We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: R326, Stanford 7210, South Africa
Phone Number: +27 28 341 0013
Website
Today
10:00 - 17:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Mon 09:00 - 17:00
Tue 10:00 - 17:00
Thu 10:00 - 17:00
Fri - Sat 10:00 - 21:00
Description:

As the first wine and brewing estate in the southern hemisphere, we run a...

As the first wine and brewing estate in the southern hemisphere, we run a small but growing micro brewery, water bottling plant, winery and vineyard situated in the Western Cape of South Africa. We have much to offer, not only to the beer and wine enthusiast, but to those just interested in visiting our beautiful country estate near Stanford in the shadow of the Klein Rivier mountains. Here you will find out about our exceptional beer,our country estate, our brewery. As of September 2015 the restaurant is under new management called "Birkenhead Galley" separately listed in Trip advisor by the new owners.

Come and enjoy our delicious food and freshly brewed beer, and visit our vineyard and winery where we produce Walker Bay Vineyards wines.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 121 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 33
    Excellent
  • 40
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 12
    Poor
  • 17
    Terrible
Good outing

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here & beer & wine tasting. The beers didn't blow anyone away, but the Walker Bay Sauvignon Blanc did. The service was reasonable & food good. This is... read more

4 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 June 2016
FlossPortElizabeth
,
Port Elizabeth
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Port Elizabeth
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2016

We enjoyed a lovely lunch here & beer & wine tasting. The beers didn't blow anyone away, but the Walker Bay Sauvignon Blanc did. The service was reasonable & food good. This is a popular place with a restaurant & outdoor area where kids can run around & pets on leads are welcome.

Helpful?
2 Thank FlossPortElizabeth
McGregor, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

This place had a rundown feel to it.lovely outlook after visiting the rundown toilets thought better not eat here.So bought a couple of takeaway beers although the bartender was not aware they were out of stock - how is this possible with today's technology?it was quite the place back in the day but clearly the owners are just counting the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Buroqueboere
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Great place to taste some craft beers at one of the pioneers in the craft beer SA scene. Good food and enough space for the kids to run around and play.

Helpful?
2 Thank CaptCapeTown
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2016

We have visited the Brewery with our parents to give them an experience of a brewery in the Overberg area. We are also in the hospitality industry and has found the venue in a poor maintained state. This can be a jewel in our area if it is well maintained. At this stage, we will not recommend it to our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dorpshuys
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2016

We paid Birkenhead Brewery a visit over the Easter Weekend. This was my second attempt to walk away satisfied as the first time the beer that was served to us was flat and we got a refill on the house (which was also flat). Besides Christmas, Easter is the busiest period of the year and vendors should be prepared. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank liandiburke
Noordhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016

I possibly visited Walkerbay when it opened 20 years ago so particularly wanted to show it off to my friend from the North West Province. On entering the estate, it looked very deserted. We were however met by a friendly manager who suggested wine tasting and a meal in the bar. We walked around outside to start and the overall... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LinkiLu
Graham P, Manager at Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. We were in the process of addressing a number your points prior to your visit. We had just finished decorating the Wine tasting area before season and currently concentrating on the entrance and bar area now that season is quiet. I would recommend you visit again in a few weeks... More 

Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

Had a good pub lunch. Great place to take kids. Nice outdoor area to play and run around. Food was delicious, try the Beer Pie, Calamari and the Hake! Wine is good and Apple Cider the best. Highly recommended!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Minnaars
Pretoria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2016

The beer tasting was good but the food was really bad! Beautiful surroundings, friendly service but the fish and chips is over priced and poor quallity.

Helpful?
1 Thank Karina B
Graham P, Manager at Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery, responded to this review

Hi Karina Firstly let me apologise for the poor quality dish you received on your visit. We are addressing the matter and working with all our suppliers and kitchen staff to ensure the quality and standards are met. If you could give me the opportunity to offer you a refund on the dish and please contact me with your details.... More 

Durbanville, South Africa
Level Contributor
337 reviews
112 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2016

We were travelling to Struisbaai and our first time through Stanford, so decided to explore a bit while making our way. I've seen the Walker Bay wines on the shelves in the shops - but have never tasted it, so was really excited when I saw it was located in Standford. The Walker Bay Estate also includes the Birkenhead Micro-brewery... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mari B
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2016

Fantastic, warm Welcome by Graham and staff.The beer tour was very informative and Graham went out of his way to explain each step in the process and answered all our 'silly questions'. We paid Kleinriver cheese factory a visit and quickly returned to Birkenhead Estate.We sampled their 6 craft beers, no shortages,loved our favourite 'honey blonde' and discover 2 more... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jleg2016

Travellers who viewed Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery also viewed

 
Stanford, Overberg District
Stanford, Overberg District
 

Been to Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Cape Town Central, South Africa
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Walkerbay Estate and Birkenhead Brewery staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?