We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Tour of African American Culture

Select Date and Travellers
US$ 67.00
2 travellers
    What to Expect
    • See rare and unique attractions that make for the best photo ops.
    • Experience a fun “behind-the-scenes” take on the story of the Music City with an “off-the-beaten-path” approach.
    • Private and group tour options available.

    Additional Information / What to expect

    Join your tour guide as you defy standard tourists sightseeing and navigate through the little-known stories of the Music City. Learn the history behind the amazing people, music, and food on a tour that is like no other in Nashville.This is a highly active, fun, non-traditional 1.5-hour walking tour. 

    Our tours put an unconventional spin on city tours, featuring the stories that were left out of the storyline. We explore the strangest, embarrassing, and deeply buried stories hidden throughout the city. We promise you will have an active, fun, engaging session.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    501 Broadway, Nashville, TN 37203, USA
    Departure Time
    11:00 AM
    1h 30m
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    • Local guide
    • The listed price does not include downtown parking fee, payable at the time of parking.
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    All sales are final and incur 100% cancellation penalties.
    Traveller rating
    • 6
    • 0
    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    Excellent tour!! This was a very informative and educational experience. I’m so glad I was able to go on this tour as it really shaped my understanding of the black experience. We discussed race relations in Nashville in the past and present through a historical context. Our
    Read more
    Worth every minute! This tour provided a deep understanding of Nashville African American culture and history. I learned about American history and how the economy is connected to slavery. It gave us a chance to see the real Nashville others won't show you. Out of all of the
    Read more
    My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our tour.  Chakita was friendly and personable and was able to explain the largely untold story of the contributions that African Americans have made in Nashville.  I would recommend this tour to anyone who would like to know more about African
    Read more
    The tour was a great introduction to the geography and places of Nashville downtown. Chaquita knew where to go and what to see and, most importantly, what to emphasize in the history of African-Americans in Nashville and Tennessee. Hearing her and seeing the monuments gave the
    Read more
    Very disappointing. The guide’s knowledge was very superficial. We started 20minutes late, as the guide was not at agreed meeting point. The tour was advertised as an hour and a half but took only just over an hour. It did not finish at Capitol as advertised. It was very
    Read more
    Response from NashvilleTours, Owner at Tour of African American Culture
    Responded 10 Mar 2019
    Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to write to us and express your grievances on how our services did not meet your expectations. At United Street Tours, our greatest desire is to ensure our customers are satisfied at all levels and we regret that we let you down. You booked approx. 3-months in advance and in between that time, our starting and ending location changed due to the abnormally cold, below 20-degree weather that we experienced at the beginning of March. At the time, we felt that it would be better to begin the tour in the heat at the Nashville Visitor’s Center as well as end the tour in the heat at the historic Woolworth Restaurant were the sit-ins took place during the civil rights movement instead of outside at the Capitol Building to provide a better customer experience. However, this was not communicated to you in advance to our fault. This information has been updated on our booking platforms as a result of your feedback so thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please accept our sincere apology for the difficulties we have caused you. Our aspiration is to keep you as one of our most valued customers, and we hope to serve you better in subsequent times. As stated during our private correspondence, if you would like to discuss this further, we are available by phone at 615-447-8107. We’re open to suggestions that you may have to make this right. Sincerely, Chakita
    Read more
    Key Details
    • United Street Tours
    • Duration: 1h 30m
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:000-0800-100-6999