Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes

Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes, Chalong: Hours, Address, Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes Reviews: 4/5

Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes

Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes
4
Sports Camps & Clinics
Read more
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Friday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday
7:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Write a review
About
Tiger Muay Thai & MMA Training Camp started Muay Thai training camp in 2004 with a vision of bringing quality Muay Thai training to everyone. Although we started with just one ring, we now have seven boxing rings, an MMA cage, 36 workout stations and have over 40 Muay Thai trainers. We also have three incredible personal trainers devoted to various fitness specialties. They are also professional athletes. In addition, we are affiliated with Brazilian Top Team which is one of the most renowned Jui Jitsu gyms in the world.We are especially proud to have guests that return every year, including world champion trainers and fighters from WMC, Lumpinee, Rajadamnern, WBC, Bangkok TV and professional fighters from all over the world like Royce Gracie, Jon Fitch, Murilo Bustamante and Brian Ebersole just to name a few.What’s also nice is the amazing return rate of guests like yourself that make coming back to our camp an on-going tradition.Guests come here from all over the world with different fitness goals. We have won the award for the Best Gym for Foreigners two years in a row for 2010 and 2011.We have fighters who come here to improve technique and to prepare for upcoming fights, martial arts schools, vacationers, fitness fans, adventure junkies, and military personnel. At our camp getting fit is a priority. But we also know that finding time to relax and rejuvenating oneself is also important. Here you have the opportunity to explore places like Phi Phi Island, be awed by the Big Buddha, relax on the shores of one of many beautiful beaches.We are more than just a facility - it’s a place to reinvent yourself...a place to take a step out of the hustle of everyday life and figure out what’s really important.
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing

Top ways to experience nearby attractions


4.0
361 reviews
Excellent
180
Very good
80
Average
40
Poor
32
Terrible
29

mrc235928
Northampton, UK15 contributions
Feb 2020
Great place to go to.
My trainer Pong is helpful and gives you enough to challenge you, but still make it enjoyable.
I have been here 4 times and always enjoy it.
I mainly just do Muay Thai, but speaking to others the other classes are just as good.
Written 19 October 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear mrc235928, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review with a 4-star rating. We are happy that you were pleased with the training, knowledge, and pride our teachers take in their job and we are sure our team equally enjoyed working with you as well. We look forward to welcoming you back with open arms if you decide to come back as we're always happy to see familiar faces! All the very best to you, TMT-T Family
Written 25 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Michael uk london
6 contributions
Sep 2019
it was ok but you can find much better places where they actually wants to help you.
when i came the people in the reception destroying my time. they was angry and not nice. the coach was tired and just want to eat he said. they didn't help me with technic but just wanted me to get tired... i think its better to find smal gym and get more help.

just my thought..

i didn't feel welcome or that i learn something. i went to signmatong muay thai in phuket and got a lot of help,. for more good price!

tiger is full of tourist.. and they dont need u anymore. so they dont care..
Written 18 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear igowithjesus , Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are disappointed to see you didn't enjoy your stay with us. As you can see from other reviews, the guests really enjoy the service provided by our staff and trainers on all levels! This is also for other readers, We recommend, that if one experiences any service problems at any facility you train that you speak to the team on-site to rectify matters first hand, then rather, than holding on to it, waiting to go home and then address it. Everything can be fixed if addressed whilst here! We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Best regards, TMT-T Team
Written 25 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

John
San Diego, CA10 contributions
Jun 2019
This places ranges from basic entry level training from renting a small room with no shower or toilet to renting a villa across the street--which I did. I received a full day of training 6 days a week. I went there in great shape and left in better shape but a little beaten up. The gym is super clean and well maintained. The food is excellent and there is everything you can imagine to do. I would highly suggest renting a scooter, exploring the town and going to the beach often.
Written 19 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear johnsY2803BP, Wow!!Thank you so much for your great review. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we really appreciate your recommendations to others. Our customers are indeed the backbone of this amazing facility and without your support, guidance, and feedback we wouldn't have been in this position. Once again thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you with us again soon! Best wishes, TMT-T
Written 25 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MMA Plus
London, UK1 contribution
May 2019 • Friends
My annual pilgrimage to the world famous Tiger Muay Thai and as per usual it did not disappoint. This was my 4th trip to the gym that is located in Chalong, Phuket and as always I was met by the customary warm welcome from Jolen, Kru Robert and the reception staff at TMT.

As a Muay Thai obsessive who dabbles in a spot of Brazilian Jiu Jitsu training, Tiger Muay Thai always makes me feel like a kid in a candy store. Tiger’s training schedule is jam packed boasting daily Boxing, Muay Thai, BJJ and CrossFit classes. Their top-notch facilities which span a monstrous 100,000 square feet allowed me to train alongside some of the best martial artists from around the globe. Working with the likes of Kru Robert (Muay Thai), Stuart Cooper (BJJ) and Joy Somers (Fitness coach) was highly beneficial and only serves to enhance my experience.

Although I have been training there since 2015 this trip marked the first time I opted to stay “onsite” at TMT camp 5, which is located just a few minutes walk away from the gym. The accommodation was basic, but super clean, comfy and came with free cable TV. Unfortunately during my 3-week stay I became ill for 4 days while I was there, but thankfully the staff went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable, my cleaning lady even going as far as to make sure I got the medication I needed and that I was fed during my illness. I would definitely recommend training at Tiger Muay Thai and I look forward to making my 5th trip to my home away from home. A truly amazing experience Kop Khun Kha!
Written 17 December 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear mmap2019, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are truly happy you had a fantastic time here. We really do strive to make our guests as happy as possible so we give you as many options as we can and all our coaches are hand-picked. You will only witness competent and skilled professionals in our house. We hope to see you back with us here at the TMT family. We love to see familiar faces! Best wishes, TMT-T team
Written 25 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

traveller_zuerich
zuerich43 contributions
Nov 2019
Tiger Muay Thai is the top weight-lose and martial arts destination in Thailand and probably worldwide. Within 14 days I trained with Poles, Russians, Chinese, Japanese, Canadians, Australians, US-Americans, Dutch, Afghans, Lebanese, Germans, Thai, English and French. The training is demanding and very well sheltered. There is something for everyone. The food in the Tiger Grill is ok, but outside the food is usually better and cheaper. But all in all, I have been very satisfied with my stay.
Written 24 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear traveller_zuerich, Great training, great staff, and fabulous trainers all come from wonderful guests like yourself! Thank you so much for your positive review. It makes us all so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. We much look forward to your return to your TMT family :) Best wishes, TMT - Team
Written 25 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

captainclerk
Werribee, Australia23 contributions
Oct 2019 • Solo
They have a new 2nd camp tiger muay thai beach side thats on chalong bay. Disgusting. Avoid staying at the Hivetel Hotel and booking training here. No vibe and half the classes listed on the website were not even running.
It’s not by a beachside it’s next to chalong bay pier which is disgusting water you can not swim in. Photos on tiger website are photo shopped. Check the photos i uploaded to see what the ‘beach side’ really looks like. AVOID!
Written 17 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear captainclerk, Thank you for taking the time to review us. I'm disappointed to see you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We recommend if you experience any service problems at any facility you train that you speak to the team on-site to rectify matters firsthand. Everything can be fixed. Should you decide to return in the near future, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me, and will ensure that you receive quality service in all areas. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Best regards, TMT-T Team
Written 25 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

gemsy62
Dubai, United Arab Emirates55 contributions
Sep 2019 • Solo
I travelled to Chalong with the intention of training at Tiger Muay Thai for the entire month I was staying in Thailand.

Before my stay I emailed Tiger to ask if I could tailor one of the packages. I got a generic email response back that didn’t answer my question at all. I called the office and got no response, so decided to email again. This time I got a reply, from the head coach, telling me he wasn’t able to train me. But this was lucky because I was put in touch with an amazing trainer and this was the only positive from my time at TMT.

Reception. Some of the staff in the office are the rudest I have come across. I live in Dubai and customer service is notoriously bad here, but this was another level. I made the mistake of trying to top up my PT card the day before my session. Three girls were sitting in the office, during office opening hours, but refused to take my payment. My training was due to start at 7am, the same time the office opens. So this meant I’d lose some of my session. But they had clearly decided they weren’t doing anymore work that day and sent me on my way. This was my first impression of Tiger and almost put me off going back at all.

Office opening hours: if anyone from Tiger reads this, please update the hours on your website to the hours the office is actually available. I went on two Saturdays during what is published as your opening hours and on both occasions I was refused service. This means I now still have my PT card and was unable to return it and get my refund. The excuse the second time being that they had already closed the tills (it was 3pm and it is advertised as being open until 7pm).

Class sizes. There is no cap on the classes. This means that they can be really busy compared to the other gyms in the area. If this doesn’t bother you and you love a big class then you will love training at Tiger. If you prefer a bit more attention or have some form that needs correcting, then you might want to train elsewhere.

The main reason for the low rating is what happened on my last PT session. I was trying to discuss with my trainer how I would take what I had learned home and build on it. But half way through this discussion the head coach walked in and kicked us out of the office so he could sort his diary. This left a really bad impression for me. It really feels like Tiger is all about the marketing and big numbers rather than actually caring about your individual experience.

Written 2 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear gemsy62, Thank you for your review. We welcome all reviews good or bad as it lets us know if we are doing our job right for you the customer! Be assured we take all feedback seriously and that it is addressed of the changes required and made effective.   We are sincerely sorry you had such a terrible experience. Believe it or not we like all reviews good or bad as it gives us the chance to address these issues. If you allow us to explain again, that it was also informed to you of our office opening hours via emails while confirming your booking, should your flight arrive after office closing hours that our security guard will assist you to check-in to your agreed assigned room and you can formally check-in with all the necessary paperwork first thing in the morning at our reception, followed by an in-depth scheduled tour (twice a day) of the facilities. Should newly arriving guests have any questions, are attended to by our PR team during the camp tours. We recommend if you experience any service problems at any facility you train that you speak to the team/Manager on-site to rectify matters firsthand. Everything can be fixed!  Should you decide to return in the near future, I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you directly, so please ask for me, and will ensure that you receive quality service in all areas. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Thank you TMT-Management
Written 28 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

sgtberger1
Phuket, Thailand3 contributions
Sep 2019 • Solo
After five days of training I was diagnosed with Epidemic Keratoconjunctivitis (EKC). It is a contagious eye infection, often referred to as viral conjunctivitis. EKC is an inflammation of the cornea and conjunctiva. (In pink eye or conjunctivitis, only the conjunctiva is inflamed.) It is highly contagious and can last as long as a month. I am out of work and on quarantine until this clears up.

Hygiene of some those training is disgusting. Trainees are not screened for illnesses, this should happen before very class by a nurse. Yes the mats are cleaned after every class, but this does not help common areas, or interacting with the students. There are cats and dogs all over this facility, which can rampantly spread diseases.

Tiger Muay Thai stated that they cannot control what students bring in to the area and denied to take any action like decontaminating the facility and screening students. Basically, they are only worried about $$$
Written 26 September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear sgtberger1, Many thanks for your email and for taking the time to write to us. We appreciate all feedback good or bad as it really helps to know what our guests think about us and any improvements we can make and so you know how seriously we take our customer feedback. It's how we constantly evolve and helps us in our task to strive to be the best. We are sorry to hear of this infection. Staph is indeed an issue over here. Not just with us but in many places(could be at the restaurants you have visited, the hotel you stayed. etc) as you can imagine the amount of sweat that is poured out in this heat! Our mats and all gym equipment are cleaned with disinfectant agents after every class but on the surface only due to time restrictions. At the end of the day, mats are cleaned more thoroughly whereupon they are taken up and cleaned in between to try to get out as much of the bacteria as possible. This is as far as we can take it when it comes to cleaning. There are times however when private lessons are taken or guests training themselves without our knowledge will leave behind sweat after their workouts and most importantly poor personal hygiene which we cannot keep up with at all times or is simply not possible for us to control. Our main problem however is the clients who try to hide infections from us if they are here for a short time and still insist on training. Most do not take this infection seriously and believe a bandage will stop the spread but we can only rely on trust in this problem and of course should we see a staph infection, that guest is immediately barred from training until we give them the go-ahead. We have a number of posters around the camp that show how staph can manifest itself and we also sell product in our store which is very good at dealing with and preventing infection. However, we will implement more cleaning measures to be carried out regularly. Although, there is no 100% guarantee to eliminating bacteria which we all should know. That being said we are doing our best to maintain hygiene standards in the entire facility as much as we can. Sadly, the continuous effort taken from our housekeeping department to maintain this huge facility goes unseen. We always believed that if the first thing the guest smells when they come to train is the unique smell of Dettol and bleach and water mix they know we take cleaning seriously. It is a constant battle in that environment. We really do appreciate your time in the comments and suggestions to help Tiger be the best and hope that you do come and visit us again soon. We deeply value your relationship with Tiger Muay Thai and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best. Looking forward to welcoming you soon back again. Our very best wishes to you. TMT Family
Written 28 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

LAldo87
Dubai, United Arab Emirates26 contributions
Aug 2019
The facility is impressive and is huge with a varied choice of classes to attend. I attended the intermediate Muay Thai classes, they are a great workout and superb for fitness and conditioning. However, I was never once corrected on any technique by apart from by a single trainer. I attended around 10 classes and to be honest most of the trainers seemed very disengaged, even when holding pads they would not be proactive in giving advice. This was also the experience of my 3 friends. It appears to me that most of the trainers do not really have their heart in the job and are just going through the motions doing less than what I would consider the minimum.

I also attended the strength and conditioning classes, I thought these were brilliant and the trainers were keen to share knowledge and were very enthusiastic. I felt the same about the boxing fundamentals class. The kickboxing class was also good.

In summary I would happily give this place 5 stars were it not for the fact the Muay Thai coaches do not actually coach you. Whilst I got in some great workouts I am not sure how much my technique improved and I was disappointed not to leave with lots of nuggets of information.
Written 27 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear LAldo87, Thank you so much for your great review. We are so happy to hear that you had the greatest time with us. Truth be said Many people find themselves never wanting to leave! We hope to see you again one day should you return and hopefully enjoy a longer stay with us! Once again thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you with us again soon! Our very best wishes to you. TMT- Family.
Written 28 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Natalie
27 contributions
Aug 2019 • Solo
We have visited TMT many times over the years and it is sad to say the hygiene is deteriorating each time we visit.
Although the mats are cleaned after every session in the MMA area, the same can not be said about the muay thai area.
I for one am a dog lover, but there is many dogs that are present in the gym and sadly they are not dogs who are looked after well. They are on the mats regularly scratching themselves and literally using the floor to scratch their mouths, the poor things. This is something that needs to be controlled immediately, due to the climate the germs are being spread very easily and can cause infections. After speaking to people who have been training here for a couple of months it is evident the hygiene is extremely poor. Many people have had staph infections and this is a serious issue.
On the plus side, there is some serious talent at TMT. There is some arrogance amongst some trainers but this can be easily ignored by simply using someone who is more approachable such as Lai. He is extremely talented , friendly, approachable and does not demand respect as many other trainers. He is someone TMT should use as a role model for other trainers to teach them basic manners.
Not sure if we would return to TMT if nothing is done to improve these issues.
Written 7 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dear Casanovateamuk, Many thanks for your email and for taking the time to write to us.  Staph is indeed an issue over here. Not just with us but in many places(could be at the restaurants you have visited, the hotel you stayed. etc) as you can imagine the amount of sweat that is poured out in this heat! Our mats and all gym equipment are cleaned with disinfectant agents after every class but on the surface only due to time restrictions. At the end of the day, mats are cleaned more thoroughly whereupon they are taken up and cleaned in between to try to get out as much of the bacteria as possible. This is as far as we can take it when it comes to cleaning. There are times however when private lessons are taken or guests training themselves without our knowledge will leave behind sweat after their workouts and most importantly poor personal hygiene which we cannot keep up with at all times or is simply not possible for us to control.  We have plastered posters around the camp that show how staph can manifest itself and we also sell product in our store which is very good at dealing with and preventing infection. However, we will implement more cleaning measures to be carried out regularly. Although, there is no 100% guarantee to eliminating bacteria which we all should know. That being said we are doing our best to maintain hygiene standards in the entire facility as much as we can. Sadly, the continuous effort taken from our housekeeping department to maintain this huge facility goes unseen. We always believed that if the first thing the guest smells when they come to train is the unique smell of Dettol and bleach and water mix they know we take cleaning seriously. It is a constant battle in that environment. We really do appreciate your time in the comments and suggestions to help Tiger be the best and hope that you do come and visit us again soon. Looking forward to welcoming you soon back again. Thank you TMT Family.
Written 28 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 298
Anything missing or inaccurate?
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes

Tiger Muay Thai - Day Classes is open:
  • Mon - Sat 7:00 AM - 7:00 PM