We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grosvenor Garden Centre

Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9EB, England
+44 1244 625200
Website
Share
Save
Review Highlights
Quite tasty but overpriced

Called around 11am for breakfast however the food on offer looked as if it had been under a heat... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Jeanette W
,
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Cakes uncovered, very expensive

Went there for afternoon tea, cafe had obviously been very busy, surroundings need updating: quite... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
jonathanpowell10
,
Wrexham County, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 278 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good26%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
Open Now
Hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
LOCATION
Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9EB, England
CONTACT
Website
+44 1244 625200
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Chester
from US$ 21.30
More Info
from US$ 10.00
More Info
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"quality plants"
in 8 reviews
"garden furniture"
in 7 reviews
"plant section"
in 3 reviews
"toy department"
in 3 reviews
"savoury pastries"
in 3 reviews
"water features"
in 3 reviews
"side salad"
in 4 reviews
"great christmas"
in 3 reviews
"lots of choice"
in 4 reviews
"tea and cake"
in 3 reviews
"pricey side"
in 3 reviews
"my mum"
in 3 reviews
"visited today"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 4 reviews
"clothing"
in 17 reviews
"gardening"
in 11 reviews
"gifts"
in 21 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Called around 11am for breakfast however the food on offer looked as if it had been under a heat lamp all morning so decided to wait until lunch which was served from 11.30am. The staff seemed to take forever to put the food out and...More

Thank Jeanette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went there for afternoon tea, cafe had obviously been very busy, surroundings need updating: quite shabby. Disappointing to notice cakes still available were all uncovered leaving them open to flies and bugs. The coffee was nice but very expensive.

2  Thank jonathanpowell10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Love this garden centre as it has such variety from the indoor, outdoor plants and veggies to the clothing, gifts, ornaments etc it’s a place you can just visit and not buy and still feel it’s been worthwhile. The cafe is good too with a...More

Thank westgate123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

We have been here before and it was good. Today we decided to go to the cafe for lunch as it was my mum’ Birthday. It was bad. It was very hot and stuffy. The Waitress came with our food and she slammed the plates...More

6  Thank Beth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

loads of various plants and gifts both for indoor and outdoor. the cafe is good if a little costly. A short drive out of Chester

Thank cappleton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

Went there Saturday on way to Telford from Anglesey, been here a few times but I have to say the cafe is looking very tired, seats were marked and covering threadbare tables also have seen better days, food was ok and a nice cup of...More

4  Thank nerak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This is a large, well kept garden centre. There is a wide range of plants and they are in good condition. The café is a bit shabby, but OK. We would go again.

Thank Malpoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Went today with husband to take my 95 year old father for a lunch. Settled for home-made soup and sandwiches, since the food congealing under the hot lights didn't look inviting. For just under £8 per head this too was disappointing. Soup lacked flavour apart...More

6  Thank glynmyfyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

It was my Birthday so we decided to book for afternoon tea which is from 14:00hrs until 15:30 as the resturant stops serving at 16:30 (Sunday). It happened to be Bank Holiday weekend so it was very busy in the garden center & resturant. Our...More

2  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

I received a book of vouchers to my home and made a 15 mile jouncy to the Grosvenor Garden Centre only to find that the items I wanted were out of stock or had the price reduced in store making the voucher pointless I contacted...More

3  Thank BenoS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosenq, customer service at Grosvenor Garden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

We're sorry to hear you had a disappointing visit to Grosvenor. Could you contact us on Grosvenor.enquiries@bluediamond.gg and put it for my attention so that we can discuss this further? Kind regards Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 45 hotels in Chester
Grosvenor Arms Hotel
41 reviews
1.44 km away
Holiday Inn Chester South
1,301 reviews
1.76 km away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
1,829 reviews
2.65 km away
Hallmark Hotel Wrexham Llyndir Hall near Chester
847 reviews
3.48 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Red Lion
352 reviews
2.54 km away
Nags Head
326 reviews
3.09 km away
Love Masala
8 reviews
4.10 km away
Chester Lakes Cafe
18 reviews
2.38 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cineworld Broughton
125 reviews
4.64 km away
Broughton Shopping Park
59 reviews
4.81 km away
River Dee
1,258 reviews
5.24 km away
Cheshire Military Museum
204 reviews
5.16 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Fran1230
28 April 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from broadshaw |
Yes they do. No need to leave them at home or in the car.
1
Vote
Claire T
6 March 2018|
Answer
Response from Pam B | Reviewed this property |
I’ve seen an outdoor play area, not noticed an indoor one, sorry
0
Votes
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Attraction_Review
Get 10% off your next tour or activity booking.
Valid for new TripAdvisor sign-ups only.
Join TripAdvisor