We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway

33 Broad Street, Blaenavon NP4 9ND, Wales
+44 1495 792263
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Fabulous

My little boy and girl absolutely loved coming for the day!! The changes of engines were my boys... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Katy P
via mobile
Interesting !

The only 'interesting' part of this is the total shambles of the whole experience. Probably one of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Flackadder
Read all 140 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
Blaenavon's Heritage Railway is located in the heart of the Blaenaon World Heritage Site on the edge of the Brecon Beacons in South Wales. There is ample free car and coach parking at Furnace Sidings, our main station located close to the Garn Lakes. From Furnace Sidings our trains head both north to the Whistle Inn, and south to Blaenavon High Level Station, located above Blaenavon town centre. Since 2011 we also have a separate branch serving Big Pit Halt, adjacent to the Big Pit national mining museum. Whether you're looking for a family day out, or are a devoted railway enthusiast, we have something for you. With free car parking at Furnace sidings, why not combine a visit to Big Pit with a ride on the train? Enjoy a snack in the tea room at Furnace Sidings, or shop in Eric's Emporium (an outpost of The Railway Shop in Blaenavon) stocking a selection of railway models, gifts and souvenirs. Many trains also have a buffet service offering light refreshments.
  • Excellent66%
  • Very good23%
  • Average7%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“furnace sidings” (12 reviews)
“high level” (9 reviews)
“mince pies” (7 reviews)
Closed
All hours
Hours Today: Closed
LOCATION
33 Broad Street, Blaenavon NP4 9ND, Wales
CONTACT
Website
+44 1495 792263
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My little boy and girl absolutely loved coming for the day!! The changes of engines were my boys favourite part he is obsessed!! Needless to say we have booked for the Santa ride too! See you again 😊More

Thank Katy P
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this review Dear Katy, Thank you very much for your kind words! I'm very glad that both your son and daughter enjoyed their visit to the railway. We all...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only 'interesting' part of this is the total shambles of the whole experience. Probably one of the least enjoyable attraction I have ever visited. The staff, the train trip and the poor driving of the train led to a massive disappointment. Normal answer to...More

Thank Flackadder
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Flackadder, I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the railway. From your review, I do wonder if you did visit on the same day as Hazel H below as your comments do very much echo that review. I do...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stop start...change engine ends...stop start...get off train because you have no choice...get on train.... Ticket office lady needs to learn, and fast, people pay an extortionate amount of money for what is nothing more then a complete shambles and bad drivers. Smile, pass the pay...More

1  Thank Hazel H
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Hazel, My apologies for the slight delay in response. I'm very sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to the railway. I do think, however, it is unfair to brand us a 'shambles'. Firstly, I do apologise that you found the customer service...More

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We spent about three hours here it was a very nostalgic trip with the smell of the coal burning, when the train stopped at the station children were allowed to go on the train engine and were told how things worked. when you go on...More

Thank Janine S
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Janine, Thank you very much for your review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your day and that our volunteers were helpful and informative to children - at the railway we're always keen to share our enthusiasm and love of steam with all! I'm also...More

Reviewed 1 September 2017

It's some years since I visited this preserved railway - then it just ran up the hill to the pub. Now it's part of a bigger attraction and has a branch line to Big pit and a connection to Blaenavon high level and work continues...More

Thank Ken J
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Ken, Thank you very much for your review. I'm glad that you have seen how we have expanded in recent years and how we are constantly trying to improve the line. However, I am sorry to hear of your negative experience with one of...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

A nice half day with intensive train service made this a good eventual experience. The station is much better than past visits with a nicer physical environment. They do really need to think about their customers though. It's not good enough to simply run trains....More

1  Thank Tig121
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Hello there, First of all, thank you for leaving a review. I am sorry that you felt that the experience at Furnace Sidings was not satisfactory compared to the rest of the railway. At the moment, our facilities at Furnace Sidings remain under construction, and...More

Reviewed 28 August 2017

Travelled on Pontypool and Blaenavon Steam Train yesterday. Firstly I got off the train at The Whistle Pub which is very interesting and has an extensive display of miners lamps. I then got back on the train and continued the journey to the relatively new...More

Thank angie j
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Angie, Many thank you for leaving a review! I'm glad that you enjoyed your day with us! I'm glad that you enjoyed the journeys to Whistle Inn and Blaenavon High Level. As a note, we do also run to Big Pit for the mining...More

Reviewed 23 August 2017

We took three of our youngest grandchildren for a train ride on a steam train, at seven years old this was their first ride on a steam train. Apart from shouting at the driver to "go faster", they enjoyed themselves. Very friendly staff, nice and...More

Thank Alan P
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear Alan, Thank you very much for your review! I'm glad that you and your grandchildren enjoyed the experience - hopefully it will foster their love of steam that all of us volunteers at the railway share! We do indeed recommend using our railway to...More

Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Took young grandchildren on a days trip on the railway, arrived as train was just leaving, but the guard held it for us to get tickets and board. Short trip to Big Pit, where we got off and visited. Getting back on train travelled along...More

1  Thank AndrewLJ17
Jamie W, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company Marketing Team at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Dear Andrew, Thank you very much for your review! We are all very glad that you enjoyed your visit to the railway, and that it offered a nostalgic experience for all! I'm also glad that you managed to buy a long sought after model too...More

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Our activities staff took a group of our residents for a trip on the Heritage Railway today, and we just want to say what an outstanding group of people you have working for you! All our residents are suffering from dementia and it can sometimes...More

Thank marisacrossley
Jamie W, Marketing Team, Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company at Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Hello there! Thank you so very much for your praise! We're genuinely pleased that you all enjoyed your trip out, and we are all so glad that our volunteers made you all feel so welcome. I've passed on your praise to our volunteers (including Jake...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Butterflies Bar & Kitchen
419 reviews
2.11 km away
The Bridgend brynmawr
154 reviews
4.72 km away
The Lion Hotel and Restaurant
75 reviews
1.92 km away
Hobby Horse
68 reviews
4.63 km away
Nearby Attractions
Big Pit: National Coal Museum
1,936 reviews
.80 km away
Blaenavon Ironworks
304 reviews
1.50 km away
Rhymney Brewery
74 reviews
1.09 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
jan1956Cardiff
1 August 2017|
Answer
Response from David H | Reviewed this property |
Check the railways web site but i am sure they are
1
Vote