. Caught a few plus a squid and we cooked them up when we got back that afternoon. A definite with the kids if you're in St Ives and the weather is decent. The...More

Thank harry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

What a great start to our honeymoon in st ives, i managed to convince my wife it was a great idea to spend 4hrs out on a boat fishing with the promise if we caught i would cook her a nice meal using the fish...More

1  Thank Romfordreje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I was down in St Ives with the kids so thought I would take my boys for a spot of Mackerel fishing. Sam certainly got us into the fish and our boat must have got over 50 fish between us. Nice boat and good tackle...More

Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam N, Owner at Bluefin Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hi James Thank you for your honest and fair review. The deck hand in question is my son Lewis. We take safety very seriously on the boat as the are lots of hooks flying around at times as on this occasion when we are catching...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

I went out with my wife and married daughter, we had a wonderful experience and all caught many pollock, I don't instictively know how to size a fish but would the smallest at maybe 4 lbs while most would be in the 7 to 10...More

Thank slavservice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam N, Owner at Bluefin Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for your review and really pleased you enjoyed it. We try our very best to make our trips as good as possible

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 20 hotels in St Ives
The Queens Hotel
425 reviews
.35 km away
The Regent
137 reviews
.44 km away
Pedn Olva Hotel
1,148 reviews
.47 km away
Western Hotel
202 reviews
.48 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Moomaid of Zennor
439 reviews
.04 km away
Mount Zion Coffee
206 reviews
.03 km away
The Digey Food Room
302 reviews
.11 km away
Silco Searoom
1,135 reviews
.11 km away
Nearby Attractions
Gwithian Beach
392 reviews
.12 km away
St Ives Harbour Beach
573 reviews
.16 km away
St Ives Museum
237 reviews
.21 km away
The Penwith Gallery
54 reviews
.11 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
livesey1976
18 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Powerpack36 | Reviewed this property |
Yes you need to book up ahead , you can take a chance a day before but I would assume that unless they have a cancelation it will be booked.
0
Votes