We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Township Tour Half Day (afternoon tour)

Select Date and Travellers
US$ 44.44
2 travellers
You'll get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    District Six Museum
    Stop: 20 minutes - Admission included
    If open, we do enter the Museum.
    Read more
    Pass by Bonteheuwel
    Pass by Guguletu
    Pass by Khayelitsha
See Important Information for details
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Traveler pickup is offered
    We also pick up from AirBnbs and private apartments. Please specify.
    Departure Time
    Departs Mon to Sat +/- 13h45 to +/- 18h00
    Duration +/- 4 hours
    • Local accredited guide
    • Pick up and drop off at hotels in central areas is included. Please check at time of booking if your hotel is in the central area.
    • Some of the venues may be closed on public holidays, school holidays and Weekends.
    • Children under 12 years pay half price for our tours.
    • Entrance fee is included to the traditional healer.
    • Entry/Admission - District Six Museum
    • Meals are excluded
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Don't forget your camera!
    • Near public transportation
    • Infant seats available
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 15 travelers
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    Traveller rating
    • 0
    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Selected filters
    • Filter
    • English
    We booked our township tour with a big traditional tour operator and wish we had not. It felt like going on a human safari. The guide was good but there was something off about looking at people this way. Later at the hostel we learnt that there are many initiatives from within
    Read more
    Response from HyltonRoss, Manager at Township Tour Half Day (afternoon tour)
    Responded 22 Oct 2019
    Good day sarahtravelstoo We glad you enjoyed our guide who took you on the township tour, and we sorry you did not feel the way you experienced it was not of value. We only use authentic township guides from the townships we visit. We hope you do come back and experience what more south Africa has to offer.
    Read more
    I booked an afternoon tour through Tripadvisor. On the day of the tour, I waited for 30 minutes for the the pick-up, but it never came. I called the company and talked to a very accomodating gentleman and told him of the situation. He had to call me back, he called back
    Read more
    Response from 131lorna2017, Hylton Ross Marketing at Township Tour Half Day (afternoon tour)
    Responded 23 Aug 2018
    Hi there So sorry to advise this was one of those glitches we all hope will never happen again. We investigated to find out what the problem was and we hope it does not reoccur but we never received the notification regarding the tour. We have been assured it was an isolated incident and we have not had any further incidents. We are glad you enjoyed the tour and we hope you join us next time you visit South Africa so you can experience other tours we offer. Kindest regards Lorna Simone Hylton Ross Marketing
    Read more
    About the operator

    This experience only has a few reviews, but you can read what other travellers have to say about the operator.

    By: Hylton Ross Exclusive Touring
    301 reviews
    Certificate of Excellence
    Wokingham, United Kingdom
    Cape Point Tour
    Excellent day out. Sally our guide was informative, considerate and good company. A must do tour as it gives you
    Read more
    Sally provided a fun-filled afternoon
    Our tour guide Sally was very knowledgeable about the area and wine. She was a very safe driver and also very
    Read more
    Winelands Tour
    We had a great day tour with Robbie from Hilton Ross. We had 3 different wine tasting sessions at amazing
    Read more
    London, United Kingdom
    An amazing tour of the garden route
    Absolutely loved this tour. A really good itinerary with lovely activities, a great tour guide (Gavin), gorgeous
    Read more
    Great service and guides
    Did the Wine route and Cape Hope tour with them. Everything on time, great vans, great places, super friendly
    Read more
    Very pleased and well satisfied!
    I recently enjoyed a full-day custom tour covering the city (including Table Mountain) and Cape Point. My
    Read more
    Miami, Florida
    Cape Tour & Wine Country Tour
    We had Muheen as our driver for three days and Andre as our guide Muheen was so professional in suit and tie and
    Read more
    A must do when you're in Cape Town!!
    The tour was very informative and I enjoyed it very much. The tour guide knew a lot and told interesting things
    Read more
    Liam S
    Scenic, great wines & cheeses, knowledgeable tour guide....and amazing customer service!
    The drive from Cape Town to Stellenbosch was very scenic and we even saw some Zebra and Wildebeast along the way.
    Read more
    Golf and sightseeing
    We had a wonderful trip and time thanks to our guide Anthea Pieter. Anthea met us at George airport and drove us
    Read more
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    book with real township people
    We booked our township tour with a big traditional tour operator and wish we had not. It felt like going on a
    Read more
    Top guide for 4 days
    On the first day it was raining. We still had our tour of Kirstenboch Gardens too make best use of the time. The
    Read more
    Leslie B
    Thanks to Donavon for a lovely morning!
    This could not have worked out better! It was easy to book by phone. We were picked up at exactly the time we
    Read more
    Aldershot, United Kingdom
    What a guide
    Salome was our guide and we were so pleased she was. Her knowledge and energy is unbelievable. But most important
    Read more
    Cape Town Central, South Africa
    America Day
    I was accompanied by people from the States!!!Felt spoilt and blessed.The tour today was just awesome.Our guide
    Read more
    Key Details
    • Duration: 4h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Hotel Pickup
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on Tripadvisor?
    • Reserve Now & Pay Later
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall:000-0800-100-6999
    Frequently bought together
    Likely To Sell Out
    Private Tour: Cape of Good Hope and...
    174 Reviews
    from US$ 98.40*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Full-Day South African Wine Tour
    462 Reviews
    from US$ 77.59*
    Likely To Sell Out
    The Cape Town Essentials Food Tour
    134 Reviews
    from US$ 77.52*
    3-Day Garden Route Highlights with...
    59 Reviews
    from US$ 317.42*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Cape of Good Hope and Penguins FULL...
    60 Reviews
    from US$ 42.25*
    Likely To Sell Out
    Full-Day South African Wine Tour
    462 Reviews
    from US$ 77.59*
    Special Offer
    Scheduled tour: Table Mountain...
    65 Reviews
    from US$ 52.11*
    US$ 69.48
    Private Sightseeing Trip to the Cape...
    13 Reviews
    from US$ 105.66*