We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

La Cana Golf Course

Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
+1 809-687-4653
Website
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from La Cana Golf Course tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
More Info
US$ 140.00*
and up
La Cana Golf Club Package in Punta Cana
More Info
US$ 549.00*
and up
Punta Cana OceanSide Golf Course 2-Round Package
More Info
US$ 79.00*
and up
Segway Eco Tour in Punta Cana
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
More
The magnificent ocean-front vistas of La Cana Golf Course will captivate the most discerning golf design connoisseurs, while its well-fortified greens challenge the game’s toughest competitors. After one round, avid enthusiast and casual player alike will understand why Golf Magazine has compared La Cana to Pebble Beach and declared it the “number one course in the Caribbean.” Designed by P. B. Dye, La Cana boasts fourteen ocean-view holes with four playing right on the water’s edge, and its state-of-the-art Seashore Paspalum grass allows for maintenance with minimal environmental impact. No serious player can take a golf vacation to the Caribbean without testing his or her chops on this stand-out course. Now offering new Enhancement Packages with its sister course, Corales, no serious golf can come to the Dominican Republic without playing a round on these world-class courses.
  • Excellent62%
  • Very good30%
  • Average6%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“ocean holes” (12 reviews)
“punta espada” (14 reviews)
“hole courses” (8 reviews)
LOCATION
Puntacana Resort & Club, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
CONTACT
Website
+1 809-687-4653
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"ocean holes"
in 12 reviews
"punta espada"
in 14 reviews
"hole courses"
in 8 reviews
"great golf"
in 10 reviews
"island green"
in 6 reviews
"finishing holes"
in 5 reviews
"waste bunkers"
in 4 reviews
"pete dye"
in 4 reviews
"nine hole"
in 4 reviews
"driving range"
in 8 reviews
"range finder"
in 3 reviews
"club rental"
in 6 reviews
"great condition"
in 3 reviews
"tee boxes"
in 4 reviews
"wide fairways"
in 5 reviews
"golf trip"
in 3 reviews
"round of golf"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 10 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

I travelled from La Romana to play La Cana Golf Club. Staff is very welcoming and courteous. I played Tortuga & Arrecife 9's. I rented clubs which were a mixed bag of Taylor Made with no 3W. Bring your own clubs ! A very well...More

Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

There are three 9 holes on site, we played the original back nine which finishes with two holes by the ocean, which were beautiful. We then played the newest 9 which was more in land but just as fun. I found the fairways to be...More

Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello David G and thank you for your recent feedback. We are so delighted to hear that you had the most amazing of times playing La Cana GC. Our greenkeeper takes a lot of pride on his work so I'll definetly let him know your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A superb course. Sister course to Corales, which hosts a PGA event. Features 27 holes. Caddie is optional but @ $30.00 why wouldn't you? Played Tortola and Arricife courses. Final two holes on the latter are stunning along the ocean. On the former a few...More

Thank madlise07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Hello, madlise07 and thanks for taking some of your time to give us your feedback on your recent golf experience. We are so glad to hear that you had a great time playing La Cana GC. Our superintendent and his team take a lot of...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Was there in feb 2018 with bunch of guys for a Golf trip. The course is beautiful and we had a wonderful caddie “Santana”. Had a great round, enjoyed the weather and the hospitality. Would highly recommend for anyone going to play in Punta Cana.More

Thank bobbysethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, bobbysethi and thanks for your feedback. Our entire team takes a lot of pride in their work so that all guests have the same experience that you and your friends just had. Thanks again for taking some of your time to give us your...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

I am an 11 handicap and recently had an opportunity to play 3 rounds on this beautiful PB Dye designed course. The course is made up of 3 nine-hole tracks, 2 along the ocean and one heading inland. I found the course to be in...More

2  Thank dave_cogswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, dave_cogswell and thanks for taking some of your time with this feedback. We are so glad to hear that you had a great playing La Cana, and as you mention, caddies are a great help to all of our golfing visitors. Thanks again and...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

A Pete Dye designed course...therefore a lot of 'moguls'.. Depending on your handicap, could be challenging..More

1  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Hello, Carolyn P and thanks for your recent review. Actually, the course was designed by PB Dye (Pete Dye's son), but yes, they have the same caracteristcs when designing golf course. We hope you have you back soon! Regards, George Riley Golf Professional La Cana...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Have never golfed in tropical climate before and this did not disappoint. Great courses to choose from and both which we played were great. A couple of the holes were on the ocean which was really a great experience.More

Thank nathan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello, nathan b and thanks for leaving your feedback about your recent experience in PUNTACANA Resort & Club. We are so glad to hear that you had the best of times playing at La Cana Golf Course, and yes, those last holes in the ocean...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

4 people, 12 balls, left with 1.. not saying we’re pga golfers, but the club rentals had no grip left. . Beautiful course. Beautiful ocean view. Thick rough, very nice greens & fairways. Pleasant employees . Can’t give a great review of our caddie either,...More

Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello Angela D and thanks for taking some of your time on this feedback. Sorry to hear that you can't give a great review of the caddie that played with you. Our caddies are trained to maximize our guests experience out on the golf course....More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

We took a day to play 18 holes on this course. Very scenic and a great course. We were all dressed appropriately but one of the ladies shirts that was being worn did not have enough of a collar so had to spend 80 US...More

1  Thank Sandi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Hello, Sandi W and thanks for your feedback. We're happy to hear that your group enjoyed the golf course on your recent visit. Sorry that you had to buy the shirt though, but proper attire (shirts with collar) is mandatory in every golf club. Apologize...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2017

We played La Cana because Corales was unfortunately closed (which we did not know until we got there). We had a decent round but this course is nothing special, particularly if you compare it to Punta Espada and Corales. Yeah, it has some ocean holes,...More

2  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puntacana Resor... a, Golf Professional at La Cana Golf Course, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Hello, susan r and thanks for taking some of your time with this comment. I'm glad to hear that our staff was nice and helpful. For your next visit, please email me at griley@puntacana.com and I will take care of all your golfing needs (including...More

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 449 hotels in Dominican Republic
ApartHotel Lirio Cala
5 reviews
.51 km away
Xeliter Caleton Villas Cap Cana
36 reviews
1.45 km away
Tortuga Bay Hotel Puntacana Resort & Club
670 reviews
1.53 km away
The Westin Puntacana Resort & Club
1,137 reviews
1.73 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Grill
245 reviews
.84 km away
Bamboo Restaurant
178 reviews
1.48 km away
Club Acqua Mare
33 reviews
1.45 km away
Mare Restaurant
6 reviews
.89 km away
Nearby Attractions
Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park & Reserve
806 reviews
2.27 km away
Marina Cap Cana
176 reviews
3.09 km away
BlueMall PuntaCana
94 reviews
3.24 km away
Dominican Airport Transfers
2,505 reviews
3.67 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
callawaydan
24 March 2018|
Answer
Response from dave_cogswell | Reviewed this property |
I booked through the resort I was staying at and had no trouble getting tee times I wanted. The booking that way included round trip transfers. Enjoy the rounds!
0
Votes
hotelhoffman1
16 January 2018|
Answer
Response from Barriebrian2 | Reviewed this property |
You don't need caddies, they are optional at $30, so cart only if you wish. They do rent clubs $40-50 depending on make. Green fees are usually $175.
0
Votes