South PacificNew ZealandSouth IslandCanterbury RegionAkaroaPlaces to visit in AkaroaTours and Tickets

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River provided by Leisure Tours

Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$ 110.90
Date
2 adults
Options
Low Price Guarantee
No Booking Fees
Overview
Itinerary
+
You'll start at
Akaroa Dolphins
65 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New ZealandFrom the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.15am for a 10.30am departure.
See address & details
  • Pass by Akaroa Village Inn
  • 1
    Christchurch Botanic Gardens
    Stop: 30 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Cathedral Square
  • 2
    Alpine Jet Thrills Limited - Braided Shallows
    Stop: 35 minutes -
    See details
    Pass by Banks Peninsula
You'll end at
Akaroa Dolphins
65 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New ZealandFrom the Main Wharf in Akaroa, head down to the end where you will see the Akaroa I-Site and a small park on the right-hand side. Next to the Canon statue, a representative will be waiting for you. Please arrive by 10.15am for a 10.30am departure.
See address & details
Important Information
Departure Point
Akaroa Dolphins, 65 Beach Road, Akaroa 7520, New Zealand
Duration
6h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Port pickup and drop-off
  • Local guide
  • Jet-boat ride
  • Covered by Viator’s worry-free policy: guaranteed on-time return to your ship
Exclusions
  • Food and drinks
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
  • Life-vests and splash-proof jackets provided on jet-boat
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Not recommended for travellers with back problems
  • Not recommended for pregnant travellers
  • No heart problems or other serious medical conditions
  • Please note that activity times and schedules can be slightly amended depending on your cruise ships timetable.
  • The minimum age for jet-boating is two years of age.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
Cancellation Policy
If you cancel between 3 and 6 day(s) in advance of the scheduled departure, there is a 50 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel within 2 days of the scheduled departure, there is a 100 percent cancellation fee. If you cancel at least 7 days in advance of the scheduled departure, there is no cancellation fee.
53Reviews
1Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 1
  • 1
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Cecilia L wrote a review 9 Mar
30 contributions4 helpful votes
This tour was a little disorganized to get us off to our activities, the speed boat ride thru the river was fun!
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Response from Canterburyleisure, Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River
Responded 3 weeks ago
It is always disappointing to receive a review with the implication there were issues with the excursion without further explanation. The reviewer was cruising on the Celebrity Solstice which was over an hour late berthing in Akaroa due to strong wind gusts at the harbours heads. As a result the excursions timing was rescheduled to accommodate for the late arrival of all those booked on the various excursions Even with the excursion departing 30 minutes later than scheduled the excursion duration was not affected. I am pleased you enjoyed the jet boating.
Read more
Skinflint_traveller wrote a review Feb 2020
Lake Forest, California47 contributions21 helpful votes
The bus ride was a long one from Akaroa, but the scenery was fantastic and the seats were comfortable. We went in mid February, and the water levels were down. This added to the excitement. Make no mistake... it is a tad bit dangerous. We scraped bottom on the river bed 3 times.
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River
Responded 4 weeks ago
Thanks for the awesome review! I'm really glad you had such a great time on your Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on the Waimak River from Akaroa. It really is a beautiful drive through the scenic Banks Peninsula and our vehicles are both modern and comfortable. With regards to the jet boating, the ride up the Waimakariri River is really exciting and fun. It may feel exhilarating and even a little scary, but feel rest assured that the jet boat drivers are all professionals and there have been no major accidents involving Jet Thrills that we are aware of since operations have begun. They also adopt some of the highest safety practises for any tour operators based in NZ, which means that all our passengers are in safe hands! Also, thanks for the advice regarding the tenders into Akaroa Port. Though our official departure time is 10.30am, lines can be long for the tenders on the cruises and delays are possible - so allowing yourself at least an hour to board a tender means that everyone can arrive at the shore on time and, in many cases, depart well before schedule. Thanks again and I hope you get to return to Akaroa and Christchurch again soon!
Read more
Pathfinder794970 wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
Our driver did a great job showing us the Banks Peninsula and Christchurch. It's a shame so much damage from the 2011 Earthquake in Christchurch, but still beautiful and good to hear the story and rebuild going on. The Jet Boat ride on the Waimak was a real hoot! loved it.
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Response from Canterburyleisure, Digital Marketing Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River
Responded 16 Feb 2020
Thank you for the great review and kind words. I'm happy you enjoyed your Christchurch city shore excursion with Jet Boating and that your driver/guides did a great job. Yeah, there are still some areas of Christchurch that need rebuilds and repairs from the Earthquakes of 2010 and 2011. We are a small country and the progress has been slow, but we're overall happy that much of the city has been rebuilt and that things are getting back to how they were pre-earthquake. It's also nice for people to see the rebuilding in action on these tours so they have a much better understanding of what happened here nearly a decade ago. Thanks again and I hope you get to visit New Zealand again soon!
Read more
Emma S wrote a review Feb 2020
Geelong, Australia4 contributions2 helpful votes
I was so excited to go on this trip it looked amazing and it was the one shore excursion we had planed to do whilst on our cruise. Unfortunately, due to the cruise tendering process we were unable to get to the pick up location on time. I have tried on sever occasions to
Read more
Date of experience: January 2020
Response from Canterburyleisure, Manager at Akaroa Shore Excursion: Banks Peninsula, Christchurch City Tour and Jet Boat on Waimak River
Responded 5 Feb 2020
The excursion had a scheduled departure time of 10.30. Off this cruise ship we had 182 passengers pre-booked, all of the passengers bar this booking were ashore and aboard the coaches by the scheduled departure time. We held a vehicle back until 11.00 am to wait for these late arrivals to catch up the excursion in Christchurch, however, this booking did not arrive until 11.20 by which time it was far too late to do the excursion. The fact that they missed the tour was completely their own fault. To date we have received no communication at all from the customers requesting a refund or for assistance with a travel insurance claim, which we would happily assist with.
Read more
Read 49 more reviews on Viator
About the operator
By: Leisure Tours
Lyn W
Lithgow, Australia
62
Akaroa & Surrounds
We were met ashore in Akaroa with a friendly welcome and to our surprise we were upgraded and we got to go to
Read more
Amanda-Maaike
20
Winery Tour
I went on this tour with my mother and 3 year old son, and everyone (driver, winery staff, and fellow tourists)
Read more
Bob C
30
Great Wineries with Great People!
My wife and I had such a good time. We ended up becoming good friends with everyone else on the tour. Well worth
Read more
TheAdmiralW
Sydney, Australia
6726
A great experience sort of
I have been on many different wine tours and this was my first in New Zealand. The organisers did a great job and
Read more
Geoffrey M
Atherton, United Kingdom
5022
Cruise trip from Akaroa
Chris was a very knowledgeable driver and guide. He must have needed throat lozenges after this trip as he never
Read more
Christine H
Grafton, Australia
10
Dunedin sightseeing
Ross was our guide. He was very knowledgable and helpful. Highly recommend this tour. Olveston House is amazing
Read more
Debbie S
Phoenix, Arizona
20
Lord of the Rings half day!
Quite incredible! Our tour guide taught us a lot! Went to scenes where the movies were shot and the Weta Wow
Read more
Frank C
54
3 day tour Auckland to Wellington
DO NOT USE LEISURE TOURS. We booked a three day tour from Auckland to Wellington and paid $1308 US dollars. Day
Read more
100kaylaw
Ashburton, New Zealand
133
Amazing
Our tour guide Keith was fantastic - a great sense of humour and super patient with our group. The wine tasting
Read more
LStarcevich
2511
Fun Day On The Taieri Gorge Train!
During a cruise stop in beautiful Dunedin we chose to take the train up to the Taieri Gorge. We were picked up
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:000-0800-100-6999