Tours and Tickets

Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch provided by Polynesian Adventure

Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch

Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch
4.5
Book in advance
from
₹13,715.57
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Get the best views of Waimea Canyon on this comprehensive tour
Duration:
10h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
22
Service animals allowed
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
Take the hassle out of planning your Waimea Canyon visit, and simply relax while immersing yourself in the natural splendor of the canyon on this full-day guided tour. Learn about Kauai geology and history of the Grand Canyon of the Pacific, explore the historic town of Hanapepe, marvel at Spouting Horn blowhole, and take advantage of multiple dramatic photo opportunities along the way.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Learn lesser-known geological details from your guide
  • Transportation and hotel pickup and drop-off included for ease
  • See Kauai's highlights, including Spouting Horn, in just one day
What to expect
Your tour begins with early morning pickup from your Kauai hotel in Poipu, Lihue, or Wailua. Board the comfortable air-conditioned coach and head out. Learn about Kauai's history and culture as you make your way west to Waimea Canyon. Pass first through the historic town of Hanapepe, one-time home to many WWII soldiers and a popular filming location, and then continue to Spouting Horn, a natural blowhole where plumes of seawater shoot into the air. Then it's time to take a break for lunch at a local restaurant (own expense). As you approach Waimea Canyon, the tropical landscape gives way to a red clay desert of rocky basalt outcroppings. You stop to soak up the scenery at the top of the canyon while gazing down into the cavernous expanse of layered red lava rock. After winding your way out of the canyon, your tour concludes with drop-off at your hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 10h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Learn lesser-known geological details from your guide
  • Transportation and hotel pickup and drop-off included for ease
  • See Kauai's highlights, including Spouting Horn, in just one day
What to expect
Your tour begins with early morning pickup from your Kauai hotel in Poipu, Lihue, or Wailua. Board the comfortable air-conditioned coach and head out. Learn about Kauai's history and culture as you make your way west to Waimea Canyon. Pass first through the historic town of Hanapepe, one-time home to many WWII soldiers and a popular filming location, and then continue to Spouting Horn, a natural blowhole where plumes of seawater shoot into the air. Then it's time to take a break for lunch at a local restaurant (own expense). As you approach Waimea Canyon, the tropical landscape gives way to a red clay desert of rocky basalt outcroppings. You stop to soak up the scenery at the top of the canyon while gazing down into the cavernous expanse of layered red lava rock. After winding your way out of the canyon, your tour concludes with drop-off at your hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 2360KAUAI2
Important information
Inclusions
  • Lunch
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Tour narration by a professional driver/guide
  • Pick-up and drop-off at specific Kauai Hotels
  • Entry/Admission - Waimea Canyon State Park
  • Entry/Admission - Pu'u Hina Hina
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Port pick-up and drop-off
Duration
10h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • For guests staying at a North Shore or Princeville hotel, the meeting point is at the Outrigger Waipouli Hotel in Kapa'a. Parking is available at the municipal parking lot near the Outrigger Waipouli Hotel. The tour times provided reflect the start and end of the tour, but not your exact pickup location and pickup time. Whether or not you've provided your hotel/lodging at the time of booking, you are required to contact the tour provider no less than (2) days prior to your tour date to receive your exact pickup time and location. The tour provider will advise you of the specific area at the hotel/lodging you should wait; for example, "at the front entrance." Please be there at least 5 minutes before your pickup time. If your hotel/lodging is not included on our pickup schedule, you'll be advised to meet at nearby location. Please note that we are prohibited by certain properties to pick up non-hotel guests and we do not pick-up at private properties such as Airbnb’s and residential areas.
  • Airports:
  • Kauai Island Airport, 3901 Mokulele Loop, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please contact the tour provider at minimum of 7 days prior to the tour date for ADA and all special requests.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travellers
Inclusions
  • Lunch
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Tour narration by a professional driver/guide
  • Pick-up and drop-off at specific Kauai Hotels
  • Entry/Admission - Waimea Canyon State Park
  • Entry/Admission - Pu'u Hina Hina
Exclusions
  • Gratuities
  • Port pick-up and drop-off
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • For guests staying at a North Shore or Princeville hotel, the meeting point is at the Outrigger Waipouli Hotel in Kapa'a. Parking is available at the municipal parking lot near the Outrigger Waipouli Hotel. The tour times provided reflect the start and end of the tour, but not your exact pickup location and pickup time. Whether or not you've provided your hotel/lodging at the time of booking, you are required to contact the tour provider no less than (2) days prior to your tour date to receive your exact pickup time and location. The tour provider will advise you of the specific area at the hotel/lodging you should wait; for example, "at the front entrance." Please be there at least 5 minutes before your pickup time. If your hotel/lodging is not included on our pickup schedule, you'll be advised to meet at nearby location. Please note that we are prohibited by certain properties to pick up non-hotel guests and we do not pick-up at private properties such as Airbnb’s and residential areas.
  • Airports:
  • Kauai Island Airport, 3901 Mokulele Loop, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
10h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Please contact the tour provider at minimum of 7 days prior to the tour date for ADA and all special requests.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 22 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 14 Apr 2022
A note from Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch
Since the COVID-19 pandemic began, we have elevated our existing cleaning regimen and developed the POLYAD CLEAN RIDE Program which has enhanced procedures and protocols for cleaning and disinfecting our fleet to the standards recommended by the CDC using EPA-approved products.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
Itinerary
  • You'll get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Spouting Horn
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Hanapepe Valley Lookout
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Swinging Bridge
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Waimea
    Stop: 45 minutes
    See details
  • 5
    Waimea Canyon State Park
    Stop: 45 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 6
    Koke'e State Park
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 7
    Pu'u Hina Hina
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 8
    Kekaha Beach Park
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 9
    Russian Fort Elizabeth State Historical Park
    Stop: 15 minutes
    See details
  • 10
    Kauai Coffee Company
    Stop: 35 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
19 reviews
Excellent
12
Very good
4
Average
0
Poor
2
Terrible
1

rasputie
Minneapolis, MN28 contributions
Jun 2022 • Couples
We took this tour yesterday with Gabby as a guide, and overall we enjoyed it. The Waimea Canyon was absolutely gorgeous, there were several stops with lookouts to admire but we wish we would have had enough time at Koke’e Park to do a real hike and not just the 10 minute stroll in a circle right behind the museum. Spouting Horn was really fun, Waimea was a brief stop at some gift shops and JoJo’s shave ice, Hanapepe was fine with some cute shops (Swinging Bridge wasn’t that interesting), short stop at Fort Elizabeth was fine, and we really liked the Kauai Coffee Plantation at the end. We must have run out of time as we didn’t stop at Kekaha Beach Park. We absolutely loved the canyon, and it was nice not to have to drive up those winding roads ourselves, but if we were to do it again we might choose a tour that focused on the canyon with longer time there and fewer stops along the way. 3.5/5
Written 8 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

awe3mac
Marietta34 contributions
For me, the three primary components in a one-day tour like the one we took in and around Waimea Canyon are the sights, the transit vehicle, and the guide.

The Sights

I’ll substitute a couple of pictures below for a few thousand words about Waimea Canyon and surrounding Sights. You be the judge about whether you want to see this up close and personal.

The Transit Vehicle

Polynesian Tours provided a relatively new, well-air-conditioned bus seating about 20

It was quiet, comfortable, and well sized for the passenger load.

The tour was leisurely with plenty of stops, snack opportunities, and rest breaks.

The Guide

The guide, Kana’i, whose name I’ve misspelled wasn’t just icing on the cake. She was the cake.

Yes, you could easily “self tour” Waimea and the South Shore. What you couldn’t do is get a wealth of stories, history, and insight into Kauai’s people and culture.

Yes, you could read some travel books, histories, and commentaries, but not even the best of these could bring Kauai to life the way our guide did.

A different guide would have made it a different tour; so, if you book this one, ask for the guide whose full name means something like “Hibiscus on the Wind” (first name) and “Moon Over the Ocean” (middle name) she is a treasure.

Written 14 October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Rita W
Bonnie Doone, NC9 contributions
Mar 2019 • Couples
We were scheduled to take this tour from our hotel to canyon and fern grotto, with Polynesian Tours. However, once we were on bus our tour was cancelled due to fires and road closure. We opted to rent car and do our own tour when road was open. So glad we did. Unless you are fearful of winding roads, skip tour and drive it. We drove it next day after road was opened, and saw Polynesian Tour buses as well as Roberts Hawaii and others heading up road and unable to pull off on the roadside pull offs. We were able to see much more of canyon and make more stops in our car.
Written 14 March 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Susan D
17 contributions
Dec 2021
We were very disappointed with our tour. We did all the stops that were advertised but in between we got little information about Kauai. The driver finally put a DVD in the bus DVD player and we were able to get some information. In between the stops the driver was pretty much silent. This is our first trip to Kauai and we would have liked more information about the island - the people, history, maybe real estate information, just a lot more about the island. We travel a lot and do tours upon arrival in a new location to get an overview of the place. We have had multiple great tours on Oahu and Maui and this was by far the most disappointing tour. Thank goodness the sites were spectacular to make up for the disappointing tour guide. We don't think she really liked her job. At our stops she would go off alone and put ear pods in and isolate herself from the tour participants.
Written 7 December 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PolyAd-Plumeria
Aloha and thank you for your feedback which we have shared with our management team for appropriate follow up. Mahalo.
Written 16 December 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Pugglesmom
Treasure Island, FL6 contributions
Mar 2018 • Friends
The trip starts with a stop at Spouting Horn which was very impressive. We then stopped at a souvenir shop which is totally unacceptable for a sightseeing tour. We then went up to the canyon which was a nice view. Our final stop was a restaurant other than the one specified in the listing and had the worst food ever. Why not just drive back to Lihue and save our time since the $17 meal had to come out of my pocket anyway? Without the souvenir stop, we would have been back in plenty of time for lunch on our own. Our bus driver was very good at driving, but had nothing of value to share with us. I had hoped to learn some things, but that did not happen. The tour guide often sets the tone for a trip and we drew the short straw on this tour. Truly, this trip could not have been more disappointing. We only have 5 days on the island and Polynesian Tours wasted a good portion of one of our days. I highly encourage you to save time and money and make the drive yourself. Spouting Horn and the canyon are incredibly easy to find.
Written 28 March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We're glad that you enjoyed viewing the Spouting Horn. The brief stop at Mariko's is intended for guests to use the restroom and purchase snacks if needed. But we apologize that the tour didn't meet your expectations. Mahalo for your feedback.
Written 3 April 2018
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

3CatMom
Philomath, OR181 contributions
Oct 2017 • Couples
I booked this tour the day before we were due to take it, so I really had no idea what to expect, but hubs and I were so happy we went.

The bus is a BIG bus. Not one of those mini buses that so many tours use. It looked brand new! Seats were comfortable, windows were huge, stairs were easy to navigate, there was plenty of headroom. This bus made for a comfortable adventure.

Our driver was named “Juan”. Yeah, a real Hawaiian name, but he explained how he got it. Juan is a native Islander and with every word he spoke, you could tell how he loved this piece of paradise. He was friendly with each traveler and even tried to recall our names. His live narration was a blend of sight-seeing, Hawaiian customs, history, original beliefs, and personal experience.

And he managed to do all this talking and still drive the bus as smooth as glass.

The trip started with picking up the passengers. We were the first, so we got quite the tour of resort/hotel parking lots. Luckily, our fellow passengers were all waiting at their appointed spots, so we didn’t have to waste any time before the real trip began.

The website tells you what you will see, but Juan makes the experience come alive. Some may not like that he tells stories and gives lots of background, but that’s what I came to Hawaii for – the rest I can read about in books and magazines. It seemed like our passengers had a great time.

Comments; If you use a cane or find walking difficult, you can come on this tour. There is a ramp up to the lookout on Waimea Canyon. The blowhole overlook is just an easy walk from the bus. Even the steps on the bus are easy to navigate because they are wide and curved.

I don’t know how much small children would like this. I think they would be bored through much of it.

NOTE: If the weather is foggy or raining, it is NOT the fault of the tour company.
Written 22 October 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Sue S
Emerald Isle, NC16 contributions
Oct 2019
We ended up booked somehow on the longer tour even though we paid for shorter one. We felt we were all but held captive for 10 hours. Due to a handicapped individual on board, we had to change to a large motor coach for 15 people, but we understood. What is not clear in the literature was that tours cannot go to the top of the canyon for the best views of the coast and the canyon. Rather poor stops on other parts, gift shops, a place to eat and mostly drive bys other than Spounting horn. Overall, not a great option and you are better driving yourself and using the Kauai Gypsy app on your phone which we did 2 days later so we could see the whole canyon. Trip to River Grotto was ok.
Written 2 November 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloha, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your Waimea Canyon tour. Mahalo for your valued feedback and we hope you had a nice vacation on Kaua‘i.
Written 11 November 2019
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Bonnie B
Tyler, Texas, United States13 contributions
Oct 2019
We enjoyed this tour. Joseph was knowledgeable and interesting. He knew a lot about the island history, it’s people and vegetation. The views were amazing!
Written 18 October 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

KayG
33 contributions
My tour guide, Rosario, was interesting, entertaining, and really knew his stuff. The actual stops on the tour were wonderful! Loved the Waimea Canyon and the Wailua River Cruise/Fern Grotto tour! The lunch options were fabulous. Rosario stopped at a few unscheduled spots which was an unexpected surprise too. Overall, it was a 5-star experience.
Written 23 August 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Donovan J
New Orleans, LA14 contributions
Apr 2018 • Couples
Beauty and grand. Was amazed this was 45bmins from our hotel. Need to go as early as possible because clouds and rain will move in late morning.
Written 12 April 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 19
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Polynesian Adventure
jlgroeger
jlgroeger
00
Kauai Movie Tour was average
It’s was nice but a little long (about seven and a half hours from pick-up to drop off. It is a nice tour of the i
Mary W
Mary W
00
Fun Movie Tour
Our guide Rosario picked us up promptly and after making a few more pick ups we were on our adventure. Rosario was
rickb1Indiana
rickb1Indiana
00
A tour worth taking
The tour was on time and informative our tour covered the south coast of Kauai and Waimea Canyon. The driver was kn
419larryc
419larryc
00
Two for One
We stayed on the south end of the island and were not going to make the trip north. We booked the movie tour and go
Xanerin
Xanerin
00
Informative and Fun
We had an amazing guide who made this tour one of our best. It was fun, informative, entertaining, and exciting. We
72arlenel
72arlenel
00
Director's Cut - Very Enjoyable Tour/Excursion
We booked this tour through NCL. It was a very nice day, and we felt we saw many beautiful areas that Kauai has to
Eherby
Eherby
00
Interesting and boring at the same time
We booked this on a cruise and pay more, so if you are on a ship, feel free to book direct. Nice buses and friendly
kanta38
kanta38
00
Kanta
I had a great time on the tour. We went all over the island. The tour guide was really good. Very knowledgable. I h
emmataylor531
emmataylor531
00
This tour could use an update!
I don't really have criticisms of our driver/tour guide, but the structure of the tour needs to be rethought. By th
NicoleD4805
NicoleD4805
00
Directors cut movie tour
This tour with aunty alicia started well but we spent time at places that didnt mean much and sped past jussaric pa
Bob R
Bob R
00
Like other reviewers have noted, this is nothing more than a bus ride with very limited narration but plenty of cronyism
Don't waste a precious day on Kauai taking this tour. You can do better by yourself with your trusty Fodor guide a
Heather Hewett R
Heather Hewett R
00
Road to Hana
We had an amazing time on our guided tour road to Hana. Our tour guide, Hank, was knowledgeable and pleasant. I wou
Joan A
Joan A
00
Oahu day trip
On the plus side, the guide, Ernie, was good, the weather was perfect, and Duke's Waikiki had great view and food.
russellp117
russellp117
00
Director’s cut was one of the best
We love movies. We hoped to see some of the beautiful backgrounds for a movie or two. We were treated to 59! Fir
cassandlan1
cassandlan1
00
An easy way to cover a lot
On our vacation we chose to include the waimea canyon and wailua river tour in our activities. Our bus driver Johnn
Frequently Asked Questions about Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch

Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch will start at 7:30 AM. Discover and book Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch on Tripadvisor


Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch price starts from ₹ 13,267.77. Discover and book Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch on Tripadvisor

Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Kauai Waimea Canyon & Koke'e Valley w/ Lunch on Tripadvisor