London Tours
The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus
4

The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus

By The Classic Tour
About

Ages 0-111, max of 36 per group
Duration: 1h 15m
Start time: Check availability
Mobile ticket
Live guide: English
More


  • Live commentary on board
  • Professional guide
What's not included
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off


Start:
  • 8 Northumberland Ave, London WC2N 5BY, UK
    Outside the Grand Hotel, off Trafalgar Square. Opposite Sherlock Holmes Pub. Nearest tube stations are Charing Cross and Embankment. Post Code for pick up location is WC2N 5BY
End:This activity ends back at the meeting point.

    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Service animals allowed
    • Near public transportation
    • Infants must sit on laps
    If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6743P5

    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark
    • Most travellers can participate
    • Please arrive 20 minutes before the scheduled departure time. The tour cannot wait for late passengers and they cannot be admitted once the show has started.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 36 travellers

    • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

    If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6743P5

    Currently unavailable
    This product is unavailable to book via Tripadvisor.
    Explore other options
    Itinerary
    • 8 Northumberland Ave, London WC2N 5BY, UK
      Outside the Grand Hotel, off Trafalgar Square. Opposite Sherlock Holmes Pub. Nearest tube stations are Charing Cross and Embankment. Post Code for pick up location is WC2N 5BY
    • Pass by
      Tower of London
      Buckingham Palace
      St. Paul's Cathedral
      Houses of Parliament
    • 1
    • 2
    About the operator
    Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator:
    • The Classic Tour
      109
      London, England
      Joined in September 2009
    • 968pennym
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Christmas lights tour London
      Booked for a Christmas lights tour for friends big birthday Bus was 15mins late, and opposite side of road to agreed pick up, then there was no commentary as microphones not working Tour guide apologised but advised we should get a refund. Tour cut short also. No response from company after complaint. Very disappointing. Would never use this company again.
      Written 19 December 2023
    • jamiecastle92
      0 contributions
      2.0 of 5 bubbles
      Rubbish on top deck
      We paid £90 for the Christmas lights tour for 4 adults and 2 toddlers. The tour as a whole was ok but the state of the bus is why the review is so low. Obviously if you go on this tour you want to sit on the top open deck. However I was disappointed with how dirty the seats were and how much rubbish there was on the floor. £90 is not a small amount for anyone these days and to have someone asking for tips at the end after no one had even bothered to clean up all the beer bottles and coffee cups was a bit of a joke. There was also a dirty wet wipe on the seat. I wouldn’t recommend.
      Written 15 December 2023
    • Scenic45408106556
      0 contributions
      3.0 of 5 bubbles
      Filthy bus
      Wet and cold night but I expected that. Traffic was a complete nightmare but it's expected t this time. The actor ( I forgot his name) was engaging and funny. The problem was the bus. When I arrived and sat upstairs, the bus floor was awash with garbage. Plastic cups, wrappings, goodness knows what else, it was a complete disgrace. I informed one of the staff members and he said it's the actor's job to clean. The staff member came up, picked up a few pieces and went off saying he couldn't do this himself. Most of the rubbish was still there and we never saw him again. Just unacceptable to charge premium prices (140+ pounds for 3 pax) to sit with our feet in this filth. I would appreciate some feedback, please
      Written 14 December 2023
    • charlesfK1369UL
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Dec 4th
      Wet short trip, 45 minutes. Expected to see more lights. Really disappointed. Would not recommend this trip to anyone.
      Written 5 December 2023
    • Ralph19
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Good to do
      Excellent experience, weather good, guide amusing, and not too much traffic. Woul recommend the Christmas lights trip.
      Written 14 December 2021
    • mariannagomes01
      0 contributions
      1.0 of 5 bubbles
      Harassed by Commentator!!!!
      - No COVID restrictions - commentator did not wear a mask and came face to face (less than 0.5m towards us) - continuously grabbed shoulders when we weren't engaging in a conversation (young teenage girls) felt uncomfortable. - harassing us for 'not listening' -threatened to 'end it all' because we wasn't engaging in conversation. - not christmassy at all -commentator has extremely inappropriate language infant of children - no social distancing -more historical than christmasy.
      Written 14 December 2020
    • Saffydaffy
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Brilliant tour!
      I booked with a Groupon and was greeted by a rather miserable chap who said I wasn’t booked in even though I had booked via the Groupon reservation system. He begrudgingly let us on. Incidentally, he seems to have mentioned previously in reviews! We actually ended up being the only 2 passengers so had a private tour! We went round the main central tourist attractions and the guide was brilliant (not the same man!) He was funny and informative. My 8 year old thoroughly enjoyed the trip and being a Southerner I knew a lot about London but still learnt a few things. Worth missing the crowds and sitting back and relaxing. Good pick up and drop off point so you can explore further if required
      Written 3 October 2019
    • Keith M
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      The classic tour
      Highly recommended went on tour with family with young children we all found it very informative but not in a boring way at all driving was also a very good standard
      Written 4 September 2019
    • lauramepstead
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fab fun way to see London
      We booked this on a family trip to London. The bus is very comfortable and the staff were kind and helpful. The spokesman was so knowledgeable and not just about boring history things either. If you have never done a London bus tour before then this is the company for you. Top customer service from start to finish.
      Written 4 September 2019
    • leemep
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      great fun way to see london
      great professional team selling the tickets, really really good London knowledge tour delivered in a funny friendly manner, on a top quality open top bus. great fun for all the family
      Written 26 August 2019
    • cashmcgowan
      0 contributions
      4.0 of 5 bubbles
      Last minute treat
      Walking down Northumberland street and came across this bus tour. Decided to hop on and see the sites. Found it educational and insightful. Love the man explain the history and surroundings of city of London. Struggled at times listening to hear the commentary when going under any bridges. Last about an hour and found it a little expensive for what I saw on the tour. The only good thing of the value was for my senior member of the family.
      Written 20 August 2019
    • vejuotapastoge
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Highly recomend
      This is the second time I am taking this tour. Both times the staff working were very warm and friendly- it definitely contributed to overall positive experience. This time I took my family visiting from broad. The tour was fantastic. The guide Rob did a great job telling interesting stories. his jokes made us giggle throughout. Thanks also for the great driver John
      Written 21 July 2019
    • CT1980
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Brilliant!
      We bought a groupon voucher for the classic London tour. On Friday 14th June we boarded the bus, sat upstairs and thoroughly enjoyed our trip! Our tour guide was great. He was knowledgable and funny. We saw the sights and felt it was nice to have an actual person telling us about London rather than headphones with a pre recorded script. Wound recommend this tour if you want a quick whizz around London without having to do the hop on and hop off thing!
      Written 15 June 2019
    • Ozziecaroline
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Fabulous Tour
      I totally recommend this tour which I went on when in London last week. I picked weatherwise a showery day along with hundreds of other Trump protestors (at Trafalgar Square) but as it turned out the silver lining was that I was the only person on the bus, as others had avoided the city. Peter is a very knowledgeable tour guide and history buff who provided some great history and information on the tour delivered with a lively sense of humour. We had great fun searching for Monopoly Borad street signs for my grandson who loves Monopoly!
      Written 8 June 2019
    • Walkers31
      0 contributions
      5.0 of 5 bubbles
      Great tour travelling on London history
      I booked this for my family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children), my son loves routemaster buses and this tour made him very happy. We booked the 1610 tour which was easy to find, we grabbed a coffee and made our way as we wanted to sit on the top deck. There was a hint of rain and we were handed a poncho just in case but we didn’t need it. The tour lasts just over an hour which I have to say is just the right amount of time for our little ones. The tour guide was informative. I would recommend this tour as good value for money and our kids enjoyed it. For me it is the only way to visit London and helps preserve a piece of iconic London history.
      Written 29 May 2019
    See all 109 reviews
    These reviews are the subjective opinions of Tripadvisor members and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Most Recent: Reviews ordered by most recent publish date in descending order.

    Detailed Reviews: Reviews ordered by recency and descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as waiting time, length of visit, general tips, and location information.

    Popular mentions

    4.0
    4.0 of 5 bubbles29 reviews
    Excellent
    18
    Very good
    2
    Average
    2
    Poor
    3
    Terrible
    4

    Emily H
    1 contribution
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2023 • Family
    Awful service. We were meant to go on the tour at 8:30pm - we were called by them telling us the bus was rescheduled to 9pm - arrived at the bus stop at 8:30pm to find the bus already full. Told not to come on as it's full and to contact the company for a refund, it's been nearly a week and no refund issued or even a reply from the company. We have put in a complaint to gov.uk about this company as taking £65, providing no service and then not returning peoples money is not ok
    Written 29 December 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Lisa P
    Thaxted, UK4 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2022 • Couples
    To whom it may concern

    We were on the Christmas Lights tour Saturday 3rd Dec and I have to let you know our experience.

    For 25.00 each we were so disappointed. We could not hear the commentary as it was so muffled and everyone around us were complaining too.
    The traffic, although out of your control, was horrendous and the 75 minute tour consisted of a 4 mile round tour. It would have been quicker to walk.

    Your glossy You Tube video on your website shows sights such as Somerset House Ice Skating views and Harrods, amongst 2 of the sights we did not see.

    Born and bred in London, it is a shame you offer this tour to tourists.

    I would like an explanation and a full refund of a tour we were looking forward. I have sent 3 emails and no response.

    Show quoted text
    Written 7 December 2022
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Paulo
    1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Aug 2023 • Family
    Great guide Tom and driver Tony. Very informative great info and great knowledge of London. We were surprised to learn info we had no idea of and the hour flew by as we were kept engaged throughout the tour. Well done and thank you for the fun informative tour much better to have a guide especially if it’s Tom we had all ages youngest being 6 and we all thoroughly enjoyed it.
    Written 28 August 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Traveler640501
    4 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    Sept 2023 • Family
    Michael was a great tour guide. Hilarious and engaging. It was the perfect hour and a half. We were traveling with teens and a child and they enjoyed it as well. Perfect way to see a lot of main sites, with its bits of fun info. The views and photos you get from the bus are much better than those on the ground.
    Written 28 September 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Mich
    London, UK266 contributions
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    A very mediocre tour, stuck in traffic for some lengthy parts of the tour with the guide running out of facts so very little interaction at times.
    Especially as only people sat on the right hand side of the bus able to hear as some speaker's on the right must have been broken as unable to hear the guide.
    When not stuck in traffic went past the lights so fast you missed them?
    You can do virtually the same tour for £1.50 on the number 6 bus from Edgware road to Charring cross, please see pics.
    Written 31 December 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi Mich, Hope you are well. Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your Christmas Lights Tour. It sounds as if your tour was significantly affected by a faulty microphone, which has since been replaced, but I’d like to apologise on behalf of the team that this affected the tour that you attended. There are public buses which do cross our route, but it is the guided tour that makes the experience special. Please, if you would be so kind as to get in touch with feedback@theclassictour.com, we would be more than happy to look into a solution for you. Sorry to hear that you found the bus to move too fast when not in traffic as well. We would love to be able to take our time to view every landmark and sight on the tour, but unfortunately due to the nature of London traffic, this would cause far too much disruption and would be a hazard to other drivers. This is mentioned in our terms and conditions.
Please do get in touch with the email cited above, and we will look into this situation further. Many thanks, Best wishes, Max
    Written 20 January 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    elcltrips
    New York City, NY50 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We’ve been coming to London every couple years to visit friends and decided it was time to do something touristy. Didn’t want to hop on and off. Just wanted a pleasant ride throughout London in an open air bus on a beautiful day. This was perfect! Dave, who narrates the tour and told us about what we were seeing, was knowledgeable and funny. We saw so much. It was a fun, easy way to get an overall sense of London.
    Written 24 August 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    tryanythingonce2015
    London, UK49 contributions
    1.0 of 5 bubbles
    Jan 2020
    Booked Christmas lights tour with my 90 year old mother and family including g
    2 year old grandson The tour was cancelled at the last minute when we had waited 30 minutes in the cold. Told to phone to get refund and that cost £8 from mobile phone No customer service at all
    Written 25 February 2020
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Hi there, Hope you are well. Sorry to hear that your tour was cancelled on the day. We always try to give as much notice as possible, so as not to inconvenience customers, however this is not always possible, but it is regrettable that if effected your parties day out. But as for your issue regarding the telephone charge, please see the below text from the Ofcom website which will give you some more information: 084 numbers These service numbers are used by organisations for sales or enquiry lines. The cost of calling 0843, 0844 and 0845 numbers is made up of two parts: an access charge going to your phone company, and a service charge set by the organisation you are calling. The service charge for calls to 084 numbers is between 0p and 7p per minute. The access charge – which is additional to the service charge – will vary depending on your phone company, and can range from 8p to 65p per minute. Choose a provider from the table below for more information on their pricing. 
 If you follow this link: https://www.ofcom.org.uk/phones-telecoms-and-internet/advice-for-consumers/costs-and-billing/how-much-does-a-phone-call-really-cost to the Ofcom website it has a breakdown on how you will be charged calling 0844 numbers, depending on who supplies your phone service. Many thanks and apologies again, Best wishes, Max
    Written 2 March 2020
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

    Emma B
    Lincoln, UK25 contributions
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We went on Friday 22nd march 2019 honestly it's amazing the condocter was truly amazing. Had such a talent for the voice. Had us laughing from start to finish. We will definitely do this tour again. 5* well done.
    Written 23 March 2019
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Mark G
    Stoke-on-Trent, UK1 contribution
    5.0 of 5 bubbles
    We booked the tour on line from our phone as we arrived in London. I had looked at Google on the train journey down and this tour appealed to us rather than the hop on hop off tours as it was concise and it’s duration was said to be 75 minutes.

    Everyone was so helpful. From the young lady on the phone who I had to ring as we didn’t receive an email confirmation and reference number- my chubby fingers had keyed in the email address incorrectly!!!! The young lady helped us with super efficiency, confirmed our booking and sent the email again this time to the corrected address.

    Our tour guide was Peter. What a very friendly, pleasant and knowledgeable young man. We felt like he was our own personal guide. Every question he answered with ease and had a vast knowledge of all the sights and a lot of trivia style facts that made it all very interesting.

    Also not forgetting the driver Chris who drove the bus expertly around the route.

    A very enjoyable afternoon, saw plenty of attractions both old and new and would definitely recommend to anyone.

    Well done all. This made the start to our weekend in London a very pleasurable one .
    Written 7 April 2018
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Discover19900918363
    1 contribution
    2.0 of 5 bubbles
    Dec 2023 • Family
    The lights we did see were amazing and the tour guide was goods however, the tour was not the advertised 75 mins as we were back at Trafalgar Square at 60 mins and it did not include Harrods or Hyde park like the information said it would. Traffic was bad which is not in their control but it was disappointing for what we paid and I wouldn’t recommend.
    Written 20 December 2023
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

    Showing results 1-10 of 25

    The London Classic Tour: Sightseeing Tour in Vintage Bus provided by The Classic Tour

    All London HotelsLondon Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in London
    All things to do in London
    RestaurantsFlightsHoliday homesTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire