We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Creek Pioneer Village

1000 Murray Ross Pky | (at Jane St.), Toronto, Ontario M3J 2P3, Canada
+1 416-736-1733
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Great day out

The day was quite nice but got hot and there is plenty of shade. We spent 4 hrs there. We walked... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
KQMOM
via mobile
Great day out.

Went with my husband and cousin, had a really good time. Staff friendly and would stop for a chat... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Michelle S
,
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Read all 438 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Neighbourhoods
Neighbourhoods
Overview
More
With its 35 restored buildings from the 1860s, this village recreates Victorian-era pioneer life for visitors.
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good37%
  • Average8%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Opens in 7 min
All hours
Hours Today: 10:00 - 16:00
LOCATION
1000 Murray Ross Pky | (at Jane St.), Toronto, Ontario M3J 2P3, Canada
North York
CONTACT
Website
+1 416-736-1733
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 10 of 396 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The day was quite nice but got hot and there is plenty of shade. We spent 4 hrs there. We walked, explored, talked to the staff, had lunch, bought fresh bread that was baked in one of the houses, had fresh lemonade, purchased from the...More

Thank KQMOM
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a kind review of the Village! We are so glad you and your daughter enjoyed the Village so much and were able to take advantage of all the offerings. Thank you as well for pointing out we host several events throughout...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Went with my husband and cousin, had a really good time. Staff friendly and would stop for a chat. Loved chatting to the lady in the weaving place.

Thank Michelle S
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your visit and were able to interact with all our lovely staff. We hope you are able to visit again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

5 of us went on a morning trip and we all enjoyed it with the history and information well run with helpful friendly staff

Thank linda m
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review of your recent visit! We are glad you had a nice visit and hope you are able to visit again soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went here hoping for an interactive trip back in time like at Old Fort William in Thunder Bay or St. Marie Among the Hurons in Midland. There wasn't much going on and you had to pay extra to do a craft. We went in the...More

Thank sunnydee2008
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you for your review and feedback from your recent visit. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent trip but appreciate you taking the time to let us know your comments. One note, our baked goods in the Half...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visited the village with family on Wednesday, August 30th. Entrance fee for two adults $33, plus a $7 parking charge. The village was clean and tidy with beautiful flowers and vegetable gardens. There was an interesting exhibit about St Bernard children sent to Canada...More

1  Thank krm20172017
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review of Black Creek Pioneer Village. We appreciate and have noted your comments. Some of our buildings are open on a rotational basis throughout the day and are sorry you were not able to see them open. We take visitor experiences...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lots of history here and some of the buildings are actually on there original site. Very informative staff about the location that they were in. I was able to order some bread early in the day from the Half Way House for $4, then I...More

1  Thank Lynne T
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review of Black Creek Pioneer Village! We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Village and were able to enjoy our offerings like fresh bread and our interactive Farmyard Friends area! We hope you are able to return again soon,...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited the village on Tuesday 8/30/17 and were disappointed that only about 7 of the 40 plus buildings listed on their map had interpreters present. The rest of the buildings that were open without interpreters had a board with an explanation of the building....More

2  Thank JuADEN55
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your recent trip to Black Creek. We appreciate all comments and suggestions and will take your notes under review to ensure all visitors can have the best possible visit to the Village possible. We thank you again.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I really enjoyed Black Creek Pioneer Village. It was different from the things I usually like. I loved the way you walk around and then go inside houses. Btw People who worked there was so niceeee. The day we visited, it was a wedding there....More

Thank Negin T
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello and thank you for your review! We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to Black Creek. Weddings here are quiet magical as well so we are glad you got to see one with the historic backdrop of the Village!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very nice organized area. As soon you pass the entrance you are able to swim into past century. Old houses and business shops are same like many years ago. The most wonderful is that you meet real people ( dressed in clothes of specific time)....More

1  Thank Mila A
BlackCreekPioneer, Guest Services at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit to the Village!

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We go to Black Creek several times a year' and it never disapoints! Lots of fun, interactive and educational activites! With several historic buildings you have a whole days worth of fun activities! I would Highly recommend doing the "Class of '67" chose your own...More

2  Thank Lisa P
BlackCreekPioneer, Front Office Staff at Black Creek Pioneer Village, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for you kind review of Black Creek Pioneer Village (a compliment indeed to say Laura Ingalls herself would have enjoyed!). We are especially glad you enjoyed our new Class of '67 interactive game and were able to follow a character and make decisions...More

Nearby
North York
North York is one of Toronto's most culturally diverse
neighborhoods. Home to a number of cultural events
throughout the year that celebrate the city's varied
ethnic communities, it's always worthwhile to see
what's going on in the area. Its cross-section of
inhabitants include students and long-time residents,
giving North York an eclectic feeling of being both
local and international. Extremely family-friendly,
...More
Nearby Restaurants
Angelos Home Style Restaurant
11 reviews
1.03 km away
Sofra Istanbul
36 reviews
1.19 km away
McDonald's
9 reviews
1.16 km away
Angelos Homestyle Restaurant
44 reviews
1.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Colossus Woodbridge
168 reviews
2.74 km away
Putting Edge
31 reviews
2.14 km away
Magnotta Winery
24 reviews
3.44 km away
Yuk Yuk's Vaughan
14 reviews
2.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Amanpreet K
6 July 2017|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from Norma M | Reviewed this property |
I would get there as early as you can for opening time. It does get crowded in the summer. And honestly, everyone is different. We usually spend around 4-5 hours there. We take a picnic, take our time in the buildings, etc... More
2
Votes
Dianne M
27 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from BlackCreekPioneer | Property representative |
Thank you Dianne for your question, and Serena for your response. It is true that our costumed interpreters work/ volunteer at the Village but do not live on site. During our annual "Battle of Black Creek" special event, a... More
0
Votes