We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Great Sunday Lunch

Four of us went for Sunday lunch. Lovely roast beef and friendly staff. Would definitely go again 👍

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
via mobile
How did I miss this gen right under my nose...

I've lived near The Swan for quite a few years and some time ago I must have eaten there and not... read more

Reviewed 17 August 2018
Bristol, United Kingdom
Read all 19 reviews
All photos (2)
Full view
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good31%
  • Average5%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
2 weeks ago
“Great Sunday Lunch”
17 Aug 2018
“How did I miss this gen right under my nose...”
Local Weather
Powered by Weather Underground
92 Stoke Lane | Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol BS9 3SP, England
+44 117 962 5111
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Bristol
from US$ 31.10
More Info
from US$ 88.50
More Info
from US$ 72.70
More Info
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
See what travellers are saying:
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Four of us went for Sunday lunch. Lovely roast beef and friendly staff. Would definitely go again 👍

Thank yekoms2
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really like this pub for drinks but came and tried Sunday roast- was pleasantly surprised. A nice, tasty piece of beef with a mixture of veg accompaniments. Stylish and well presented without going too far. We'll be back.

Thank nevermissabeat
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

Visited for an event. This pub is well known amongst students for being a bit run of the mill but despite having heard a few unfavourable things, even I was surprised. The staff are incredible in that every single one of them seems to lack...More

2  Thank rachellange8
Liam P, General Manager at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I'm sorry you had a bad experience but I think you may have mistaken us for the Black Swan on Stapleton Road.

Reviewed 17 August 2018

I've lived near The Swan for quite a few years and some time ago I must have eaten there and not thought much of it... Things have changes! Had an excellent Sunday lunch there - not simple meat and two veg done well but a...More

Thank Cimposaurus
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

I went there for some drinks with friends and had some food too! It was delicious! Such a generous portion and tasted amazing. The service was delightful, I was served by a young handsome gentleman named Oliver. What a lovely guy. If you go there...More

Thank JAME5-NA5H
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Been three times in the recent glorious spell of hot weather. Good range of real ales at reasonable prices. The proximity of the Prince of Wales pub may have something to do with that. The beer garden seems to be able to cope with the...More

Thank duntoglos
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

CAMRA members take note. This pub locally known as the Dirty Duck is run by a lovely couple and is a must visit. The landlord is passionate about showcasing a good selection of real ales and in particular Bristol breweries. So if you are visiting...More

1  Thank davidkjefferies
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We enjoyed a delicious meal. The staff were friednly and the food was beautifully cooked. The kids portions were great and our dog was treated very well with complimentary dog treats!

Thank HelenDavis16
Reviewed 15 April 2017

Had an ok night but the black swan only sells ready salted and cheese and onion Walkers crisps at the bar, bit disappointed as I wanted salt and vinerger and/or scampi fries. Won't be going back in a hurry.More

Thank Henry C
worldcupwilly1966, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

I can only assume your review must have been intended for a different Black Swan as we actually stock a reasonably large range of crisps and snacks including the varieties that you were seeking. Perhaps you would like to drop in some time and sample...More

Reviewed 27 January 2017

Not sure it is possible to prepare a really poor plough mans but well done for succeeding admirably. Small salad, microwaved roll and slimy ham from a packet for £7.95. The description of crusty bread and home cut ham was a travesty. When this ham...More

Thank Chris_SV596DU
worldcupwilly1966, Owner at The Black Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2017

We are very sorry that were so dissatisfied with your experience and we are genuinely surprised and disappointed with your feedback. I can honestly say that despite your perception we do in fact buy all of our meat products from our local butcher and as...More

View more reviews
Nearby HotelsSee all 38 nearby hotels
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
615 reviews
2.11 km away
The Washington
838 reviews
3.48 km away
The Clifton Hotel
121 reviews
3.52 km away
The Rodney Hotel
538 reviews
3.78 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 1,829 nearby restaurants
The Mouse Pub
56 reviews
.61 km away
Athena Restaurant
109 reviews
.64 km away
Venue35 Cafe Bar
81 reviews
.16 km away
Grupo Lounge
280 reviews
.47 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 538 nearby attractions
University of Bristol Botanic Garden
123 reviews
1.37 km away
We Make Bristol
5 reviews
.41 km away
The Post Office Tavern
5 reviews
.47 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Black Swan staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines