We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

High Country Horses

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Address: 243 Priory Road, Glenorchy, New Zealand
Phone Number:
+64 3-442 9915
Website
Description:

High Country Horses operates from a farm 15 mins from Glenorchy at the top...

High Country Horses operates from a farm 15 mins from Glenorchy at the top of Lake Wakatipu. We are surround by the Humbolt and Richardson ranges of Mountains and are nested at the base of Mount Alfred.

The only Horse riding that is owned and operated by True New Zealanders. Offering local knowledge and Lord of the Rings locations. Young children can enjoy and feed our farm animals or take a ride on our carriage. Activities for all to enjoy.

read more

TripAdvisor Reviewer Highlights

Read all 311 reviews
Visitor rating
  • 224
    Excellent
  • 38
    Very good
  • 17
    Average
  • 7
    Poor
  • 11
    Terrible
Had a great time/One of our favorites in NZ

We (2 couples) did the Isengard LOTR High Country Horse tour the week before Christmas. The drive there from Queenstown alone was amazing (if you don't want to do a horse tour... read more

5 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 week ago
Lorena R
,
Ingleside, Texas
via mobile
Add Photo Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

311 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 297: English reviews
Lausanne, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

We asked especially for an advanced riders tour. They took us to the Rees river tour what was a boring go and return tour almost on the same track. They told us we will be in a group with confirmed riders or we will separate the group to have lots of trot and canter. We trot few times and cantered... More 

Helpful?
Thank Viovoyages
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

Thank you for your view, now that you have put your opinions forward I now have a chance to respond. - Firstly when you booked your ride you were told there was a chance of 2 other people join your party of 3. If you wanted a EXCLUSIVE you could have paid for one. The other 2 people with you... More 

Ingleside, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We (2 couples) did the Isengard LOTR High Country Horse tour the week before Christmas. The drive there from Queenstown alone was amazing (if you don't want to do a horse tour, just take a drive to Glenorchy because I think it's one of if not the prettiest place in NZ). The horses were great, the guides were informative and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorena R
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was organized for me by my husband - otherwise I would never get on a horse. My experience is watching the Melbourne Cup on the work TV. That said, the guides are unbelievably good. The horses are so lovely and calm. So I put my trust in the experienced guides and horses and had the best day. Master 11... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank ValerieJPringle
Auckland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a very reluctant rider having refused to go on my wife's own horse for years. During a moment of madness and in preparation for a trip to Queenstown, I bought my wife's Christmas present of a trip for us both on the 1 hour 30 Lord of the rings ride. On the day of the trip we took... More 

Helpful?
Thank neilf8538
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The scenery on these rides is amazing. You get to ride through rivers, fields and mountains. The horses are clearly well looked after and well behaved. I've done many treks in different places over my travels in Ireland, England and Australia and this one was one of the best. Our guide was very friendly and accommodating. As I'm an experienced... More 

Helpful?
Thank ShellK8487
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I did the "Around the Mountain" overnight tour and I can't recommend it enough! The scenery is absolutely stunning, and this was exactly the type of unique experience I was hoping for. The hut we spent the night in was the perfect mix of comfy and rustic. From the second we arrived at the homestead everyone was so friendly and... More 

Helpful?
Thank LArnott
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

People like you give me the warm fuzzys, so thank you. You have experienced our Back-country to the maximum. We are so grateful that you see everything and the effort gone into what we offer. Thank you one more time and we hope to see you again so we can show you more :) More 

Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I did the Mountain High, River Deep tour and had a blast! By far the most fun I've had on a commercial trail ride. Since we were there in the spring, the lupins were in full bloom, making the valley spectacularly beautiful, although it would be without the lupins, too. Pretty cool to cross rivers and run through the forests!... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shelby B
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

We like to thank you for your review, and have taken everything on-board. We try to always offer lunches if dietary requirements are mentioned, sadly if we don't know then we can't organise them! The guide horse was on his first full day ride and I have de-briefed with the guide and she said there were times when her horse... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We got told the wrong date and time of our tour which I was gutted about, so when I enquired they were so unhelpful. They did not even try to move us and they wouldn't return even a fraction of our money back. Terrible customer service and lack of understanding. They just got paid $400 for doing absolutely nothing. Not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haylie P
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

You booked through an agent, they gave you a voucher. On that voucher in English it gave you the date and time of your ride. Having that voucher is the same as any written contract where yourself and us agree upon. Our Bus driver looked for you, We spent time getting your horses, feed, groomed, saddled and organised Guides to... More 

Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It was really windy that day but the staff tried to make the best out of it! Beautiful horses, good gear provided. For me as a beginner, it was really good. But my friend as a skilled rider didn't get on moneys worth. She'd preferred a more challenging ride. Nevertheless I really want to come back one day and do... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanny96
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I are horse people. Not your average tourists. We own one horse (and are in the market for another), and enjoy riding. So when we go traveling, we always have to get a ride in! This ride beat all others. On every front. 1) The horses: the horses are in excellent shape and are well cared for.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dustin B
DeanaIrvine, Owner at High Country Horses, responded to this review

WOW, AND THANK YOU! We have been told by many international riders that our rides are right up there with the best. I love how you have written your review and thank you again for the detail. We try hard to keep our X-breds well schooled but it can be quite tough on their months due to the amount of... More 

Travellers who viewed High Country Horses also viewed

Queenstown, Otago Region
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 
Glenorchy, Otago Region
 

Been to High Country Horses? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of High Country Horses and other visitors
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from High Country Horses staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Will you pick up and drop off at my hotel?
  • I have a family of 7. Can your tour accommodate all of us together?
  • How should I dress for this tour?