We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve Now & Pay Later

Tour 1 - Dunrobin Fairytale Castle, Millionaire's View, Dornoch village & shops

Save
Share
Select Date and Travellers
From
US$ 113.52
Date
2 travellers
Options
Select tour language
Overview
Itinerary
+
You’ll have 2 starting options
Or, you can also get picked up
See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Dunrobin Castle and Gardens
    Stop: 2 hours -
    See details
  • 2
    Struie Hill
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 3
    Jail Dornoch
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 4
    Dornoch Cathedral
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 5
    The Dornoch Bookshop
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 6
    Glenmorangie Distillery
    Stop: 15 minutes -
    See details
  • 7
    Dornoch
    Stop: 90 minutes -
    See details
You'll return to the starting point
Important Information
Departure Point
1: Shore Road, Shore Rd, Invergordon IV18, UK
2: Saltburn, Invergordon IV18 0JP, UK

Traveler pickup is offered
Invergordon port - walk to port gates, our tour guides wearing purple trouser suits will be waiting for you opposite to direct you to your bus or to your small vehicle.

Saltburn pier (if two ships are in port you may stop just outside of the town). You get onto the ship's shuttle bus and it will drop you on the High Street outside the entrance to the museum. Our tour guides wearing purple will meet you there and direct you to the bus.

Ports
Invergordon port - walk to port gates, our tour guides wearing purple trouser suits will be waiting for you opposite to direct you to your bus or to your small vehicle., Saltburn pier (if two ships are in port you may stop just outside of the town). You get onto the ship's shuttle bus and it will drop you on the High Street outside the entrance to the museum. Our tour guides wearing purple will meet you there and direct you to the bus.
Duration
6h
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • All Fees and Taxes
Exclusions
  • Lunch
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Infant seats available
  • Wheelchair travellers difficult
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travelers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
16Reviews14Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 9
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
  • 2
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We had a nice walk through a beautiful area where we could see a beautiful gorge. Then we went to Dunrobin Castle...so beautiful. We had a great time.
Read more
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 1 - Dunrobin Fairytale Castle, Millionaire's View, Dornoch village & shops
Responded 19 Sep 2019
We are delighted you enjoyed our tour guide Elizabeth. She is excellent isn’t she? Thank you for booking with us and note you liked the Black Rock Gorge.
Read more
Both our guides, Becky and Maxine, were fantastic. They went out of their way for us to see Urquhart Castle and Loch Ness. We also visited Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, Culloden Viaduct, and Inverness. We really enjoyed walking through the beautiful town of
Read more
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 1 - Dunrobin Fairytale Castle, Millionaire's View, Dornoch village & shops
Responded 27 Sep 2019
Thank you so much Jim for your lovely very comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your day.
Read more
Visited Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle, Culloden battlefield, Loch Ness and Beauly Priory. Ideal for Outlander fans. Excellent, friendly, outgoing tour guide who answered all our questions. Really good value and packed in a lot in one day although we didn't feel rushed.
Read more
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 1 - Dunrobin Fairytale Castle, Millionaire's View, Dornoch village & shops
Responded 16 Sep 2019
So glad you got a lot of enjoyment out of the day.
Read more
DO NOT USE. TERRIBLE This is one of the worse tours I have ever taken (FYI I have traveled to 43 countries). We wasted 40 minutes waiting for another bus to tandem to Beauly.. The only reason to tandem with the other bus was so the van drivers could drink coffee together.
Read more
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 1 - Dunrobin Fairytale Castle, Millionaire's View, Dornoch village & shops
Responded 2 Sep 2019
Ms Karpinski, I’m shocked to read your review as others on the same tour as you were very happy. For £59 you went into Urquhart castle, saw Loch Ness, went into Culloden Battlefield even though what you booked was a drive by it, you also went to Clava Cairns and Beauly Priory. The tour guides work and are speaking and driving 6-7 hours straight through and as their boss I think they deserve a coffee break, in fact I insist upon it. The reason you waited was that a few passengers were late, nothing to do with my guides wanting to take coffee together. When we go in convoy it’s because we are booked into locations together. Urquhart castle is especially difficult in the summer season. With regard to taking a taxi - a taxi would have cost you around £300 for the 6 hour journey that you took. You’d then have to pay your entrance to Urquhart castle on top of that. So if you take off the £6 that PayPal retain, the £12.50 to enter the castle it leaves you with £40.50. So for that price you got to journey in a luxury 8 seater minibus with 6 other people instead of being crammed into a big coach. If you’ve been to 43 countries I wonder what price you paid for your tours. It seems to me you wanted to pay very little but receive ambassador treatment. We do our best but we don’t claim to be perfect. You were also provided with a booklet in your own language about the venues you visited, free water and rainmacs if needed. I wonder what you think you should have the partial refund for when an actual taxi that you accuse us of being would have cost you more than 7 times the price you paid with us. I guess I’m learning that no matter what we provide for you, there’ll always be a few people who won’t be happy. That’s a shame that they come on here to vent their negativity. When you consider that this cruise season alone we’ve provided lovely tours of the Scottish Highlands for over 2,000 people I guess we are doing OK. Sorry we weren’t able to please you. I hope you gave 5 stars to the other 43 countries you visited instead of this disappointing 1 star which is so undeserved.
Read more
We've never had such a terrible tour as the one in Invergordon with Thistle Excursions (Castles and Whisky tour). We went to Dunrobin Castle first and instead of Lottie/Sandra telling us something about the castle before we arrived, all they could do was discuss how long we
Read more
Response from ThistleExcursions, Owner at Tour 1 - Dunrobin Fairytale Castle, Millionaire's View, Dornoch village & shops
Responded 7 Aug 2019
Jeanette. You took your tour on 14 June so not sure why you’ve decided to now review your tour nearly 2 months later. We had good reviews from passengers on that tour so your negative review comes as a shock. I don’t know what to say to you - I honestly don’t. I note you had had a previous bad experience with another company’s tour. I hope we didn’t become a punching bag for them too. People love our guides’ knowledge and commentaries. I really do not understand what went wrong for you that day, sorry.
Read more
Previous
About the operator
By: Thistle Excursions - Invergordon Bus or Coach Tours
53 reviews
Sightsee263961
Pompano Beach, Florida
32
Elizabeth was enjoyable
We had a nice walk through a beautiful area where we could see a beautiful gorge. Then we went to Dunrobin
Read more
Jim D
20
Excellent Tour of the Scottish Highlands
Both our guides, Becky and Maxine, were fantastic. They went out of their way for us to see Urquhart Castle and
Read more
paul-joyce
louisville, KY
6430
Excellent Tour - just be aware the bus waits for you a 10 minute walk from outside the port gate
We loved the tour and Becky was an excellent guide. We booked through Viator. Please note you must exit the port
Read more
Janice D
11
Excellent tour
Our guide took the 3 of us around to the sites on the agenda. She was knowledgeable and helpful. It was an
Read more
moragmW6595JS
Bonar Bridge
21
Interesting and informative tour
Visited Clava Cairns, Cawdor Castle, Culloden battlefield, Loch Ness and Beauly Priory. Ideal for Outlander fans.
Read more
Bruce H
Blacksburg, Virginia
20
Great Highlands Overview
We spent the day with Elizabeth, who was both informative and funny as we traveled around the highlands. The small
Read more
tkarpinski
Phoenix, Arizona
6227
DO NOT USE Just a taxi driver - not a tour guide
DO NOT USE. TERRIBLE This is one of the worse tours I have ever taken (FYI I have traveled to 43 countries). We
Read more
brendahritz
Grove City, Ohio
295
Loved our tour
Our guide was wonderful. Stopped at Clava Cairns, Culloden battlefield , Urqhuart Castle and Beauly Priory. Our
Read more
Marieg276
Penetanguishene, Canada
20
Marie G
As this was our first trip to the British Isles, we found Lottie most informative & enjoyed our stops, we would
Read more
Nikkimacinnes
143
Fantastic!
Great day out, very informative and I actually learnt a few things about the highlands! Well worth it .
Read more
VSattui1232
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
830277
Nice Tour
A nice tour of the area with stops at Cawdor Castle, Balnuaran of Clava and Culloden Battlefield. I was
Read more
Jeanette B
62
PLEASE PLEASE Don't use them - We wont ever again !!!!!!
We've never had such a terrible tour as the one in Invergordon with Thistle Excursions (Castles and Whisky tour).
Read more
Margriet van K
30
An interesting tour with nice combination of history and nature
We had a lovely tour in a small bus with only 7 passengers and a very kind driver/guide. We had plenty of time to
Read more
Alfred A
81
Nice tour
Our guide Lottie gave us a very pleasant tour. Although she is not the best driver, and the group from Thistle
Read more
Darrell B
Cape Canaveral
31
Nice!
Good value, nice people and beautiful scenery! The tour provided exactly what they advertised and the tour guide
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 6h
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Instant confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English, French, German, Italian
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:000-0800-100-6999