We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Myoko Kogen

Myoko 949-2111, Niigata Prefecture
Website
Save
Review Highlights
Good Ski Area

This is a good ski area to visit whilst in Japan. There are two mountains to ski close to the main... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
yotcrew
,
Lennox Head, Australia
Great skiing

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenager) stayed in the Myoko Kogen area for 15 nights. The snow was... read more

Reviewed 26 February 2017
Michelle D
,
Gold Coast, Australia
Read all 80 reviews
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good22%
  • Average18%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible0%
25 Feb 2017
“Great skiing”
16 Feb 2017
“Awesome Snow and Facilities”
Closed Now
All hours
Hours Today: 08:30 - 16:30
Suggested Duration: More than 3 hours
LOCATION
Myoko 949-2111, Niigata Prefecture
CONTACT
Website
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a good ski area to visit whilst in Japan. There are two mountains to ski close to the main village area with one mountain being predominantly beginner slopes. It does get crowded during the weekends. The village has a good choice of restaurants.More

Thank yotcrew
Destination-Myoko, Representative at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks for your review yotcrew. For clarification, the area you are referring to is Akakura Onsen which has two resorts nearby - Akakan (Akakura Kanko) and Akakura Onsen. Within Myoko Kogen region there are 5 other resorts nearby, all with their challenges. Even on the...More

Reviewed 26 February 2017

Our family (2 adults and 2 teenager) stayed in the Myoko Kogen area for 15 nights. The snow was fantastic and there is various terrain for all levels of skiers and boarders at the various resorts. We found most people very welcoming and it is...More

Thank Michelle D
Destination-Myoko, Attraction representative at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

We are very glad you had a great time in Myoko Michelle D and appreciate your feedback. The shuttle services are not up to the standard we'd like and we are regularly feeding back comments like yours to the operators and tourist board in an...More

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Being our first visit to Japan we were not sure what to expect. My husband and I are not gun skiers we are more advanced beginners and love skiing! We arrived and it was snowing and it snowed the entire time we were there! Not...More

Thank Liz W
Destination-Myoko, Location representative at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Myoko Kogen Liz W and really glad you had a great time. Looking forward to having you back sometime soon!

Reviewed 28 January 2017

We had about 3 metres of snow to play with. Runs were quiet and non-existent lines for lifts. Great value and a quiet, traditional town. Would come here again.

Thank k6travel
Destination-Myoko, Location representative at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Myoko Kogen k6travel and really glad you had a great time. Looking forward to having you back sometime soon!

Reviewed 22 January 2017

I was in Japan early December. Didn't catch the huge snow fall in tokyo... so being equator dweller, we just have to try to find some snow. Strategy > Since we had a week in tokyo. Close monitoring of the weather forecast. There was this...More

Thank freeier
Destination-Myoko, Location representative at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Myoko Kogen freeier and really glad you had a great time. FYI onsen in hotels are open all year round. The local community onsen closes during winter. Please check out the many hotel onsen on your next trip....More

Reviewed 11 August 2016

As beginner/intermediate skiers we loved this area for skiing ... there are plenty of slopes that are all "joined" and the snow was good despite very poor falls in nearby areas. The local town is quiet but has a nice feel and the ski slopes...More

Thank MPW_Oz
Destination-Myoko, Representative at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Myoko Kogen MPW_Oz and really glad you had a great time. Looking forward to having you back sometime soon!

Reviewed 10 March 2016

After visiting countless ski areas in Europe and the USA-Canada, it was now time for Japan.First stop Myoko Akakura Onsen sounded like a good introduction.Without having seen some pictures of the resort it was with surprise we were measured by a somewhat rundown cityscape, but...More

2  Thank Phayao13
Destination-Myoko, Representative at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Myoko Kogen Phayao13. If you are an experienced skier, yes, you would've found Akakura Onsen not very challenging. However there are numerous other resorts close by that hardcore skiers do enjoy such as Suginohara, Akakan and Madarao. I...More

Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Apparently they just had the worst snow fall in 30 years.... And I still loved it!!! We were lucky to have 2 powder days in the 6 days we had snowboarding. 5cm of snow was predicted one day, and we ended up 50cm. We went...More

1  Thank LiamHearne
Destination-Myoko, Marketing at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review Myoko LiamHearne and so glad you had an awesome trip. Your timing was pretty good it seems. Hope you'll come back to visit us another season when the regular Myoko powder taps are turned on!

Reviewed 23 February 2016

Another visit this year, and even though it had not been a great year for snowfall, Myoko rarely disappoints. Very few crowds, great snow, reasonable prices- hard to beat

1  Thank JEJ54
Destination-Myoko, Marketing at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Sorry we couldn't turn the snow on for you this season JEJ54. Thanks for the positive outlook/review and look forward to having you back soon - hopefully with some legendary Myoko pow!

Reviewed 23 February 2016

A wonderful village positioned up the mountain in amongst the trees and overlooking the valley. We stayed in the 'Central Hotel' which had it all for a group of skiers - dated but clean and tidy, traditional rooms, breaky included offering western and Japanese, cosy...More

Thank Mark F
Destination-Myoko, Marketing at Myoko Kogen, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review Myoko Mark F. Glad that you had a great stay and hope to see you back another time!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Restaurant Shibata
36 reviews
.10 km away
Udon No Fu
23 reviews
.15 km away
Lodge Hunter
17 reviews
.24 km away
Pomodoro
28 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Myoko Snowsports
83 reviews
.15 km away
Akakura Onsen Ski Area
124 reviews
.30 km away
Akakan Ski Area
85 reviews
.65 km away
Questions & AnswersAsk a question
r0gue-rev1ewer
Can you ski in between the resorts at myoko kogen? or are the resorts only accessible by bus? where is a good place to stay for a intermediate/ advanced skier at myoko kogen?
19 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Destination-Myoko | Property representative |
Double posting. Please see our answer in your original post. Thanks!
0
Votes
r0gue-rev1ewer
Can you ski in between the resorts at myoko kogen? or are the resorts only accessible by bus? where is a good place to stay for a intermediate/ advanced skier at myoko kogen?
19 May 2017|
Answer
Response from Destination-Myoko | Property representative |
Only Akakura Onsen and Akakura Kanko (Akakan) resorts are adjacent. A joint ticket is available for 4,800-5,000 yen a day. Other resorts are accessible via shuttle or some hotels offer free shuttles (check when booking... More
0
Votes
Jamiejim74
Can someone please tell us if Myoko Kogen is a direct ski in ski out property please?
30 April 2017|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from Destination-Myoko | Property representative |
It's not a 'property' Jamiejim7, it's a resort area, made up of 5 separate ski resorts. You will need to consider various accommodation options within those resorts. However please be aware that ski in, ski out options are... More
1
Vote