Passchendaele Museum
Passchendaele Museum
5
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Friday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Sunday
10:00 AM - 5:30 PM
About
Discover and experience the story of the First World War and the Battle of Passchendaele in the interactive design of the Passchendaele Museum. Descend into the dugout (underground shelter) and explore the reconstructed British and German trenches. ✅ audioguide included | family friendly | located at the chateau grounds | free car park | nearby Tyne Cot Cemetery..
Duration: 1-2 hours
Suggest edits to improve what we show.
Improve this listing
Tours & experiences
Explore different ways to experience this place.
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Plan your visit
See what travellers are saying
  • Alejandro I
    2 contributions
    Trip to the Trenches
    Complementary to our recent studies of the Great War, our school took a trip to Ypres to see first-hand what had happened there over a hundred years ago. We were chauffeured around by a bus and made our first stop at Hill 60. From there we moved up two numbers to Hill 62, where we also had lunch in the idyllic little restaurant. Then off to Ypres itself, where we saw the Menin Gate. After that we went to Tyne Cot and then to The Passchendaele Museum, upon which I will expand later. Our last stop was Langemark before the long bus ride back to school. So in the afternoon we discovered the Museum of Passchendaele, which I enjoyed the most out of everything we did on the excursion. After a short wait, we were able to enter the museum, where we were met with the first couple of historical artefacts from WWI. From guns to gas to shrapnel to medical apparatus, every factor of war was represented. One of the most disturbing things we saw was a medical syringe used to treat gonorrhoea, inserted through the urethra. Ew. Much to our disappointment, we didn’t get to see the short film the museum normally offered; what a bummer! Still, it was quite the confronting experience with the right amount of reality to counter the theory we had learned.
    Dear Thank you for your visit and for this kind review! Good to see you had a good visit to our museum. I'm sorry you haven't got the chance to see our short film about the Batlle of Passchendaele. As you probably saw, we're working on a new immersive room wich will immerse our visitors in the landscape of 1917. The room will open next year. We'll communicate everything on our socials and website. Hopefully this will make your disappointment any good when you ever come back to the Passchendaele Museum. Kind regards Wannes from the Passchendaele Museum
    Written 9 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written 21 March 2023
  • EmielV
    Belgium4 contributions
    A museum that breathes the Great War
    As part of our semester dedicated to the Great War, our class visited Ypres. Before our trip, we got background information about the war in different classes. The trip was meant to be to confront us with the reality of what had been just theory to us before our visit. We visited Hill 60, Hill 62, Tine Cot Cemetary, Langemark Cemetary, the Menin Gate and the Passchendaele Museum in Zonnebeke. All of them were very impressive and worth seeing during a WWI tour in Flanders Fields. The visit to the Passchendaele Museum impressed me the most during our eventful trip to Ypres. Inside the beautiful domain, you could experience the whole war. From interesting videos, relics, weapons, reconstructed dugouts, trenches, and much more. The museum is very accessible for people with a slight knowledge of the war. There are also a lot of interactive things to do, which is fun for kids. For me, it was a very instructive visit that left a trace in my knowledge about the Great War. I would recommend everyone to let themself impressed by this museum.
    Dear Thank you for your visit and for this fantastic review! We are proud our musuem taught you even more about WWI after your lessons before your visit. We look forward to welcome the people you recommended to visit our museum. Kind regards Wannes from the Passchendaele Museum
    Written 9 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited March 2023
    Written 25 March 2023
  • John F
    Lane Cove, Australia85 contributions
    The best WW1 museum in Ypres
    This was a much better option than the "In Flanders Field" museum, but expensive at a cost of E11. However, as I made my way around the museum I began to appreciate it much more. The audio guide needs some work (maybe a bell at the end of each comment so you aren't left hanging, and you know when to move on). Also the signage for the audio guides is terrible. I also found the font size on the description cards was too small. BUT I would recommend this museum if you are in Ypres. I noticed that they are updating some of their displays so hopefully improvements are happening.
    Dear Thank you for your visit and for leaving a review. Our sincere apologies for your bad experience with the audioguides. We thank you for the tips to possibly improve our audio guides in the future. Thank you for recommending others to visit our museum. Kind regards Wannes from the Passchendaele Museum
    Written 9 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled solo
    Written 3 April 2023
  • officeadmin
    London, United Kingdom195 contributions
    A must for your battlefields visit.
    Fantastic museum. A must if you're visiting the Ypres Salient battlefields. A beautiful building in lovely grounds, the museum has excellent displays of WW1 artefacts and war stories, accompanied by a very good personal point-to-point audio presentation. It is all very sensitively done from both sides' points of view and ends with an extensive walk through authentic trenches and bunkers. Well worth the 11€ entry fee.
    Good afternoon Thank you for visiting the Passchendaele Museum and for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed your stop at our museum during your battlefield tour. KInd regards Wannes from the Passchendaele Museum
    Written 13 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited April 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 27 April 2023
  • Sue Wiggins
    Rugby, United Kingdom298 contributions
    Zonnebeke Museum
    A very interesting museum containing everything to do with WW1. There is a reconstruction of a dug out complex in the cellar complete with audio of overhead guns and shelling! There is also a reconstructed trench complex. A very good half day is needed to see everything and it is good value too.
    Dear Thank you for your visit and for this lovely review. Kind regards Wannes from the Passchendaele Museum
    Written 13 June 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited May 2023
    Travelled with friends
    Written 13 May 2023
  • Dan
    Dorchester, United Kingdom33 contributions
    Battlefield study visit.
    Serving military unit visit. Booked a guided tour of the museum and it did not disappoint. Simon was exceptional speaking to the group and his knowledge was excellent. The trenches and tunnels are worth the entry price alone. Will return with next group 100%!
    Hello! Thank you for your positive review. Glad you've appreciated our guided tour. We look forward to welcoming you again.
    Written 18 August 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
    Visited July 2023
    Travelled on business
    Written 26 July 2023
  • Neshee
    25 contributions
    A very worthwhile and excellent visit.
    This museum is amazing. Although it has been rebuilt since the events of WW1, it’s content is authentic and well laid out. There is so much in there and the size of the building is deceptive. There are exhibits which are so moving. There are displays of weapons and recreation of trenches. The audio system is very useful.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 12 September 2023
  • Dave-Sally
    71 contributions
    Well worth a visit
    A really good and informative museum. There are two car parks, one is limited to three hours but the other just 100m up the road is huge and both are free. The staff, especially the guy, could not have been more helpful and spoke perfect English which was a relief. We used a voucher from tourist office so entrance was only €10 per person and it too us two hours to walk around. It was very thougt provoking and well done. After we walked 100m into Zonnebeke and visited the deli/butcher/food shop called Vandepute. It was amazing - I had a toasted panii for €4.50 and the wife had a huge ham pasta salad for €6.50. Well worth a visit. After lunch we walked to Tyne Cot cemetary which was a sombrenand humbling experience. An absolute must.
    Visited September 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 28 September 2023
  • J L
    Tavistock, United Kingdom402 contributions
    Moving museum
    The museum is set in large grounds with parking and access to walks to the war graves. It has interactive exhibits that bring the conflict to life. Whilst their are accessible features with a lift some areas are challenging with limited mobility.
    Visited October 2023
    Travelled as a couple
    Written 1 October 2023
  • geronimo16
    West Sussex, United Kingdom118 contributions
    Great Little Museum!
    In Ypres there are plenty of tours and other ways to connect with the horrendous events that took place in this area a little over 100 years ago. We chose to visit this small museum and are very glad we did. The exhibits are convincingly displayed with some excellent dioramas and an informative recorded commentary. The dugouts give a real if slightly sanitised idea of what life was like underground. The trenches, although of course representations of the real thing, have been carefully created with much attention to detail. The new immersive experience was especially moving. Well worth the money and effort.
    Visited February 2024
    Travelled with family
    Written 14 February 2024
These reviews are the subjective opinion of Tripadvisor members and not of TripAdvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

5.0
1,062 reviews
Excellent
860
Very good
178
Average
16
Poor
5
Terrible
3

geronimo16
West Sussex, UK118 contributions
Feb 2024 • Family
In Ypres there are plenty of tours and other ways to connect with the horrendous events that took place in this area a little over 100 years ago. We chose to visit this small museum and are very glad we did. The exhibits are convincingly displayed with some excellent dioramas and an informative recorded commentary. The dugouts give a real if slightly sanitised idea of what life was like underground. The trenches, although of course representations of the real thing, have been carefully created with much attention to detail. The new immersive experience was especially moving. Well worth the money and effort.
Written 14 February 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

J L
Tavistock, UK402 contributions
Oct 2023 • Couples
The museum is set in large grounds with parking and access to walks to the war graves. It has interactive exhibits that bring the conflict to life. Whilst their are accessible features with a lift some areas are challenging with limited mobility.
Written 1 October 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dave-Sally
UK71 contributions
Sept 2023 • Couples
A really good and informative museum. There are two car parks, one is limited to three hours but the other just 100m up the road is huge and both are free. The staff, especially the guy, could not have been more helpful and spoke perfect English which was a relief. We used a voucher from tourist office so entrance was only €10 per person and it too us two hours to walk around. It was very thougt provoking and well done.

After we walked 100m into Zonnebeke and visited the deli/butcher/food shop called Vandepute. It was amazing - I had a toasted panii for €4.50 and the wife had a huge ham pasta salad for €6.50. Well worth a visit.

After lunch we walked to Tyne Cot cemetary which was a sombrenand humbling experience. An absolute must.
Written 29 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Neshee
25 contributions
Sept 2023 • Couples
This museum is amazing. Although it has been rebuilt since the events of WW1, it’s content is authentic and well laid out. There is so much in there and the size of the building is deceptive. There are exhibits which are so moving.

There are displays of weapons and recreation of trenches.

The audio system is very useful.
Written 12 September 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

bowjoe90
Grimsby, UK47 contributions
Aug 2023 • Family
This museum was an incredible insight into WW1. We stopped here on a whim having visited the nearby Tyne Cot and are so glad we did.

We only had 2 hours to spend there but could easily have spent 3-4 hours there - it is much bigger than a picture of the outside makes it look! Much of the museum is underground and immerses you in what happened around Passchendaele in the war.

Every room was full of artefacts that were really interesting. The audio tour - which was included with entry - was also really detailed and turned the experience into a narrative rather than ‘just’ a collection of objects.

Arguably the most impressive part of the whole museum was the reconstructed, open-air trench. For me, that was a genuine ‘wow’ moment. The dugout was also special.

All in all, this museum was probably worth double the entry fee (we paid about €40 for a family of four) and I would recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in WW1 visiting the region.
Written 26 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Eilidh
Angus, UK17 contributions
Aug 2023 • Couples
Really great experience in understanding the war and the lives the soldiers lived while fighting. There is a great trench reconstruction (German and British) as well as a few German graves here too. If you want a good idea on what soldiers actually went through, this is the place to go. I will return here.
Written 25 August 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Dan
Dorchester, UK33 contributions
Jul 2023 • Business
Serving military unit visit. Booked a guided tour of the museum and it did not disappoint. Simon was exceptional speaking to the group and his knowledge was excellent. The trenches and tunnels are worth the entry price alone. Will return with next group 100%!
Written 26 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello! Thank you for your positive review. Glad you've appreciated our guided tour. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Written 18 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Paul M
Nicholls, Australia51 contributions
Jun 2023 • Friends
A comprehensive museum with displays than span the Marin the Passchendaele area. The museum incorporates a variety of display techniques from old school cabinets through to immersive displays using technology. The reproduction bunker and trench system is well put together.
Highly recommended
Written 26 July 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello! Thank you for your 5 star rating. We're happy to read you've appreciated the dugout and trenches. We hope to see you again.
Written 18 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

rsjaffe
Dunoon, UK15 contributions
May 2023
Best museum in the region. Notably, it has reconstructions of the trenches for you to walk through, and exhibits the range of styles made by the different combatants.
Written 24 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello! Thank you for visiting us and your positive feedback on the trenches.
Written 18 August 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sue Wiggins
Rugby, UK298 contributions
May 2023 • Friends
A very interesting museum containing everything to do with WW1. There is a reconstruction of a dug out complex in the cellar complete with audio of overhead guns and shelling! There is also a reconstructed trench complex. A very good half day is needed to see everything and it is good value too.

Written 13 May 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dear Thank you for your visit and for this lovely review. Kind regards Wannes from the Passchendaele Museum
Written 13 June 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 738
Is this your Tripadvisor listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim your listing

Passchendaele Museum, Zonnebeke - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Passchendaele Museum

Hotels near Passchendaele Museum: View all hotels near Passchendaele Museum on Tripadvisor