We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fulford Place

287 King St E, Brockville, Ontario K6V 1E1, Canada
+1 613-498-3003
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Really good - best thing to see in Brockville

I have lived in Brockville my whole life and never visited until I was an adult. I was really blown... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
456kai
,
Scotland, United Kingdom
Not Impressed

I work in a museum and receive reciprocals at many museums. I like to compare and contrast... read more

Reviewed 15 August 2017
GREENQUEEN08
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 113 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Fulford Place is open for guided tours and educational programs year round by appointment. Summer hours: Victoria Day weekend to Labour Day - Seven days a week, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. English tours hourly from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. French tours at 11:15 a.m., 1:15 p.m. and 3:15 p.m. Off-season hours: Contact the museum for a complete schedule. Admissions for 2016 • Adults - $6 • Seniors and students - $5 • Families (Two adults and up to two children aged 7-16) - $15 • Children 6 and under - free • Passport (combined admission to Homewood Museum in Maitland) - $6 HST not included Accessibility Fulford Place is accessible. Site description: Get a rare glimpse of the luxurious lifestyle of another era. Discover the story of Senator George T. Fulford and the "Pink Pills for Pale People", explore the grand Fulford mansion and marvel at the many original family furnishings. Stroll through the restored Olmsted Brothers gardens and immerse yourself in Ontario's rich heritage.
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good38%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 17:00
LOCATION
287 King St E, Brockville, Ontario K6V 1E1, Canada
CONTACT
Website
+1 613-498-3003
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have lived in Brockville my whole life and never visited until I was an adult. I was really blown away by how good it was, and how much there was to see inside. There are loads of rooms and items, and the guides are...More

Thank 456kai
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I work in a museum and receive reciprocals at many museums. I like to compare and contrast displays, buildings, techniques ect. I was excited to come and see this house as it looked stunning from the outside. I was unimpressed with the entrance. (Small room...More

Thank GREENQUEEN08
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello, I am sorry you had such a dismal visit. Although we are a part of the reciprocal program, you are the first person to ask for it this season so I think the issue was less of an issue of my staff member not...More

Reviewed 10 August 2017

We had a hard time finding this place. We ended at the Fulford Academy. All the street numbers were missed up. I was only allowed to take pictures outside or in the shop. Fulford made a fortune by selling pink pills that contained especially iron....More

Thank Robby G C
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Hello Robby, Thank you for your rating and the comments about your visit. Some visitors have found it difficult to locate us, since our street number is not on our sign at the main gate; this feedback has been passed up the chain and when...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

The house is well preserved, and there is something for all to see. Our guide was friendly and knowledgeable, and the value is quite good. It cost less than $30 for a family of four. An impressive house, and worth a visit if you are...More

Thank unitedfarmers
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback! It is always great to hear and be able to pass on that visitors thought our guides did a great job. We hope you can join us again in future, perhaps at one of our special events!

Reviewed 8 August 2017

If you are into history, this place (pun intended) is THE place not to miss. The history of George Fulford and the fortune he amassed in 15 years from selling PINK PILLS TO PALE PEOPLE (get it, PPPP) is little short of incredible. As is...More

Thank Brad14
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello Brad, Thank you very much for your positive review. And glad to see that you have retained so much information about the site -- hopefully some part of that was due your guide, though of course you might have done your own research! We...More

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Great look into the past.very well maintained old mansion with excellent knowledgeable guides. Interesting story about pink pills (Iron pills) for pale people

Thank TerryK75
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2017

Hello Terry, Thank you for your positive rating of Fulford Place, and very glad to hear you thought our guides did a great job! We hope you can come back again soon!

Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

While not that impressive on the outside, Fulford House is a fabulous surprise inside! Lavishly decorated main floor rooms of stunning opulence! And all this was made possible by Fulfords great success in selling his little pink iron pills! Well worth the $6 admission.

Thank Ken B
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Hello Ken, Thank you for your comments. We recognize the exterior needs some maintenance and it is in plans moving forward. Glad to hear you enjoyed touring the lavish interior - we hope you will come back again.

Reviewed 23 July 2017

During the tour I did feel a presence in the place and today the tea room is still under construction which was said last year and the years before that.More

Thank Yves L
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Hello Yves, I am glad you enjoyed your visit. The tearoom was closed last year in anticipation of much needed renovations, and unfortunately has remained closed this season as renovations undertaken in the spring (with the intent of opening in June) have lagged on well...More

Reviewed 19 July 2017

All the small towns along both sides of Lake Ontario seem to have at least one claim to historical fame, generally from the turn of the 1900s when new inventions made thousands if not millions for industrious townies. This house is a good example of...More

Thank idonotusescreennames
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Wonderful to hear from a repeat visitor - thank you for your positive comments!

Reviewed 18 July 2017

Arrived about an hour early for a free Wednesday lunchtime concert, so took the door, a deal for just $6 and $5 for seniors. Fascinating story, amazing beautiful mansion. The concert was great even thought weather was cool and rainy, out on the covered back...More

Thank Karen F
Pamela P, Manager at Fulford Place, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Thank you for your comments! Very glad to hear you enjoyed the tour and the concert.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Don's Fish & Chip Shop
266 reviews
1.45 km away
The Georgian Dragon Ale House and Pub
141 reviews
1.45 km away
Tandoori Mint
227 reviews
1.11 km away
Cafe Boboli
71 reviews
1.32 km away
Nearby Attractions
Brockville Railway Tunnel
142 reviews
1.26 km away
Aquatarium at Tall Ships Landing
140 reviews
1.42 km away
Brock Trail
44 reviews
1.20 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Pam B
17 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from ptbo590 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, great question. Unfortunately when we were there the entire tea room was being renovated. Perhaps a call to them directly would yield you better results. Good luck and enjoy the property. Richard and Jill
0
Votes
Smumdax
6 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Pamela P | Property representative |
Hello - thank you for your question regarding Fulford Place. Unfortunately, at this time, photos inside the house are not allowed without special advanced permission. Site management is working on changing the policy to... More
1
Vote
Dianne D
29 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Pamela P | Property representative |
From Thanksgiving weekend to Victoria Day weekend Fulford Place is open by advance appointment only. We ask for at least 48-hours notice of your preferred date/time, but cannot guarantee that we will be able to meet your... More
1
Vote

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brockville