We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Makaranga Botanical Garden

Save
Share
Review Highlights
Splendid activity

Great food, amazing milkshakes, and it is so beautiful! Even on very hot days, the shade is great... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Stephanie C
,
Johannesburg, South Africa
The garden is beautiful

What a wonderful experience. Every turn is more beautiful than the one before. The Japanese garden... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
suefr2018
,
Gauteng, South Africa
via mobile
Read all 92 reviews
69
All photos (69)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent68%
  • Very good28%
  • Average3%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“swimming pool”(5 reviews)
“hidden gem”(4 reviews)
“few hours”(3 reviews)
About
Contact
1 A Igwababa Road, Kloof 3610, South Africa
Website
+27 31 764 6616
Call
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
60
26
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
60
26
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool hidden gem few hours well worth a visit beautiful place indigenous plants stone sculptures few times some great food amazing sculptures perfect setting great value for money my girlfriend heaven on earth enjoy the scenery restaurant service
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food, amazing milkshakes, and it is so beautiful! Even on very hot days, the shade is great. It is quite pricey though.More

Thank Stephanie C
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Stephanie, we SO appreciate your wonderful review on our piece of paradise! Thanks so much for the compliment about our delicious meals and delectable milkshakes! On hot days we encourage you to bring your costume and have a dip in the pool. We ensure only...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a wonderful experience. Every turn is more beautiful than the one before. The Japanese garden is so peaceful, spent time watching the ducklings enjoying it too. The Shonga art was amazing. It's "free" if you have something to eat or drink at the restaurant.More

Thank suefr2018
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time out to write us a wonderful review! It's the perfect place for for everyone to come and unwind. We are so proud of our gardens as well as our sculptures and simply love it when they are appreciated by...More

Reviewed 30 August 2018

My husband took us out to lunch at Makaranga. The service was friendly, the food good and the gardens lovely. Nobody rushed us even though some of our party were quite late and the restaurant was very busy. A very pleasant way to spend a...More

Thank Ann H
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Reviews like this make us so happy as we strive to create Magic Moments at Makaranga! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful with us and we so appreciate you taking the time out to write us this review. Ill be sure to pass...More

Reviewed 27 August 2018

Food awful.Service was good but one waitress for fifteen guests?My main course went back twice.R9000-00 for 15 guests?!

1  Thank John P
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

This botanical garden is probably the best one I’ve been to here in Durban. Such a tranquil place to be. A must visit destination especially for all you messed up minded folks who’s in need of soul searching.

Thank enlightened1722
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Thank you so much for visiting our piece of paradise and for the wonderful review! We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon to feed your soul, the tranquility and beauty of our garden awaits.

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

One of the most beautiful gardens I've had the honor to visit.The different themes and "rooms" create pleasant surprises, yet the overall feel is that of tranquility and peace. Stunningly beautiful and very well kept.More

Thank Ella P
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

WOW! Thank you very much for your amazing review on our piece of paradise, Ella! It's the perfect place for for everyone to come and unwind. We are so proud of our gardens as well as our facilities and simply love it when they are...More

Reviewed 15 May 2018

Very well laid out walkways along water features and a meandering river. Gardens are well kept and there are ample places to sit quietly and relax. Although many might take a fancy to them, our family were not particularly impressed with the abundance of modern...More

2  Thank irishmike60
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

WOW! Thank you very much for your amazing review on our piece of paradise. It's the perfect place for for everyone to come and unwind in the tranquility of our gardens. We love it when guests have an amazing experience. We are so proud of...More

Reviewed 5 May 2018

The gardens were very pleasant to wander round and some comfort after a very disappointing lunch in the restaurant.More

Thank AnnieDC2018
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Thanks for the wonderful review! We are thrilled that you got to experience our magnificent property. The gardens are certainly worth exploring and the waterfall something to admire. We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your lunch as we work hard at creating...More

Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

What a gem! The gardens are absolutely beautiful and well maintained. Unusual plants and sculptures can be found throughout the gardens. There’s even a pretty waterfall and a few ponds. After a stroll through the gardens we had some refreshments. Service was a slow but...More

Thank NadeenR16
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you very much for your review on our piece of paradise! We are so proud of our gardens as well as our sculptures and simply love it when they are appreciated by our valued guests. It's the perfect place for you to escape and...More

Reviewed 6 April 2018

I've been to Makaranga a few times, for business breakfasts and presentations (which were excellent) but never just for a meal. Given that the main attraction is the tranquility and beauty of the surroundings, lunch on Easter Monday was perhaps not the best timing, as...More

Thank Jim D
HelenXO, Guest Relations Manager at Makaranga Botanical Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you SO much for taking out the time to write us this wonderful review, we really appreciate it! We are so glad that you finally got the chance to come for a meal and relax. We are very popular on days like easter as...More

View more reviews
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 2 nearby hotels
Makaranga Lodge
148 reviews
.14 km away
Splendid Inn Pinetown
300 reviews
5.13 km away
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
308 reviews
17.89 km away
Emakhosini Hotel On East
12 reviews
18.18 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 23 nearby restaurants
The Hussar Grill Kloof
100 reviews
1.39 km away
Stokers Arms
89 reviews
1.34 km away
Sprigs The Food Shop
72 reviews
1.45 km away
Makaranga
218 reviews
.00 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 5 nearby attractions
Krantzkloof Nature Reserve
27 reviews
2.32 km away
Aqua Wild Africa
17 reviews
2.73 km away
Watercrest Mall
15 reviews
4.75 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Makaranga Botanical Garden staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines