We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shah Tours & Travels: Tours & Tickets

Features Animals
Open Now: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
All photos (140)
Full view
Certificate of Excellence
Traveller Overview
  • Excellent90%
  • Very good7%
  • Average1%
  • Poor0%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mountain inn”(22 reviews)
“uhuru peak”(11 reviews)
About
Shah Tours & Travels Ltd a reliable and fully licensed tour operator established in 1984. With over 30 years experience in organising Mt. Kilimanjaro & Mt. Meru treks, wildlife safaris, day tours and much more!
Certificate of Excellence
Open Now
Hours Today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Suggested Duration:More than 3 hours
Contact
Sekou Toure way, Moshi 1821, Tanzania
Website
+255 27 275 2370
Call
Improve This Listing
Shah Tours & Travels Tours and Tickets
from US$ 50.00
More Info
See all tours & tickets
106Reviews0Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 94
  • 8
  • 1
  • 0
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This is a dishonest company and I would avoid it. I scheduled a private group climb of Mt. Meru with Shah Tours. Their description stated that it would be a private tour for our group. Arusha National Park mandates that an armed ranger accompany all climbers. The itinerary
Read more
Response from Explorer59259036791, Owner at Shah Tours & Travels
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Trackrunner321, Thank you for taking your time to offer feedback on your tours and I am sorry for the negative experience you have had whilst touring with us. I have reviewed all of your correspondences with our sales team and we had never claimed that you would have a private armed ranger on the trek, nor had you ever asked us regarding this (as we may not have realised this was so important to you). The armed Ranger is not part of our 'crew' and instead provided by the national park for all client’s safety. All companies are expected to share these rangers as they are limited and a private Meru trek with us includes dedicated guides, transfers, porters and a cook as was provided for you. It is very unfortunate the others you shared with were not to your pace and the park only had the one ranger available on the day. I could only apologize for this as the ranger couldn’t leave the slow walker behind! I can appreciate your itinerary could have been planned in Arusha however you had planned with our consultant to be based in Moshi to keep your costs down (as you had already asked for a discounted rate), our logistics easier as our operations are based in Moshi and you had also advised that your departure flight was from Kilimanjaro Airport which is closer to Moshi. Our consultants had also explained by email the distance between Moshi and Arusha (2 to 2.5 hours) but in hindsight I appreciate our consultants could have done more to pressure you to change to Arusha. Our drivers appreciate our base location and would never pressure clients to leave early, only to get the maximum experience. The best location however after a crater game drive would not be Arusha and would have been the crater rim or Karatu to allow maximum time, best location and scenery! Overall based on your feedback left with us and above, all our members of staff and service we provided was rated as excellent, you did see a lot of animals on the safari, and you enjoyed touring with us. I believe you had commented ‘best guide I have ever had’ on your feedback form and this is the exact reason many book with us regardless of our location / base hotel / price. Unfortunately, the disappointment from the shared park ranger seems to have ruined the whole experience with us which unfortunately was out of our control. We have been operating climbs, safaris and tours since 1984 and would have no benefit or intention to con any of our clients as quick money doesn’t allow us to survive for 35 years. We pride ourselves as a reputable company and you can see others have commented regularly on this site on our clear sales process, quality consultants and transparency. Best regards, Roheel Shah Managing Director
Read more
Cannot day enough great things about the experience that Shah Tours and their most excellent guides, porters, cooks and staff gave us. Our group of 21, with a wide variety of climbing experience, all felt well taken care of. Moussa was an amazing head guide, super friendly, very
Read more
Response from ShahToursTZ, Owner at Shah Tours & Travels
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear EricK140, Thank you so much for write us this wonderful and thoughtful review. It was an honor hosting your group of 21 and congratulation to you and everyone for their specif achievements. We are really glad that despite the weather challenge you still managed to have an amazing experience. Thank you for sharing your experience with us I am sure other travelers will learn something from it. Looking forward to hosting you again in the future may be for Meru climb or safari. Thanks
Read more
Shah Tours has been fantastic, we had excellent and highly experiences guides (10+ years experience), regular communication and information from both the head office and the team as we climbed, very good food, good equipment and comparatively cheaper than the international
Read more
Response from ShahToursTZ, Owner at Shah Tours & Travels
Responded 29 Oct 2019
Dear Josh F, Greetings from Shah Tours! Thank you so much for taking your time to write us this wonderful and beautiful. A big congratulation to the 4 of you for reaching the roof top of Africa despite the weather challenges, we are happy for you. We are really happy that you had an amazing experience and that you enjoyed the services of our team. Greetings from Calvin and Augustine! Looking forward to hosting you again in the future
Read more
Three friends and I trekked Kilimanjaro with Shah Tours and we cannot recommend it enough. Our two guides, August and Calvin, were supportive, professional, knowledgeable and fun. The team of porters and cook provided incredible support and we were well looked after throughout
Read more
Response from ShahToursTZ, Owner at Shah Tours & Travels
Responded 28 Oct 2019
Dear 547cynthiab, Greetings from Shah Tours! Thank you very much for writing us this beautiful review. Congratulation to the 4 of you for reaching the roof top of Africa! We are glad that you had an excellent climb and that you have enjoyed the services of your guides and porters. Thank you for the recommendation and we wish you all the best
Read more
We managed to reach the Uhuru Peak via the 5-days Marangu route thanks to the excellent support team: the guides (David, Vincent and Hilary), the cook and the porters who did an amazing job feeding us and keeping us going especially in the challenging summit day. Thank you
Read more
Response from ShahToursTZ, Owner at Shah Tours & Travels
Responded 28 Sep 2019
Dear Mihaela, Greetings from Shah Tours! Thank you so much for taking your time to write us this wonderful and beautiful. A big congratulation to the 6 of you for making it to the summit in just 5 days, it is a huge achievement. We are really happy that you had an amazing experience and that you enjoyed the services of our team. Greetings to members of Farcas and Dinsoreanu families. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future!
Read more
Previous
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 24 nearby hotels
Kilimanjaro Wonders Hotel
213 reviews
.63 km away
Parkview Inn
252 reviews
.66 km away
Salinero Hotels - Millie Lodge
7 reviews
.82 km away
Altezza Lodge
147 reviews
.94 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 71 nearby restaurants
Union Cafe
76 reviews
1.00 km away
Union Cafe
543 reviews
.98 km away
Mimosa
189 reviews
.65 km away
Mountain Inn - Indian Restaurant
59 reviews
.53 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all nearby attractions
Uhuru Smiles
6 reviews
.11 km away
Alerics Tanzania Safaris
5 reviews
.16 km away
Zuri Tours and Safaris
103 reviews
.17 km away