Tours and Tickets
Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience
4.5

Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience

By Red Bus Bistro
About
from
₹4,716.59
per adult
Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 5-99, max of 20 per group
Duration: 1h 30m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Handmade Sandwich selections
  • Home baked warm scone with cream, jam and strawberry garnish
  • Selection of Petit Fours
  • Sumptuous cupcakes
  • Unlimited Tea & Coffee
What's not included
  • Souvenir drinks cup


Start:
  • Shuttle Street, Shuttle St, Glasgow G1, UK
    Adjacent to Amore Restaurant.
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Pushchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 60757P2

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Most travellers can participate
    • TERMS & CONDITIONS
    • We do not offer live or recorded guide commentary on our buses. We are a dining Experience whilst touring Edinburgh or Glasgow.
    • Red Bus Bistro Bookings are only valid for the date and time stated.
    • Patrons should expect to share a table especially on our busier weekend tours. If patrons would rather not share a table we can try and accommodate them on a quieter tour.
    • Patrons are requested to arrive 10–15 minutes before departure at Shuttle Street Glasgow Unfortunately we cannot wait for late comers as we only have a limited time on stand. Refunds will not be offered to latecomers.
    • We offer gluten free or vegetarian options. Our Products may contain nuts. Please specify requirements upon reservation.
    • No tickets are issued for the tour.
    • Your Surname is passed to the Bus Manager prior to your tour, this will be requested upon arrival at the bus, you can print this email out purely for your own information.
    • Please be prepared to redeem any Gift Voucher you may have used for payment to the bus on the day of the tour.
    • If you have booked using an Itison voucher, we may ask to see your voucher on your phone.
    • Children must be 3 and over to be allowed on the tour children aged 3 till 9 are charged £20 per person children 10 and over are classed as adult and charged £43.50
    • Anyone under the age of 14 must be accompanied by an adult
    • There may be occasions where the tour has to be cancelled without advance notice, in the event of a cancellation patrons will be refunded in full or transferred onto another tour date.
    • If the tour is cancelled after the first half an hours commencement, we will then offer availability on another tour.
    • Smoking is not permitted on the Bus at any time.
    • Red Bus Bistro does not take any responsibility for the loss, damage or theft of personal belongings while on the Bus.
    • Conditions of carriage are subject to legislation set out by the Public Passenger Vehicles Act 1981; all details can be given by the Red Bus Bistro head office.
    • We would like to point out that we operate Vintage Routemaster Buses, and although we keep our vehicles in the best possible maintenance condition there will be times that unforeseen maintenance issues may arise and result in a disruption to the tours, or cancellation; however we will endeavour to do everything in our power to avoid any disruption.
    • Red Bus Bistro Company reserves the right to refuse carriage of patrons who are intoxicated, or displaying threatening or abusive behaviour, no refunds will be given under these circumstances. We also ask that a reasonable standard of behaviour is adhered to while on the tour, as there are other passengers to consider.
    • Red Bus Bistro is not responsible for any damage caused by breaking the rules.
    • RED BUS BISTRO COMPANY LIMITED ACCESS POLICIES
    • It is not the policy of Red Bus Bistro Company Ltd to discriminate in any way against employees or passengers regarding disability, gender, race, sexual orientation or religious beliefs.
    • Red Bus Bistro’s Bus was registered in 1966; it consists of Drivers Cab, upper deck, lower deck, and will always have at least 4 staff on board. The bus seats 12 downstairs and 28 upstairs; unfortunately due to the age and design of the Bus we cannot accommodate wheelchair passengers. Red Bus Bistro can reserve seating in advance for the lower deck for those with mobility concerns. As per above, patrons should otherwise be prepared to share a table, where the patrons would rather be seated alone we can try and accommodate them on a quieter tour however not guaranteed,
    • There is no toilet on board.
    • The tour will last between 70-90 minutes dependant on conditions, in which time our patrons will be served with an Afternoon Tea or Gin Tour. For private hire all requests are considered.
    • Red Bus Bistro Company Limited will go out of its way to cater for as diverse and audience as possible within the physical confines of the bus, and will follow the DDA Legislation guidelines at all times.
    • All information gained from Patrons will never be given to any third parties; Red Bus Bistro Company Limited is responsible for all online transactions.
    • • Full payment is required at the time of booking. Cancellations are accepted no later than 24 hours before your tour date.
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 20 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    Which attractions will I visit with Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience?
    How much is Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience?
    Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience price starts from ₹ 4,605.26. Discover and book Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience on Tripadvisor
    What is the Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience cancellation policy?
    Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience on Tripadvisor
    Which company provides Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience?
    Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience is hosted by Red Bus Bistro. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Red Bus Bistro on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience on Tripadvisor

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 60757P2

    Reserve your spot

    Similar experiences

    Itinerary
    • Shuttle St, Glasgow G1, UK
      Adjacent to Amore Restaurant.
    • Pass by
      Gallery of Modern Art
      City Chambers
      Glasgow Cathedral
      The Necropolis
      Wellpark Brewery
      Glasgow Tower
      Doulton Fountain
      People's Palace and Winter Gardens
      Kingston Bridge
      Clyde Arc Bridge
      Finnieston Crane
      SEC Armadillo
      OVO Hydro
      The Clydeside Distillery
      The Riverside Museum of Transport and Travel
      Glasgow Tower
      Tennent's Bar Glasgow
      Hunterian Art Gallery
      University of Glasgow
      Kelvingrove Art Gallery and Museum
      Mitchell Library
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • Red Bus Bistro
      1,922
      Edinburgh, Scotland
      Joined in April 2016
    • 460gilld
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Unique and a one off afternoon tea on the big red bus
      It was a fantastic tour. The staff and driver were so good and very informative. Very friendly. The experience was so much fun and the food was great. Highly recommend
      Written 22 May 2024
    • Bevan26
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fun afternoon tea experience
      I have to say this is the most fun afternoon tea experience I have had. The staff were friendly, the food was lovely and filling and the scones came warm always a plus for me. Yes it is slightly cramped, yes it is bumpy and the commentary is limited all of this is well explained if you read the details before you book. It is a bus from the 1960’s !! You are given plenty of warning about holding on to your drink that is why the flutes are plastic! So if it’s air con and comfort you want this isn’t for you, however if you are wanting an experience with a bit of fun and good food then I highly recommend, the singsong is an added bonus. I would also like to add how helpful the staff in the office were as this was a birthday gift from buy a gift who’s website was very confusing so I would recommend booking directly with the big red bus as their staff couldn’t have been more helpful.
      Written 22 May 2024
    • wmariab
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Bus, bumps, fun and fizz
      Afternoon tea with fizz on a big red routemaster. Food was lovely and plenty of it. It’s a bit bumpy, you need to hold on to your glasses 😀and you need to be on good terms with your group as it is a bit snug. Really good fun and a great start to our time in Edinburgh. Really friendly staff, you even get to sit in the drivers seat, if you can climb up. Thank you for a lovely afternoon!
      Written 20 May 2024
    • Olg007
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great fun!!!!
      Great fun! Staff friendly, funny and helpful. Afternoon tea was delicious and plenty of it, and the Prosecco was not overly priced. Loved the music. Would highly recommend
      Written 20 May 2024
    • M1071LOkevinv
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      A lovely 90-minutes tea around town
      A vintage bus (better not expect air con or luxury seating), a lovely staff, enough delicacies to enjoy a go-around-town trip. Definitely recommended.
      Written 19 May 2024
    • 597kamlar
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great start to hen weekend
      Wow what an experience it was amazing. Driver and all the staff made it so special for my friends hen weekend.. we had amazing time definitely recommend this.
      Written 19 May 2024
    • Marjorie F
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Afternoon Fun in a Bus
      Don’t be fooled by the bite size portions, you will be full by the end of the tour. The sandwiches, cakes and treats are delicious! And the bus is so much fun. My kids and I thoroughly enjoyed this tour!
      Written 18 May 2024
    • 210aaronb
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      awful. sounds like a great idea - don't do it
      Do yourself a favor and skip this. Over $90 for two of us to sit on a 85 degree bus. No windows. The pastries were melting faster than we could eat them. No water, they "ran out", despite knowing how many people were going to be on the bus. The table behind us got off the bus and took a taxi to their hotel, they were elderly and couldn't take the heat. When asked about a fan or a window, or airconditioning multiple times, the tour operator shrugged her shoulders. There was no commentary, no discussion about what we were seeing. It was literally a hot, crowded bus driving around the city for 90 minutes. Couldn't get off fast enough
      Written 18 May 2024
    • N2401OYwilmas
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Disappointing
      We were disappointed in this experience. We were eventually asked what we would like to drink (after the glass of Prosecco) 50 minutes into the tour. Others were asked much earlier. When we finally got our tea it was lukewarm and only half a cup. A member of staff said they were having problems - not much hot water and he also said that they didn’t have enough food for the 3pm tour. As this is an established company I found surprising that they weren’t more organised. This was a gift from my son and his family and I expected more.
      Written 18 May 2024
    • Globetrotter037
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good all round
      I was given this trip as a Christmas present. It was great experience from start to finish. The food was amazing, just enough. Best scone ive had in ages. Couldnt have picked better music either. All in all a very nice experience and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.
      Written 17 May 2024
    • Snowingcats
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Had a blast!
      Had an absolute amazing time. And I'd like to give special thanks to Shimi and Sarah, they were brilliant made the experience so much better. Going around the city while having afternoon tea and listening to Shimi retell his favorite stories was so much more than what I expected. And I guarantee you won't regret booking this.
      Written 16 May 2024
    • Leslie L
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Unprepared staff...
      On the day of our tea, the temperature was warmer than usual. Nevertheless, the staff were not prepared for the hot weather. No fans, ice or cold drinks. And, the bus windows only opened around 4 inches. Knowing all this, the staff did nothing to make the ride a little more bearable. And, when we brought up concerns about the heat, the staff gave us excuses. Too, it was hard to hear what the staff were saying. One lady spilled her glass of champagne as she didn't realize it was time to leave our start site. Food was good. It was hard to enjoy it due to the heat. We decided to get off the bus at the first stop.
      Written 13 May 2024
    • clh575
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Very disappointed. Bad experience.
      It was an exceptionally warm day in Edinburgh. We were seated on the upper deck and immediately noticed how warm it was. Windows open about 4 inches. No breeze. The food was very good. We requested cold drinks and they were out of our choices. They had one orange drink which we shared. No water was available. No fans to cool the air. The four of us decided to leave the bus at the first stop due to the heat. Also this is described as a tour. Very little information offered on what we were seeing. I had looked forward to this experience and was really disappointed. Suggestion to operators: have lots of cold drinks especially water when it is a warm day. Offer hand fans or install fans on the bus. A breeze makes a huge difference. Make sure you have ample supply of very cold drinks to help with the heat. Be sure that you describe the experience correctly. It is a ride on a bus with tea. Not a tour.
      Written 11 May 2024
    • 374jaydem
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fabulous
      Had the best time on the tour bus with friends for a hen do 🐓 🎉 the people working on the bus are so great, I think their names were Sarah, Elise can’t remember the names on the other two but recommend 10/10
      Written 11 May 2024
    • TamDennett
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great trip around Edinburgh
      Received a gift voucher for this and opted for the Edinburgh trip and so glad we did, well organised, great service and food, staff were very helpful and informative. Not only would I recommend but I am looking forward to another visit later on in the year.
      Written 9 May 2024
    See all 1 review
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.5
    4.5 of 5 bubbles531 reviews
    Excellent
    369
    Very good
    65
    Average
    29
    Poor
    28
    Terrible
    40

    Yvonne P
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2020
    Extremely disappointed, glass of Prosecco on arrival but no non alcoholic alternative offered, my husband was driving. Not offered tea/coffee for 45mins by which point most people had eaten food, it was look warm and certainly no refills. The food left a lot to be desired, per person received a tiny quiche, two sandwiches basically 1 slice of bread don’t know what was meant to be on them, basically a coleslaw sandwich that was definitely all I could see or taste, the mini roll was ok, think it was coronation chicken, scone ok as where two mini cakes. Could have had better food out of supermarket sandwich counter.

    The bus route did not take in any of expected sights, girl only pointed out two things George Square and Tollbooth, no where near art gallery or university unless you count backstreet student accommodation.
    Written 31 August 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We are really sorry to read this review as we want everyone to have the best experience possible while on Red Bus Bistro. If you could please email marketing@redbusbistro.co.uk with the booking name and the date and time of your tour we will look into this.
    Written 1 September 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Lapute L
    4 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Feb 2020
    Everything was wrong from the beginning. Me and my family were waiting for the bus in the location that was marked on the itinerary, but there wasn’t anyone else so I got concerned. I called the company to ask whether this is the right place and they said that the location was changed. I wasn’t notified about these changes prior… so me and my family had to walk few blocks to catch the bus. Once we reached the bus, it appeared that they had our booking down as for 2 people. But I’ve booked and paid for 3. So staff had to rearrange everyone’s seating to accommodate us. The final and worst thing was that bus windows got condensation on them. I was handed some tissue paper to wipe my window. But even after wiping it, it would go foggy in next 2 seconds. I wish I could attach picture here so you could see that we couldn’t see a thing outside. Some people weren’t even bothered and sat with their windows completely white. It just felt like we came there to sit in the bus and bus could even be stationery because we couldn’t see a thing. Also, the bus is 50 yo which should be cool and vintage, but the fact that you are breathing in the exhaustion for 1.5h is really off-putting. Staff was really nice and tried to make whole experience a bit more pleasant…
    Written 20 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    We appreciate all feedback that is given to us, and are sorry to read this review as we aim for 100% guest satisfaction onboard Red Bus Bistro. The bus stop location change was changed due to roadworks out of our control, but we have been going through all of our bookings to make sure they were alerted of this prior to their tour. We apologise if in this instance If we have missed you, could you please send your details (Name, date of tour etc) to marketing@redbusbistro.co.uk and we will look into this immediately so that it will not happen again. We are glad that our staff have held our high service expectations of onboard service. The condensation in this instance is out of our control due to the outdoor winter weather being so cold and us keeping the bus warm for our guests and the age of our vintage bus. Again, please do contact us directly and we can feed this back to our bookings team.
    Written 20 February 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    William E
    Bathgate, UK47 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    We received this as a gift. It cost £74 and was easily the worst afternoon tea ever. 2 half beakers of tea in a plastic container. Appreciate the safety concerns but come on!
    The very limited description on "the tour that is not a tour" was frankly embarassing.
    What was the most disappointing however was the food. Minimal sandwiches and one seemed to be coleslaw?
    Scones were good but pre spread with jam and cream so my wife could not eat one.
    The "cake"were pitiful. Miniature cakes which were clearly frozen ones. The box they came from is the same as you can buy from Farm foods.
    My wife would not eat them. I did and they were basically mushy! I expected something fresh at least!

    The overall quality and amount of food was shameful. I know it is a standing joke but yes - we had a fish supper on the way home!!

    To charge £74 for a hurl in a red bus and sub standard afternoon tea was daylight robbery
    Avoid at all costs.
    Written 8 November 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, we appreciate you leaving a review of your experience and are very sorry to read that you did not enjoy it. If you could please email marketing@redbusbistro.co.uk with the date and time of your tour we can look into this further.
    Written 9 November 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Aileen N
    Worthing, UK4 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dear Admin,

    I wish to give feedback on my experience on Friday for the Glasgow bus. The bus itself was great but the afternoon tea was disappointing, due to food being very dry, I ordered a vegan one and this k it was vegetarian ( the girl I think does not know the difference). In addition there was not any commentary on, where we were in the city on the tour. My guest knew where we were ( I didn’t ) but there was a group of tourists on the bus so bad show for them. I would not have been happy if I was a tourist. It seems they discovered the microphone wasn't working that morning so could not speak people through the tour. We were all upstairs so it would have been possible to still speak to passengers without microphone but it didn't happen nor did they have a back up like a tape or recording they could have used. These tours are not cheap so sadly would not recommend it to anyone and hugely disappointed .

    Aileen Norbury
    Written 1 May 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    veemcbee2016
    Wishaw, UK6 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jul 2020 • Friends
    Had a fab time on Saturday for afternoon tea on the top deck of an old traditional double decker whilst touring the streets of Glasgow. The food was lovely and fresh, our drinks were topped up continuously and our host, Lorna couldn’t do enough for everyone on board. She was extremely friendly and very attentive, she never stopped for the 90mins we were on board.

    Enjoyed the experience so much we are booking the Harry Potter experience in Edinburgh as recommended by Lorna. Looking forward to it!

    Great gift idea for all ages as long as they are mobile enough to climb the stairs.
    Written 27 July 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you so much for taking the time to review Red Bus Bistro. We will pass this back to Lorna :)
    Written 30 July 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    AliC
    Glasgow, UK112 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Shocked and disgusted with this company’s total lack of “empathy”. Booked for the Glasgow Gin experience afternoon tea and then found two days before the event of a family bereavment, preventing us from going on the bus trip.

    Now their Terms and Conditions are clear and say you can cancel 48 hours before but we learned about 36 hours before and contacted them immediately. Thinking a company with a genuinely caring attitude would at least at worst offer to rearrange for another date and show some empathy but sadly no! My money was already lining their pockets and was never seeing it’s way back to me under any circumstances.

    Companies can hide behind T&Cs but they cannot hide their lack of care for their paying customers. Disgusting.

    More the fool me, though, had I read more fully their reviews I would have found the swathes of other poor reviews all over social media outlets and saved myself £103 …. But lesson learned!
    Written 13 October 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello, we are very sorry to read the above, but we were aware to expect this from your threatening abusive email that was sent to the inbox. We as a small business and with the current climate have had to survive very tough times our team work hard, and we have many positive reviews. We are sorry that you had a funeral to attend but when cancelled less than forty-eight hours before a tour we have everything planned and bought for the tour if we were to cancel or change every booking this would not be viable for any company this is why we have terms and conditions I am sorry that has resulted in the review and the email sent to the office team and i hope the above explains our decision
    Written 13 October 2022
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Linda L
    London, UK60 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2021 • Friends
    My mum and I done this tour a couple of years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it so decided to do it again. I must say firstly, the customer service leading up to our tour was just fantastic. I had to email in about a couple of things and was always answered promptly and in a friendly manner by Cara. Nothing was any bother at all and I really appreciated her being so accommodating. We paid the extra £6 each for the front seats again as we really loved sitting there the last time. The tour itself was just faultless. The cakes and sandwiches were beautifully presented and delicious, the staff were attentive and so friendly and there was such a great atmosphere on board. We live in Glasgow City Centre so know it really well but as I said to mum, it was so nice to sit back and see our beautiful city through a tourists eyes. Such fun being driven about whilst enjoying the lovely treats. All in all, we had a fantastic time and I'd recommend this to anyone who's looking to do something different.
    Written 12 September 2021
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your tour. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the staff. We hope to see you onboard again soon. Team RBB
    Written 22 September 2021
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Hol24776
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    May 2023 • Friends
    We arrived early as instructed at 11.35am we saw bus outside Aldi and on approach were directed to Shuttle street, the bus came round about 10 minutes later. We stood at bus and were not allowed to board bus until 12.15pm tour was due to start at 12.00 during this time the bus was prepared surely this should already have been done much earlier, then engine wouldn’t start, so driver had to work on it. One staff member seemed to then disappear behind fence over the road so another delay. Once tour started the serving of food looked fine though journey very bumpy we were then told that this was a replacement bus as our actual tour bus was on a private bus tour, this should have been pointed out in advance of tour as some people on tour had booked downstairs seating which was not available on this bus. The tour had virtually no commentary pointing out landmarks listed on itinerary also we did not see many landmarks as bus only visited :Clyde street, Broomielaw, Riverside museum car park, Dumbarton rd, Argyle Street. When I asked why we did not visit landmarks I was told that roads were closed and I should have known about it from the news. We arrived back at Shuttle Street about 1.25pm which meant our tour lasted just over an hour. Some guests had still their bottles of Prosecco and cocktails to finish as they were being told tour was finished. To sum up if you could not offer the proper tour booked it should have been given an interesting alternative route or offered some incentive e.g a bottle of Prosecco per table or at least an extra glass, It should certainly have been advised to customers in advance. We were looking forward to this but it did not meet expectations. Also I thought staff would have had a uniform to give a more professional look no one had a uniform apart from bus driver. Hopefully you will accept these comments as advice on how to improve and not disappoint.
    Written 7 May 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hello thank you for taking the time to leave us a review we would like to answer the points raised and respect that you felt best to leave us a review however if you had contacted us direct before placing the review we could have advised explanations and found a resolve . Bus tour time - We advise to arrive five to ten minutes early so that you are there to find the bus not half an hour before the tour we do not board earlier than the tour time stated as the bus is set up directly before the tour to ensure the food is fresh and each table has there allocated dietary requirements . Bus - The bus out on tour is a 65 year old vintage bus and mechanical issues can happen and you experienced the driver is very competent to deal with this . As for the comment from staff this was incorrect and the staff member is new and they will be spoken to about this comment . We do have more than one bus but the bus you where allocated to was the bus that is out on Weekend tours so this was not the back up bus . No one would have been booked for downstairs as there is no availability for this on this bus and the public headline on the bus advised anyone booking of this . Road closures - We are advised by Glasgow city council of road closures we where not advised of this at the weekend and the unplanned event that took place had a lot more people turn up than the organisers themselves therefore this was out with our control and rather than cancel a tour with all passengers onboard a full tour the driver instead worked hard to find a work around and find a work around .If you look on our website you will see we have big event dates locked off such as the race for life event Uniform -The staff where in full uniform and we have checked the videos to ensure this was the case the staff where denim trousers and a denim shirt . commentary - We do advise on our website and terms and conditions we are not guided tour and staff will point out key landmarks outwith providing the hosting service onboard. We reviewed many of the videos including the sing along video where everyone appeared to be having a lovely time onboard we hope this gives an explanation to the points you have raised
    Written 8 May 2023
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Katie Jo Reid
    Glasgow, UK4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2021
    A great, fun and wholesome experience every time ! I was fortunate enough to go on the Red Bus Bistro twice last year. First for the gin afternoon tea with my family and then again for the pizza and Prosecco evening with my boyfriend for a date night. Both trips were great fun, the bus itself is decorated beautifully and staff were very friendly and attentive. We were given the opportunity to stop mid tour for photos (see attached photos). By this point my family and I had enjoyed a couple of Prosecco's and were socialising with other guests on the bus. Everyone was in high spirits and having a wonderful time.
    We passed several Glaswegian landmarks whilst we enjoyed the delicious sandwiches and cakes. The food was fresh and the afternoon tea set up looked so lovely I barely wanted to eat it to ruin how pretty it looked.
    At the end of the tour we were given the chance to purchase Red Bus Bistro vouchers at a discounted price, we bought 5 vouchers (each for 2 guests) and we are planning on going on another gin tour this July !
    We can't wait !
    If you are looking for something different, quirky and fun to do in Glasgow I would highly recommend this tour.
    It also makes for a fantastic gift !
    Written 15 May 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Anon
    Glasgow2 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Oct 2020 • Friends
    The vegan options are dreadful - the vegan afternoon tea is just a box ticking exercise with no effort or consideration. We received 1 pita each with iceberg lettuce and a thin slice of cucumber and tomato. We got 1 chocolate biscuit bar thing each and 2 small squares of fruit cake. There was also a pot of houmous and some dried out crudités which was the highlight of the spread. All the teas around us were loaded with sandwiches with actual fillings and different cakes with icing, scones and cream. It was very disappointing and frustrating that we were mislead into booking such an inadequate afternoon tea. They told us they didn’t have their usual vegan scones - a tiny bit of fruit cake and a chocolate biscuit bar does not feel like a decadent and creamy iced cake afternoon tea. Iceberg lettuce is such an insufficient sandwich filling. We booked weeks in advance - plenty of time to duck out to one of the many near by shops and sort out the situation. I’ve since seen other reviews highlighting the terrible vegan options, I wish I had read prior to purchasing.
    Written 2 November 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Thank you for taking the time to review Red Bus Bistro as we appreciate any and all feedback. We do apologise that the tour did not meet your expectations and our management have spoken with the onboard staff from the day of the tour. We will certainly look into this for future as want to ensure that all our guests are happy with our offering and we appreciate you highlighting this to us.
    Written 3 November 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Showing results 1-10 of 528

    Glasgow Afternoon Tea Experience provided by Red Bus Bistro

    All Glasgow HotelsGlasgow Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Glasgow
    All things to do in Glasgow
    Day Trips in Glasgow
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire