We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greater Vancouver Zoo

Features Animals
5048 264 St, Aldergrove, British Columbia V4W 1N7, Canada
+1 604-856-6825
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Kids liked it

I struggle seeing animals in captivity but it was interesting for the kids to see some wildlife... read more

Reviewed 22 August 2017
Jason F
,
Brackendale
via mobile
Not the best

This is a scruffy looking zoo. The animals look fine but the physical plant is run down and dated... read more

Reviewed 18 August 2017
Mmarymomm
,
Pleasanton, California
Read all 427 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Open year round and located only 45 minutes from Vancouver, Step Into The Wild at the largest zoo in BC! Discover the sights and sounds of over 140 species on 120 acres in the beautiful Fraser Valley! Experience the Zoo your way by bringing your own wagons, roller blades, bikes, skateboards, and picnic lunches. The playground and large picnic areas are great for birthdays, company BBQ's, group events or family picnics. In the summer, spend a Night In The Wild as you camp overnight inside the Zoo, and be sure to sign up for one of our popular Junior Zoologist Day Camps! Since 1970, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is focused on education and conservation.
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good34%
  • Average22%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“lion feeding” (16 reviews)
“birds of prey” (13 reviews)
“lots of space” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Suggested Duration: 2-3 hours
LOCATION
5048 264 St, Aldergrove, British Columbia V4W 1N7, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 604-856-6825

Similar Things to Do in Aldergrove

Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 415 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

I struggle seeing animals in captivity but it was interesting for the kids to see some wildlife they will likely not see in the mountains. The one negative thing I would say is this is another spot in our driving trip that had no plan...More

1  Thank Jason F
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are happy to hear that your children had a good visit. Our facility is home to over 140 species on 120 acres. We only house animals that were born in captivity, former pets, surrendered...More

Reviewed 18 August 2017

This is a scruffy looking zoo. The animals look fine but the physical plant is run down and dated. It is pretty expensive at $25.50 for an adult ticket plus $6.00 for parking. Some of the exhibits were empty and in others the animals were...More

1  Thank Mmarymomm
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We are pleased to inform you that we are planning extensive renovations to our facility! As opposed to other zoos the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding,...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

We visited the zoo with young children last weekend. The zoo train was down for maintenance so that was disappointing but the state and condition of the zoo in general was terrible. Worn down, old, many empty exhibits and to see the animals in those...More

Thank Sarah C
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. At first glance some enclosures may appear empty; however it just requires a bit more time to search for the animal. On hot days such as the day you visited many of the animals seek...More

Reviewed 7 August 2017

Overpriced. Not many things to see. I have seen many zoos and for a city like vancouver this is almost embarrassing. The best part was that our family rented bikes (over priced) to bike around. You'll be fine in under 2 hours.More

Thank liketotravel777
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Unlike many other Zoos, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round. As added options, we...More

Reviewed 5 August 2017

A senior took his god children, 10 and 13, for our first visit. Beautiful wildlife, more so when seen in the wild, here, enclosed in surroundings in need of an update. The ugly: starting in the parking lot; difficult to read the worn out numbers...More

1  Thank wayan s
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Our parking lot is patrolled an run by Impark and we are working with them on changing the machines to require license plate numbers rather than inputting the stall number, and we appreciate your patience....More

Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Myself and my family went here and it was very disappointing to say the least. First of all, the price was ridiculous; if you showed your AMA membership you got 10%off!ONE ADMISSION, not of the total price. For my family of 4 adults it was...More

Thank Jennifer B
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. Unlike many other Zoos, the Greater Vancouver Zoo is a privately run facility. We don’t receive any government funding, and rely solely on admission rates to operate the Zoo year round, however we are pleased...More

Reviewed 29 July 2017

2 stars now cause year after year no renovations done to liven up the look and feel of the place. Just visited today, July 28, 2017. No fresh paint anywhere either, NO new updated animal info signs either! Frustrating to witness and pay a ton...More

Thank Nolpreen
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We would like to appoligize for the late response to your concerns, but we are please to inform you that things are changing for the better. We now are housing 2 cheetahs, we have began...More

Reviewed 16 July 2017

Show your BCAA membership card for a 10% discount. The train wasn't running and there was a bit of construction but it was a good day for our 6 year old and 3 adults. There was staff at every turn and the animal enclosures were...More

2  Thank Bonnie S
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our facility and we are pleased to inform you that we are planning extensive renovations in the coming years! We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 14 July 2017

Well this zoo is a real gem. At least it is for a zookeeper like me. Most enclosures are vast and naturally structured (as in a patch of forest with a fence around it). When building them, they seem to have thought about the animals...More

1  Thank DorisHeimgartner
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with us! Animal welfare and health is our highest priority. However, we are please to inform you that we are in the process of planning extensive renovations in the coming years and we are...More

Reviewed 12 July 2017

My husband and I went recently, and were very unimpressed with the $6 parking fee. This is not an easily accesible place for transit, so driving is pretty much the only way to get there. This left a poor taste in our mouth initially. The...More

2  Thank Sciencerulz
GVZoo, Guest Relations Manager at Greater Vancouver Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our parking lot is patrolled and run by Impark and we are working with them on changing the machines to require license...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Fox & Hounds
61 reviews
3.33 km away
Mazatlan Mexican Restaurant
33 reviews
3.05 km away
White Spot
39 reviews
3.47 km away
Tomo Sushi
47 reviews
3.30 km away
Nearby Attractions
Fox & Hounds Pub and Restaurant
15 reviews
3.33 km away
Twilight Drive-In
13 reviews
3.09 km away
Tanglebank Gardens
67 reviews
7.42 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lynn O
10 July 2017|
Answer
Response from Chris D | Reviewed this property |
No. There is a standard playground but no waterpark.
0
Votes
Teresa P
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Chris D | Reviewed this property |
I would say be prepared for 4-5k if you want to see everything. It's flat and well maintained. You can rent a large pedal cart that fit two adults and two young kids but honestly walking it is best.
0
Votes
nicolelarche46
6 May 2017|
Answer
Response from GVZoo | Property representative |
Hello, Yes we do have overnight camping at the zoo! For an exciting adventure in the wild, you can join us for a family sleepover! On the Saturday evening, sent up your tent, go on a night walking safari, and play... More
0
Votes

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Aldergrove