New York City Tours
New York: 1-Day Hop-on Hop-off Tour & Empire State Building Entry
3.5

New York: 1-Day Hop-on Hop-off Tour & Empire State Building Entry

By Big Bus New York
About
from
₹8,566.12
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 3-99
Duration: 1h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Audio guide: English, French, Spanish
More


  • Entry to the Empire State Building
  • Hop-on hop-off, open-top, sightseeing bus tour
  • Wi-Fi on board
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off

  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Pushchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5096P33

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Most travellers can participate

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

The tour operator has provided the following answers to customers’ questions.
Do I have to pre-book a time to visit the Empire State Building using the Empire State Building Ticket w/ Hop-on Hop-off Bus?
Before you can board the bus, you will need to pre-book a time and date for your tour. You can do this through our online booking portal (which will be provided in your confirmation email), or with our staff at the departure locations.
Answered Mar 2021
How often does a bus arrive at each stop during the Empire State Building Ticket with Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?
A bus arrives approximately every hour on both the Downtown (Red) and Uptown (Blue) routes.
Answered Mar 2021
Do I have to go to a central location to redeem my ticket for the Empire State Building Ticket with Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour?
You may redeem your printed or electronic ticket at any of the listed bus stops.
Answered Mar 2021
How long is a full circle ride on the Empire State Building Ticket with Hop-on Hop-off Bus Tour without getting off?
A full rotation on each of the Downtown (Red) and Uptown (Blue) routes is approximately 90 mins. Note: Tour duration can fluctuate according to the season.
Answered Mar 2021

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 5096P33

Reserve your spot

Similar experiences

About the operator
Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
  • Big Bus New York
    12,616
    United States
    Joined in June 2007
  • ameliaj918
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Large family adventure with ease
    This was the best way for our large family spanning many generations and interests to get an overview of the city on a hot day. We could sit and relax and see the city and then get off and explore sites and tourist attractions. It was awesome
    Written 19 June 2024
  • jamesrW6246JW
    0 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Not bad. Needs improvement
    Buses are over crowded. There should also be a more efficient boarding process. Service on day pass ends too early. Hard to get back to starting stop before service ends. Service dart and end time is not clearly explained on website or trip advisor. ETA’s stop to stop would be helpful. Bus route only goes in one direction. 2 direct routes would help
    Written 19 June 2024
  • Meander48119956773
    0 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Not happy with my experience
    We bought 3 excursions through go city. I only wanted to do the big bus 1 day for one excursion. When the attendant printed my ticket she printed it for 2 days. When i told her i only wanted it for 1 day she said oh it’s complimentary. Well it wasn’t. Two of our 3 excursions were used on the big bus. Big bus has some scammers working for them.
    Written 16 June 2024
  • jomB2503ZX
    0 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Awful!
    What an incredible rip off! Eleven of us took the bus thinking that the tickets were around $58. We were charged $82 per ticket. The hop on/ hop off only works if you hop off fast and if you can figure out where in the heck you are. Awful!
    Written 15 June 2024
  • Voyage568344
    0 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Really just transportation. Not an actually tour experience.
    Not a whole lot of content on the audio tour. Mostly just music, a few cheap jokes, and large crowds and waits at some stops. Not saying it’s a “not worth it” situation, but know it’s not really a “tour” experience.
    Written 14 June 2024
  • Climber588020
    0 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Terrible
    Terrible, Travelling with Kids purchased tickets by spending 230$ , It started raining the buses were packed and overloaded more than desired limit. Literally no room to stand as well, they started turning down passengers. All I did was buy a ticket never used when asked for refund for unused ticket they said they cannot provide refund and told me that they will re issue tickets for future use, really. It may be worth if weather is good and less crowd. If its crowed Big Bus says they are not responsible for, and you have to wait till you get a next bus. This worse than Airline over sell and throw you under the Bus
    Written 13 June 2024
  • 440taniab
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Great and Easy way to see the city
    I recently took the Big Bus Tour in New York, and it was a good experience! The open-top buses provided great views of iconic landmarks like the Empire State Building, and Times Square. The audio commentary was informative and the hop-on-hop-off feature allowed me to explore different neighborhoods at my own pace. The guide/driver, Copeland, had excellent driving skills, was friendly and helpful, and making announcements at every stop, which made the whole experience hassle-free. Highly recommend this tour for a comprehensive and convenient way to see the city’s highlights and ask for Copeland!
    Written 11 June 2024
  • D1898WJpatriciab
    0 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    NEW YORK BIG BUS TOTAL DISASTER
    HAVING EXPLAINED TO A PERSON FROM THE BIG BUS CCOMPANY THAT I WOULD REALLY LIKE TO SEE ALL THE THINGS ON THE BLUE & THE RED LINE & DID NOT HAVE TIME THE NEXT DAY. I WAS TOLD THAT I COULD DO THE TWO LINES IN ONE DAY. AFTER DOING THE RED LINE I GOT OFF IN THE EXACT SPOT TO CHANGE FOR THE BLUE LINE. TO MY SURPRISE THIS LINE HAD LONG FINISHED FOR THE DAY. NOW I HAVE BEEN REFUSED A REFUND AFTER TWO WEEKD OF E MAILS. ALSO I WOULD LIKE TO ADD THAT ALL THE THINGS THAT YOU ARE SUPPOSED TO SEE YOU DONT. UNLESS YOU CATCH A QUICK GLIPSE LOOKING DOWN A SIDE STREET. DONT BLINK EITHER OTHERWISE YOU WILL MISS THINGS. DONT USE THIS COMPANY ALL THEY WANT IS TO TAKE YOUR MONEY THEN NOT RESPONSABLE AFTER.
    Written 11 June 2024
  • Explorer755045
    0 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Miserable
    This was a total disappointment as every bus was packed and there was no way to sit on the top open deck. To make matters much worse, the windows on the bottom deck could not be opened and the bus had no air conditioning so we were basically sitting in a 80 degree hot box with a hot bus engine running under our seats for an hour. It was miserable.
    Written 10 June 2024
  • clairewood82
    0 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Excellent way to see the city
    Really surprised reading some of the other reviews as we had an amazing time using this service. We got on the 1st bus of the day and sat upstairs, loved the free earphones and the commentary is great, especially the new york themed music in between facts! We got off at a few stops and waited no longer then 10 mins for another. We chose to sit downstairs a few times as it was very sunny in the afternoon and the air con was blasting so it was perfect, we actually did the red loop twice so we could re-see some of the sights Would defo do again!!
    Written 8 June 2024
  • B6877BSjoer
    0 contributions
    3.0 of 5 bubbles
    Nice way to tour but more clear direction would be nice.
    It’s a really nice way to see the city. There isn’t a lot of direction on where and when the tour stops. The directions say you can get on the bus at any stop to start your day but the bus driver said we had to get on at a location with a street attendant. The audio guide was off on the timing of the landmarks and I wish there was more information from the guide. But like I said it’s a really nice way to see the city.
    Written 7 June 2024
  • achesnpains
    0 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Very, very disappointing!
    The overall rating is poor because although there is a lot of value in touring NewYork via sight-see bus there is a minimum level of competence one expects for the money. And it is not cheap, to start with. The first problem we encountered was the earphones/audio system was useless - crackling and distortion which made it impossible to make out the narration. So while we enjoyed rubber-necking we had no clue as to where we were or what we were looking at. We changed seats several times, and even tried the audio on a different bus but no audio worked! The other issue we encountered: the ballyhooed feature of Big Bus is being able to hop on, hop off. Don’t do it! Particularly on busy summer days. If you start your trip at one of the main bus terminals you will get an open air seat, which is great. When you get off, as we did to catch a meal, on a busy day the top seats were all taken and we were squashed into the downstairs whic is NOT air-conditioned and has few windows. You will then ride around in the inferno until some upstairs seats become available as people get off. So we ended up skipping the uptown part of the tour rather than enduring this. We found the staff friendly and as helpful as they could be under the circumstances, the proble appears to lie with management and their vehicle maintenance.
    Written 7 June 2024
  • Venture44246629580
    0 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Anybody but Big Bus.
    This experience was crazy from the beginning. The two day , hop on hop off was supposed to have begun when we presented our QR code for ticket redemption by one of their representives. We were told by a representive at the bus stop that our tickets had already been redeemed and there was nothing he could do without printed paperwork. We went back to the hotel and got all of our confirmation paperwork then took it back to the bus stop, about 20 blocks round trip. They gave us a signed business card which we were able to use. Then we found out that the entire blue line is suspended tomorrow (our day 2), which messed up our whole schedule. There are many other more fleable options, such as Grayline or Redtop. Avoid BigBus as they are very inflexible, especially when plans change thanks to them.
    Written 1 June 2024
  • haddonk857
    0 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Refused to let use shelter from the storm
    While waiting for our bus, a sudden thunderstorm rolled in and started to downpoor and lightning. Two buses pulled into our stop but one of them was full inside. The other one refused to open their doors and let us shelter inside even though there was no one in it. My entire family got completely soaked due to the sideways rain and we had to go all the way back to Brookyln so everyone could change clothes. We ended up missing most of the day and could only complete half of the downtown loop even though we paid for both loops.
    Written 30 May 2024
  • 331kristine
    0 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Disappointing
    So disappointing. My husband and I did this same tour a few years ago and it was wonderful— but now, it’s awful. They don’t have live tour guides anymore- only a cheesy looped recording that isn’t timed with where you are in the city. Also, on the Uptown loop, they made us change busses in the middle of the tour for some reason without telling us. And then later this afternoon, on the Downtown loop, our bus broke down by the Chelsea Pier- no one came up to tell us it broke down- after 10 minutes people just started getting off the bus and the driver was standing there not saying anything to anyone. When so tried to ask he said we might be able to walk down a few blocks to another stop but he wasn’t sure when/if another bus was coming. We were also no where near a subway station- we had to walk 20 minutes to find the closest station. There was zero communication and the entire day the people who worked the busses were apathetic at best. I’ve used this outfit in other cities, including NY and Chicago and the best thing I can say is that it’s a waste of money and beyond disappointing in NYC now. You can see more and get more information on an NYC city bus.
    Written 28 May 2024
See all 12,616 reviews
These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

Popular mentions

3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles45 reviews
Excellent
16
Very good
7
Average
5
Poor
7
Terrible
10

Ron A
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start by saying you should avoid this business at all costs! The crummy operation has so many faults it's almost difficult to list them all. But I will start;

First of all the app is a total piece of garbage. It doesn't give you a real time position of the buses and when changes are made to the pickup spots it's not registering.

The audio tour is absolutely horrendous! It's read by two childish voices that have no sense of history or drama. It's infantile and sophomoric, and very condescending to the listeners. Most of it is trashy music and they're are long pauses without information being given. As we went by famous buildings, there was no description given about most of them.

Trying to get help from the street hawkers was pretty much useless. They have heavy accents and most are polite but they just want to sell you a package. We walked around Times Square 8 to 10 blocks going from one stop to another and back again, these people hadn't a clue.. Internal communication between the vendors is non-existent at best, and horrible from central office.

Seats on the bus are hard plastic and Ill formed, it's difficult to keep your butt to the back of the seat without sliding out.

The good thing about having a broken audio port is that I couldn't get the volume any higher which is a blessing because of the chattering and all the blah blah blah that is on the audio track I couldn't take it any higher.

I suppose I could go on, but why it beat a dead horse. That's what this Hop on Hop off is, a dead horse!

Written 30 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hello, We regret your most recent visit with us was not up to the standards we strive for. Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention with all of the details provided. We value customer feedback as it allows us to understand what areas we can work on in our operation so we can ensure each customer leaves 100% satisfied. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with our services, and will use this as an opportunity to improve. If possible, can you please reach out to us at ReserveNY@bigbustours.com so we can speak further?
Written 3 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Anna S
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 • Friends
Horrible service . We stood in a line for one hour because three buses in a raw had the wedding and they were not taking people. Another buses were full.

The drivers do not speak English.

There is no guide and the audio guide is not informative .

Horrible .
Written 18 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Renee G
2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Friends
We never got a ticket, they just let us get on and off, but when we went to the Empire State Building, they said the bus tour should have given us a ticket, and, of course, they were already closed and the phone number doesn’t work. We lost $150 because we weren’t able to do the Empire State Building. Very disappointing!!
Written 8 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Bert W
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Family
The route is good, be wary of traffic, in the morning almost quicker to walk!! A few gotcha's: 1) They don't tell you the uptown and downtown tour only goes to 5:00 pm: 2) You have to buy a separate nighttime hop on hop off for an additional $19.95 ea. 3) some bus drivers are cool others flat out rude, one of ours on Thursday June 1st, didn't even stop at Statue of Liberty Stop, and when we asked to get off, very very rude, starting yelling at us that we didn't tell him we wanted to get off, he said "you don't tell me, I'll tell you when you can get off", thankfully we talked him into opening the door during heavy traffic and we got out and walked back to Battery Park (entrance for statue of Liberty) : If you pack your patience, you may have a great time on the bus, it is misleading however, tons of people and traffic so slow, if there are 4 or more of you, it could be cheaper to Uber to the 3 or 4 main sites, i.e Statue of Liberty, Empire State buiding, Rockerfeller Center, 911 memorial?? The open second deck seating is nice if it is not too hot? Also they need to incorporate info regarding observation deck of new WTC Tower up on the 102nd deck!
Written 9 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bert W, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with the tour and were not made aware of our operational hours. We try our best to communicate this and have it posted on our website, app, brochure, and tickets. We apologize if any of our drivers were rude and assure you we do not condone this. If you have the name or description of the driver, date, time, and your booking reference, please reach out to us at ReserveNY@bigbustours.com so we can address this.
Written 27 June 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

H R
Phoenix, AZ62 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all.. IF you are going to book this wait until you are in NYC. They are on every corner selling tickets. Second, we went on a rainy day and did not get our moneys worth.., we ended up taking Ubers in between bus stops so we didn’t have to wait or walk several blocks to catch a vERY crowded bus. At one stop… in the pouring rain we were told a bus was not coming by a big bus operator.., we were contemplating calling another Uber and a bus showed up and the big bus operator was like oh, it didn’t show on the app. Save your money and map out the sites yourself and you will be there quicker.
Written 8 October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Heatherrw2080jc, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We apologize for any confusion we caused on the day of your visit and that the weather was not in our favor. I looked into this and do not see that any GPS issues occurred this day but I will make sure to forward this to our team so they can ensure all buses are appearing on our GPS tracker. We greatly appreciate you letting us know so we can have the chance to fix this. We hope that you were still able to enjoy sightseeing with us and this did not create too much of an inconvenience.
Written 12 October 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

OnAir51042744549
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Mar 2024 • Family
Recommend not booking in advance unless you are certain you can use the service. If something happens and you can't use it on your day/days, all you get is a raincheck...next time your on a town they offer service in. Subways are faster and cheaper by far...
Written 28 March 2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Onair51042744549, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear you were unable to use your pre-purchased tickets. In the event you are unable to make it to your tour, we are able to reschedule you for another date with at least 24 hours notice prior to your selected travel date. Please reach out to our24/7 live chat for further help on rescheduling your tickets if you have not already done so. Our team will be happy to help!
Written 5 April 2024
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LynneF
13 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2023 • Couples
Started the day at 9.30 meeting outside the M&M shop. Had a go city pass which was easy to swap for a 1 day 2 route pass. Took the lower route first seeing all the sights, missed a lot of the commentary due to the poor earphones/ connection . Commentary is pre recorded and didnt always match were you were on the route. Not sure id pay the full price they were advertising due to this. Upper route was shorter and similar faults. The guides at the stops are easy to see so its easy to get back on the bus when you choose to get off and explore
Written 14 June 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hi Lynnef1969, thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience.
Written 27 June 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

KatG
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Sept 2021 • Couples
The recorded commentary is horrible. On a tour bus people are interested in knowing what buildings and sites are around them. NOT "banter" between the actors who recorded it. Also keep to your designated bus stops. Announce the bus stop number every time. Follow your posted schedules. Worst time waster ever. Not even a pretense of following the schedule. Pre recorded banter was little help figuring out what was what.
Written 14 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Candice D
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Dec 2023 • Family
Santana was the best driver that we had. We got on her bus multiple times and she went above and beyond to make sure we knew what was around us and the history of NYC! She also was funny and had a great personality. Your other drivers were not as friendly and did not speak! Santana was the bomb!!!
Written 18 December 2023
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Candice D, we're happy to hear you had such a positive experience! Santana is dedicated to show everyone a great time in New York City. We truly appreciate your feedback and will pass your comments along!
Written 22 December 2023
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

amoramichel
Hallandale Beach, FL31 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Jun 2021 • Couples
Let me start by saying my family an I have ridden the Big Red Bus tour in Chicago, California and Georgia and they were amazing, informative, kind and helpful. But The New York Big Bus tour was atrocious. They need an extreme employee make over.
With the exception of John whom was outgoing, kind and had a smile that invited you to speak to him.

Avoid this tour. They have others.
Written 26 June 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Showing results 1-10 of 39

New York: 1-Day Hop-on Hop-off Tour & Empire State Building Entry provided by Big Bus New York

All New York City HotelsNew York City Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in New York City
All things to do in New York City
Day Trips in New York City
RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire